Is this what they call a dog’s life?

It’s finals week.

The air is heavy with fatigue and impatience.

It’s been a long semester; one filled with challenges and more challenges.

Tension abounds.

Frustration levels run high and we all wait with bated breath for Friday to arrive.

A few more days and we’ll be able to put difficult classes, tedious essays, and German lessons to rest.

No one awaits the weekend with more anticipation than the Son.

He’s ready to start his holiday and frankly, so are we.

It matters not that we’ve been smurfed or that we’re this close to wearing masks every time we step out into the hallway.

What matters now is that Friday will mark the end of studying and the beginning of sleeping in and taking it easy.

The Son has been cramming studying round the clock, while I’ve been quizzing, nagging, and physically prompting him to keep going; to reach the finish line.

Victory is so close, we can almost taste it.

But not yet.

We still have three more grueling days before we can kick back and relax.

Yet, in the midst of this chaos, one of our family members seems completely unaffected by the commotion.

From sun up to sun down, little Roxy Lee continues to go through her days unperturbed by screaming matches, sermons on delayed gratification, and long-winded speeches on responsibility.

I think whoever created the saying, “It’s a dog’s life,” hadn’t met Miss Roxy Lee.

Unless what they meant by a “dog’s life” was sunbathing in the morning, napping throughout the day, sitting up only when something catches your interest, and sticking out your tongue to signal you’re ready for a snack.

Yes, little Roxy has the right idea of what living large is all about.

It’s no wonder every family member, including extended family, has expressed the wish to trade places with our little Miss.

After all, who wouldn’t want to do what she does and look this cute in the process?

This week, are you behaving like us, or Roxy Lee?

Today I’m linking up with Heidi’s Black and White Wednesday.

Black and White Wednesday

75 thoughts on “Is this what they call a dog’s life?

  1. My dad used to say dogs in general have it much better than humans! Good luck to your son on his finals. Domer, too, is going through them this week, but thankfully, I’m not involved! He’s having to take full responsibility for the studying, sleeping, eating, time-management, etc. all by himself! I miss being able to “feather his nest” for him and make things easier; however, I don’t miss the nagging, pleading, cajoling, etc. So much easier on both of us for me to simply send him encouraging e-mails and texts, haha!

    • Debbie, lets trade places, you and I! Oh my goodness, the stress is killing me! I just want this week to be over! Good for you that your only involvement (which is still very supportive and encouraging) is sending texts and emails! :)

  2. Roxy must have been a cat in her previous life, since she’s still acting like one — and cats definitely know how to live. :)

    This week, I’ve been translating a little (and finished the first draft) — luckily, the publisher told me I had more time than we thought — and fighting the nasty stomach virus a lot. Does that count as you guys, or Roxy?

    • Ivana, I think that counts as us! I’m sorry you’re not well. Feel better soon! I will definitely tell Roxy that she might have been a cat in a previous life. I’ll think she’ll get a kick out of that! :)

  3. I’m definitely along the ride with you guys while my Gypsy is choo-choo-ing along with miss Roxy.It’s weird how this kind of subversion occurs. lol Dogs-well they live it UP!Cute things ^_^Love all the photos :)

    • Sweta, Gypsy and Roxy sure know how to live! In the meantime, you and the rest of us continue to live on a prayer. What else can we do, right? I’m tickled pink you like the photos! :)

  4. Roxy is a lucky one! I would say that I’m coming down from where you and your son are to the point where Roxy is. It can be quite the process.

    Maybe I can convince my husband to give me snacks when I stick my tonge out :P.

    • Rachel, I think you’re hubby would be happy to oblige! Good for you for unwinding and taking it easy. I say it’s time we slowed down to first gear. It’s been a long year! :)

  5. I’m in miss Roxy Lee’s camp a good part of the time; not because I’m actually sunbathing, napping, and sticking my tongue out when it’s time for a snack, but because I tend to reside in that mindset. :-)

    That said, I have nieces and nephews who are in the thick of finals, and I feel greatly for them, and will be glad when they can take a deep breath, and relax. xoxo

    • Hot Coco, that’s it. My New Year’s resolution will definitely be to be more like you. I think all this stress is bad for the heart and soul. Good luck to your nieces and nephews on their finals! When it’s over, I think you’ll be able to hear me exhaling all the way where you are! :)

    • Belle, I tell you, these puppy dogs have it good! But no worries, cause as soon as this is over, we should all “chill,” as the Son says! Thank you for your well wishes, love! :)

  6. Such a life!! I feel a little bit in between Roxy and your son this week. I work at a university so I want to support the students who are going through finals stress right now. But it’s also a little slower for me as students focus on finals and start heading home for the break. It always reminds me of how much I don’t miss cramming! Good luck to your son!

