Who are you talking to?


cc licensed flickr photo shared by rugbyfan89

Significant Other: Are you talking to yourself again?

Me: I like to call it “Thinking out loud.”

Significant Other: Thinking out loud is going to get you committed one of these days.

Me: You’re just jealous cause you can’t hear the voices.

Significant Other: I want you to know that as a precautionary measure, I have every mental asylum within a ten-mile radius on speed dial.

Me: Go ahead and practice your frustrated stand up comedy routine, but first let me tell you that talking to yourself is a sign of genius.

Signficant Other: It’s also a surefire way to make others think you’re a freak.

Me: Like when you wax the Mustang GT and whisper to it, “Daddy’s making you all bright and shiny?”

Significant Other: No, like when you scream “Go ahead and keep the damn keys” to Dennis the poltergeist.

Me: Like I don’t hear you say “Note to self” in that robot voice when you’re in the shower.

Significant Other: Like I don’t hear you talking to the dog and asking her, “What do you think, Roxy?”

Me: You know, I think you’re right. From now on I’m going to start having these conversations with you instead of with myself, Roxy or Dennis the poltergeist.

Significant Other: Lets not be hasty here. Talking to yourself might just be a great way to process information, channel stress and reassure yourself.

Me: Methinks the speed dial needs to be reprogrammed.

Significant Other: Already on it.

10 thoughts on “Who are you talking to?

  1. “Me: Like when you wax the Mustang GT and whisper to it, “Daddy’s making you all bright and shiny?” –OMG! I spit coffee out all over. Thank you for that. I hope I didn’t ruin my keyboard.

    I think when one has a Poltergeist, it is good to yell at them. Sometimes they might give you back your stuff quicker. Usually not, but it makes one feel better.

  2. Love your conversations with the Significant other ..and even more so love the way you share it with us .. Btw did’nt take him long to realise “great way to process information, channel stress and reassure yourself.” ..hahahaha ROFL !

Talk to me

