A tickled pink moment


cc licensed flickr photo shared by Ana G. R.

Oprah has “aha” moments and I have what I call “tickled pink” moments.

These usually come about when something just makes me want to giggle, and dance, and jump around like a crazy person.

Fortunately for the Significant Other, who really hates emotional displays that point in the direction of me being one step closer to wearing a straight jacket, these tickled pink moments don’t happen too often.

But when they do…Stop the press cause it’s time to cheer, and shout, and shake it all about!

My latest tickled pink moment comes from having been nominated by my girl, Bernie at One Mixed Bag for a “Stylish Blogger Award,” from my girl Una, from Curvy Everyday for nominating me for a “Your Blog is Breathtaking” award, and from my girl Dee, at The Merry Traveller for nominating me for a “Most Inspirational Blogger” award.

Ladies, all I can say is thank you.

You have no idea what it means to be recognized in this capacity.

I’d also like to thank the Academy…hee hee! Come on, you know you were expecting something like that!

In all seriousness, and yes, I can be serious when the need arises, I am truly grateful.

It’s amazing how you’ve made my day as well as made me feel like I’m “King of the World!”

And so, I want to give a shout out to Bernie, whose funny blog One Mixed Bag keeps me in stitches, Una, whose fashion blog Curvy Everyday, is not only filled with clothes real women can actually wear, but whose humor makes her posts addictive, and Dee, whose fashion blog The Merry Traveller, showcases her in outfits that make me swoon and sigh and think “Oh, I could so wear that!”

Thank you, my sisters! I’m honored…and grateful…and tickled pink!

For the rest of you lovely ladies, click on their links and check out their blogs. I promise you that you will not be disappointed.

Following Dee’s lead, I’ll answer the seven questions that she answered, so as to share some of the skeletons in my closet with you.

What inspires you?
Anything and everything. I seem to find inspiration in the extraordinary and the eccentric, but also in the mundane, and the ordinary. There will be times when I’m sitting on a bus and the next passenger that comes on, will serve to inspire a post. Other times inspiration comes in the form of conversations with friends, family, and the Significant Other.

What is your favorite season and why?
My favorite season is fall. I love the way the leaves turn colors and how I get to stomp on the big piles that my neighbors painstakingly rake. I love the nip in the air and the fact that I can wear colors like mustard, hunter green, and sexy mauve.

What are you most looking forward to this year?
I am most looking forward to my annual summer trip to Spain. I love that for an entire month I get to bask in the sun and do absolutely nothing. I like that I have the option of wearing a two-piece suit even if I don’t have a two-piece-ready body. I love that I get to gorge on dishes like “paella” and drink lemony ice drinks called “granizados” and most of all, I love the fact that everywhere around me people are screaming talking at the top of their lungs and no one thinks they’re shouting.

If you could write a book about anything, what would you write about?
I would want to write a children’s book that dealt with body acceptance. I feel it is vital to teach our children the importance of accepting themselves and loving themselves, just the way they are. In a world where society imposes so many ridiculous rules and pressures us into believing so much nonsensical crap, I feel it’s important that we empower our children with healthy self-esteem. Once they are in possession of that, it’s like they have a secret weapon; they are invincible and no one can tear them down.

What is your greatest passion?
OMG, I have so many passions and this is because everything that I do, I do with passion. To me, a life without passion means you’re already dead; a walking zombie. Seriously ladies, do you want to be part of the zombie apocalypse or do you want to be passionate? I’m rooting for the passion. All the way from drinking my cup of coffee to dancing in my room, I do with passion. Why? Cause it feels damn good, that’s why.

If you could change one thing about your life or yourself what would it be and why?
At the risk of sounding arrogant, I’m going to say I wouldn’t change a thing about myself or my life. I’m content with what I have and I’ve learned to love and accept myself just the way I am. Okay, maybe I’d like to stop taking Roxy out for walks whilst wearing pajama pants and house slippers, but that’s about it.

Lastly, what is your favorite novel?
My favorite novel is Pride and Prejudice. Mr. Darcy captured my heart, my soul, and every fibre of my being. What can I say? I’m madly, passionately and irrevocably in love with Mr. Darcy.

