Vintage Friday


cc licensed flickr photo shared by dark_mephi

Will I have time to do this before I kick the bucket?

This morning a friend called to say she had been able to cross something off her bucket list. It appears her husband took her to Paris and she climbed the Eiffel Tower.

Well, color me green with envy. Not because she was able to climb the Eiffel Tower, something I’ve already done, but because she was actually able to cross something off her list.

It’s been more than seven years since I’ve been able to cross anything off mine. This is quite ironic considering both of my children are grown. That’s not to say that having kids prevents you from doing things, but it does make it more difficult to participate in riskier activities. (#15-Go skydiving)

In any case, I’ve had a look at the old list and sadly, only four things have been crossed off: #3 Visit Paris, #8 Stand in the Piazza San Marco in Venice, #13 Swim topless in the Mediterranean Sea, and #7 Read all of Jane Austen’s books.

But what about: # 2 Learn to play the piano, #9 Try fencing, or #1 Have a night of passionate sex with Antonio Banderas?

When are these activities going to be crossed off my list?

So maybe some of the items on the list are a little farfetched, like #13 Swim in a shark tank, #20 Run in the Boston marathon or #6 Be a guest on the Oprah show, for example?

But a bucket list is supposed to be a compilation of extraordinary pursuits, not mundane and practical ventures.

I refuse to substitute grandiose for crap. I’m sorry.

Seriously, what could possibly substitute #4 Learn to dance the tango? Conformists would be happy with learning how to square dance instead, but not me.

Absolutely not.

In my humble opinion, it’s better to have dreamed and fantasized about, than to settle and substitute.

I can’t imagine swapping # 9 Scuba dive off Australia’s Great Barrier Reef for something like “Jump off the diving board at the community pool.” Can you?

I guess that means it will take longer to cross things off but hey, I plan to live till I’m 100. There’s plenty of time!

In the meantime, tonight the party in my head includes Antonio, a bottle of Cristal, Barry White on the CD player, and me in a leopard print teddy. Grrr!

How about you? What’s on your bucket list?

6 thoughts on “Vintage Friday

  1. I have a bucket list of my own and it has the same desire on every number…..staying at every Sofitel worldwide alone…..no kids, no husband, no dogs, and no cell phone….just unlimited amounts of espresso and French cigarettes….divine.

  2. “But a bucket list is supposed to be a compilation of extraordinary pursuits, not mundane and practical ventures.”…. interesting thought. I’ve never made a bucket list, but I bet it wouldn’t have catch up on the laundry and clean the kitchen counters on it! ;) Dream BIG, right? :)

Talk to me