    • Caryn, thank you for your well wishes! I keep warning the Son to exercise good time management. Unfortunately, he has the attention span of a gnat and is so easily distracted. I’m afraid I will have ulcers by the time this semester is over! :)

  7. I’m coming back as Roxy! One thing I love about dogs and cats? They can always find the most comfortable spot in the house. I hope your son aces his exams and can relax over the holiday. Enjoy it all!

    • Annie, thank you! Roxy does have the uncanny ability of laying in the perfect spot where either the sun hits her just right, or she’s away from the draft. A smart cookie, our Roxy Lee! :)

  8. Dogs are definitely the “boss” of the family, and Roxy is no exception. Impossible to not be smitten–just look in those soulful eyes. These photos make me want to rub her belly and give her treats. May you and your son pass his exams with flying colors!

    • Jann, grazie mille from il mio figlio! I read your comment to Roxy and I could swear I heard her whisper that she wants to move in with you! hee hee! When she looks at me with those puppy dog eyes, it’s hard to deny her a treat! :)

    • bwhahaha! Diane, you always make us laugh! Roxy would be delighted to go live in your exciting neck of the woods! She’s asking when the trade will take place! hee hee! “:)

    • Brenda, I do! I haven’t updated it in quite a while, but I have promised myself to do so just as soon as we go on the holiday break. It’s called Life in the Shutter Lane. You can find the link in my blogroll! Thanks for your faith in me! :)

  9. Ah, yes that is why it’s a “dog-day afternoon”. I am certain, though, that your son’s stress is somehow mitigated by the presence of Roxy. I know it’s that way with my kids (though they’re not in university yet). My oldest studies a little, and then will reach down and scratch one of the dog’s ears or tummies, then go back to studying. I love it! I think it’s so cute (though I dare not bring this one little demonstration of affection to his attention!). I’m sure that’s why shelters bring animals to hospitals and nursing homes.
    See? Roxy is dedicated to a very important job!

    • Astra, it wasn’t until I read your comment that I took notice of the many times the Son actually lies on the floor with Roxy when he’s taking a break! I asked him why he did so and he replied, “Cause it’s relaxing.” You are brilliant, my friend! So now I know why little Roxy gets so many cuddles throughout the day, not only from me, but from the other two men in the house as well! Thank you for educating me to this fact! :)

  10. You’re right — Roxy has the right idea! I work on a college campus and it always seems that the week of finals is the slowest week of the year – for students and staff. Friday can’t come soon enough! Then vacation!!

    • Leah, will you also be on break come Friday? If this is the case, thank goodness! I just got off the phone with my sister who tells me she has the mother of all headaches which has developed as a result of trying to coax her university junior to study for tomorrow’s final. Oh dear, may the weekend arrive! :)

  11. So cool being a pampered pooch. They don’t have to drive and worry about being late for anything or get lost trying to find where they need to be or stop at the gas station or….Yeah, that’s me. All Roxy needs is a pair of Hollywood sunglasses and a bowl of lemonade.

    • Totsy, thanks for the much needed chuckle, lady! You are too cool, but then you already know that. :) Indeed, Roxy would look smashing with a little pair of Ray Ban shades! hee hee!

  12. I love Roxy! I always feel so sad when we are running around yelling about stuff and the poor dog is sitting there with those soulful eyes, like he’s thinking, “When will they learn?”

    • Patrice, Roxy is very intuitive and she knows when tempers are flaring and moods are escalating. When this happens, she runs to another room. This serves to point out that we need to regroup and take a deep breath. I tell you, this furry friends serves so many purposes in this home, it’s incredible! :) It seems your doggie friend is quite the sage. I think him and Roxy would be great friends! :)

  13. Roxy is just plain ole CORRECT. But here’s the problem… she’s taken care of. Who will take care of us if we adopt her habits? I suggest we all place this ad and see who solves this problem first:

    Wanted: One Sugar-Daddy. Weekly monetary deposits of $2000/week required. Occasionally thank-you cards shall be remitted in gratitude, only after I’ve napped, watched movies, and gone for a walk. If this suits your need for personal mail, and you understand we shall never meet in person, please apply below. Thank you.