And now it’s time to pass the torch to three other blogs that most definitely deserve the “Most Inspirational Blogger” award.

These lovely ladies would include:

Rowena from Rubber Slippers in Italy– For making me salivate with her gorgeous pictures of Italian food and making me oooh and awww with her “tug at your heartstrings” pictures of her super cute dogs Maddie and Mr. B. Oh, and cause she’s funny and cute and always comments back! And have I mentioned her amazing pictures of the Italian countryside?

Louise from Coffee and a Cardigan-She had me at coffee but it’s the uniqueness of this lady’s fashion style that keeps me coming back to her blog. Her kindness and sweet demeanor come through in every post and comment that she writes her readers. Her images are gorgeous and she never ceases to amaze you, all the way from how she dresses to the recipes that she shares.

Heidi from Me as a Mother-Though I’m a fairly new reader to this lady’s blog, I was a fan from day one. Heidi most effectively shows us the “real” side of being a mother, with its ups and downs and in between. Her images are not only breathtaking, they allow us to have a peak into her life and that of her family as we giggle and shake our heads all the while affirming, “Uh huh. Been there, done that, felt that.” She calls it like she sees it and you can’t but admire this lady’s ability to articulate what every single mother has felt at one time or another but has never had the guts to spit out. Love, love, love her style.

Finally, and again being Dee’s copy cat (woman, you are my hero), the “Your Blog Is Breathtaking” award goes out to anyone who takes the time to write, photograph, cook, decorate, knit, sew, craft,  and so on, and shares it with everyone else. That in itself is an act of paying it forward and truly exceptional.

Una, Bernie, and Dee, thank you again, ladies!

34 thoughts on “A tickled pink moment

  1. Congrats lady! well deserved on all fronts. I love reading your answers and picturing you romping through your neighbors leaves in pj’s and slippers with roxy in tow.

    That Dee is such a class act, you too.

  2. Thank you so much, Bella. You really such an authentic person and I just love reading and laughing along with you in your posts. Thank you for blogging! And thank you for the support you’ve given me since day one!

  3. Bella! Thank you thank you thank you! You have just made me feel so good about the day-to-day craziness that is my life and I so appreciate it. I am grateful that we have connected in this vast blogosphere.

  4. You go girl! A trifecta in awards. How cool. Well deserved I assure you.
    F
    all is my favorite season as well. You are going to Spain for a whole month? Alone? Just for a vacation?

    Looking forward to reading the other blogs you mentioned. They look fun as well.

  5. You are so cute I don`t know what to do with my self! <3 You tickle me pink ;D many congrats on the awards, so well deserved! Your blog is wonderful, just like you are. I look forward to checking out the blogs you have listed here :) sending you big hugs love. <3

    1. Just read the game post and wow! I’m jumping with glee at the fact that I’m on your blog list! Woo hoo! She sings, and spins, and nearly breaks a leg—but, I’m okay! Thanks, lady! I am most honored!

    1. Pictures will definitely be in order this summer! We must not forget the many eccentric things we witness in a foreign country and how it can either make us laugh, sigh in wonderment or simply want to document it to share with others. I promise!

  6. Awww…thanks for the shout out Bella, you deserve to be tickled and pink (well, I’m sure Roxy looks way cuter in pink). However….I must correct you on one thing right at this moment! I am not funny or cute, I am FURIOUS! I get back from a full weekend of activities and my ISP Telecom Italia is up to the usual shitty connection for customers but yet stick ’em with the monthly fee. Oops, sorry, I swore on your blog! Maybe this might not even show up when I click on ‘post comment’? Maybe the innernets will gobble it up? *Hissssssssssssss* At the rate that I’m moving along, I may as well have dumb dial-up.

    PS. Spain????? I’m jealous!

    1. Oh Rowena, let it all hang out woman! It’s good for the soul! I’m so sorry to read about your connection problems. Lets hope it gets resolved soon cause I need a Maddy and Mr. B fix!

Talk to me

