Does beauty have an age limit?

Coming back from the market on Saturday, I took a different route home.

It was a gorgeous, sunny day and even though it was still quite chilly, I felt in the mood for a long, quiet walk.

Halfway through my trajectory, I met this lovely lady.

She smiled at me as I got closer.

Her captivating smile made me stop and ask if I could take her picture.

She politely accepted and I told her she didn’t have to interrupt her walk.

I smiled as I saw her fashionable attire.

All the way from her beret to her trendy booties, this little lady exuded class.

This encounter served to remind me that beauty has no age.

We can be beautiful at eight and we can be just as beautiful at eighty.

Is it a different kind of beauty?

Yes, I believe that it is.

While youth may give us the beauty of vitality, energy, and exuberance, I believe age offers us the beauty of experience, wisdom, and knowledge.

But it’s beauty nonetheless.

What do you think, ladies?

Is beauty everlasting?

24 thoughts on “Does beauty have an age limit?

  1. I gotta be frank Bella….with the way my eyesight is going down these days (I can see, I just have to squint harder), beauty is in the eye of whoever doesn’t give a hooha about the extra wrinkles that’ll accumulate for each squint. A warm smile has the power to make anyone look smashing!

    1. I agree, Rowena! And girl, you and I both when it comes to the eyesight going to the dogs. I can’t even see through my prescription reading eyeglasses anymore. Okay, definitely time to start cracking some smiles, lady! :)

  2. Bella,
    I think that beauty radiates from the inside out. Sometimes the most beautiful people in the world are the ones that inconspicuous to other who only look at the shell. I am married to man who is 32 years older than me, and while most women my age wouldn’t find him an adonis, I am completely besotted with him, because he has the power to transform me into someone better, he is happiness and light. I have hard time remembering that he is 70, because we are so aligned, we just fit. So yes beauty comes in all shapes, sizes, ages, wrinkles, and vitality. Bless you for finding the beauty in the lady walking down the street.
    G

    1. Georgia, I learned at a very young age that age was just a number. My very wise grandmother taught me that. She died at the age of 92 and never did she consider herself old or feeble. I always found her to be beautiful. But then she always believed in me and told me I was beautiful. So yes, I can understand how you would feel that way about your man. Good for you!

  3. such a lovely sentiment. and so true! beauty is so much more than skin-deep – and people like this stylish lady on your walk home proves that inner AND outer beauty shows throughout all the stages of life. :) amen, sister.

  4. This post resonates so much with me, Bella. I often think about how I want to look and dress when I’m an old lady, and your subject hits that mark. Beauty is beauty. Beauty is all around us, no limits whatsoever.

    1. I’m so glad you liked it, Louise! I don’t think you have anything to worry about. A stylish woman like you will surely be a stylish old gal as well! You’ll be rockin’ them granny boots and look as wonderful as you do now! :)

  5. Yes! I think that people think that as you age you become more and more invisible! Thank you for sharing her beauty and hopefully helping her to recognize it too!

    1. It was easier to capture that one since I didn’t have to stress that I was interrupting her walk. But I do like the way it turned out. How I dream of the day when I will own a better camera! :)

  6. What a lovely lady, Bella! Of course, you can beautiful at any age. I also admire older women who take the trouble to groom themselves and dress well. Only I wish they’d let the natural grey show, it makes them so much more beautiful then having people pretend they’re years younger!
    On an entirely different topic, what celebrations do you plan in four days time? :)

    1. Isn’t she fantastic, Corinne? :) Ahem, I’m afraid I to fall in the category of the women who dye those pesky gray hairs to pretend they’re years youngers….guilty as charged. :( I’m so vain. I know….sorry. hee hee! Celebrations? I plan to brew some coffee, sit behind my laptop and whoop whoop about the fact that a year ago today I created this humble little blog. The simple life, Corinne. And I’m so not the party animal. :)

  7. She is such an inspiration, Bella. Gorgeous! Her personality shines right through. Can you even imagine how long it took her to get all dolled up like this for her stroll?

    1. Isn’t she cute, Jann? Seriously, I was grateful to NOT be wearing my pajama pants that day. My grandmother was the same way. She could wear relaxed clothing around the home but if we were to go out, it took her forever to get ready. And God forbid that she go out without stockings, and a matching purse and shoes!

  8. what a stylish lady, love her beret, her coat, and her smile!!, and I agree with you, because beauty is nothing to do with age, it’s just an attitude!, and I would like to get older with so much style than that lady!
    (Do you like Advanced Style?, it’s an awesome blog!)
    besos

    1. I was certain you would agree, Señora Allnut, being so stylish yourself! I will most certainly check out the blog you mention! Besos!

  9. I’ll be the first to admit that I am always always intrigued by a woman in a beret because I love berets! And the slightly satiny sheen of your richly red coat is just icing on top of a cake! I wish I could see some fashionable and less grumpy old ladies.

    1. Hee hee, Dee! It’s true, sometimes you do see the little, grumpy old lady variety but every now and then you get the beautiful ones too! Life with a pinch of salt, wouldn’t you say? :)

  10. Now I don’t have a problem with younger women like yourself dyeing their hair! I’m talking about women in the 70s and 80s with jet black hair! ;)
    And have a coffee on me too, you simple girl. Hugs!

    1. ha ha, Corinne! That’s a relief! If only we were a street away from each other and all we had to do was knock on the door for coffee, eh? :)

Talk to me