    If no one replies to our ad, well, then, continue with the responsibility lectures. Sigh…

    • bwhahahaha! OMG, Lori! Were we to be so lucky to get any reply to such an ad! Hey, I say we try it! What do we have to lose? And you never know, there might just be some “sugar daddy” out there who’s content to receive personal mail in return for the aforementioned demands. I say we place the ad in the paper now! hee hee! :)

  14. Those are fabulous photos of Roxy! She looks fabulous. I’ve been running around like crazy and I haven’t even sent any cards out this year. My daughter returned last weekend and I’ve been working all week and barely seeing her. So, I can’t wait for next week because that’s when my vacation starts. Two glorious weeks and I know it’ll be swell. :)

    • Monica, here’s hoping you’ll finally be able to put on the brakes and enjoy time with your child. Nothing is more important, but this you already know. Wind it down, hermana, es navidad pronto! Roxy thanks you from the bottom of her heart! Kisses to Henry! :)

    • Monica, though I’m sad I won’t see my extended family, I’ve decided to make the best of it with the rest of the small tribe here. I just miss the family outings, the crazy family dinners, the noise, the fighting, the drama! I miss it all! I hope your time with your children and loved ones will be a happy and relaxing one, amiga mia. Kisses for you from Roxy and me! :)

  15. Bella, I’ve often wondered what dogs did when the phrase “dog’s life” was coined. Because… I would love to just sit under the sun and play all the time. Actually, I want to have a cat’s life. THAT would be ideal. I’ve been so busy these days I have barely any time to blog. :(

    • Laura, it’s that time of year, where there is barely any time for the things we like to do. Sigh. Don’t worry though, you’ll be back in your groove soon enough! In the meantime, lets pretend we have a cat and dog life! hee hee! :)

  16. Oh Bella, I love those last 2 shots. Yes, Roxy has the right idea. And I have been emulating her this week. Napping when the girls naps, rolling with the punches, checking out mentally when the drama ramps up. Getting through. Hang in there, friend. You are one day closer to vacation!

    • Heidi, one more day to go! And then, freedom! For everybody! I hope! Check out all the exclamation points! That’s how much coffee I’ve had in order to stay awake! hee hee! I’m tickled pink you like the photos, friend. And I’m delighted you’re taking it easy at home and with your girls. You deserve a little tender loving care and who better to give that to you than you yourself? :)

  17. I’m counting down the days until I have some “Roxy time”. I need to remember to buy some chocolate covered treats! Roxy is so lucky to have such a loving family. Happy holidays :)

    • Justl, hello and welcome! I love that, “Roxy time!” I think I’ll adopt that term from now on, if you don’t mind! And thank you for reminding me to buy some good chocolate. After so much stress, I feel the time to indulge has arrived! Thank you for your kind words. Happy holidays to you too! :)

  18. She is so absolutely adorable & beautiful. These are such pretty shots you got of her. I wish I had a relaxing life like a dog. My pup hangs out at home all day, gets excited over the smallest thing, is happy simply from running around or chewing on something. Or even when you say hi. If only it was that simple for us!

    • Kirstin Marie, you’re right–if only it were that simple! Unfortunately, we want more and as a result, we live frustrated while dogs are content with the little they have! Ironic, eh? Roxy is tickled pink you think she’s adorable and beautiful! Thank you! :)

  19. Much to be gleaned from our furry friends’ approach to life. Reduced to black and white, the choices are simple: Chillax and let the world take care of itself. Roxie looks like a sweetheart. Glad to hear you’re surviving the recent invasion of the smurfs in your corner of the world.

    • Louciao, the smurfs haven’t completely taken over! We’re not letting them in the house! hee hee! Roxy is the master of “chillax” and she takes pride in doing things her way. She’s such s sweetheart that if you met her, you’d want to take her home with you! :)

    • Thu, thank you! Roxy does indeed have a better life than most of us here in the homestead! I will surely drop by your place! Thanks for dropping by mine! :)

    • Savy, when I was growing up we had a French poodle and trust me when I tell you, she had the same or better life than Roxy! I think I must’ve learned the “spoiling’ bit from my mum. Bad influence, that one! :)

  20. Pingback: One man’s definition of masculinity | One Sister's Rant

Talk to me

