Who wants to be like Mother Nature?

Two years ago, one of the neighbors cut down a beautiful tree that grew in his backyard.

The Significant Other found out through another neighbor, that the tree had been slain only because it shed too many leaves.

I was outraged.

The tree had been there for such a long time, and suddenly it was gone.

This morning, as I drank my coffee, I ventured out to the terrace to feel the sun on my face.

As I peered into the neighbor’s yard, I noticed a new tree had taken up residence in the spot where the old tree had been.

However, upon closer inspection, I noticed that it wasn’t a new tree.

Instead, it was the old tree which had sprouted new branches and leaves.

I was awestruck and smiled at Mother Nature’s refusal to be stifled.

While man had wanted to destroy one of her creations, she had valiantly shown him who was in charge.

As I walked with Roxy today, I looked for signs of Mother Nature’s perseverance; of her refusal to be dismissed.

I saw wildflowers growing through cement bricks, through cracks in the sidewalk, and in the middle of the forest.

I saw branches growing near the base of a tree trunk, moss growing on logs, and even on a rock.

All of this led me to understand that we have much to learn from Mother Nature.

Mother Nature is by far one of our best role models and I can’t think of anyone I’d rather emulate.

Because there’s nothing more empowering than persevering in the face of adversity; standing tall and unfaltering no matter what our situation.

Like Mother Nature, we should refuse to be quieted, ignored, or dismissed.

We have to develop the ability to rise above our circumstances, whatever those might be, because we are strong; we are resilient.

We have the capacity to withstand pain, fatigue, and hunger.

We too are a force to be reckoned with should someone try to abuse, demean, or disrespect us or our loved ones.

And like Mother Nature, we are capable of living in less than ideal conditions because we are survivors.

Yes, ladies, there is much to learn from Mother Nature, and like the newly sprouted tree, we must rise, triumph and enjoy the beauty around us.

Do you feel as motivated as Mother Nature to conquer anything that might prevent you from reaching your goals?

Here’s to following the example of Mother Nature!

20 thoughts on “Who wants to be like Mother Nature?

  1. Oh Bella, I love this post. I am soooo happy that that tree persevered through it all. And I agree, Mother Nature is a force to be reckoned with. We should totally stop and take a moment to meditate and see what treasures we can learn from her.

    And thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog. I truly appreciate the encouragement!

  2. I can only strive to be like Mother Nature on a day-to-day basis. Some mornings I just can’t seem to get beyond first gear, but it sure does help to put that second pot of coffee on the fire!

    1. Woman, if it weren’t for coffee, I think I would soon perish…or end up in some psych ward! But hey, one day at a time is good!

  3. I am a big fan of resilience because i study about it all the time during my literature lessons in school. I think it helps as a way to shape the way I am, tough on the outside, marshmallowy on the inside and I got my fighting spirit!

    1. Dee, I love that combination! Tough on the outside, marshmallowy on the inside and sprinkled with a fighting spirit! You go, girl!

  4. I like the concept of ‘resilience’, it’s one of my favorite words!, and love your inspiration, Mother Nature, she knows how to do the things work!
    Great photos, indeed!
    besos & spring

    1. Gracias, Mrs. Allnut! I love how you always add to the mix! And I agree, Mother Nature does know have a handle on things! :)

  5. I had a neighbor who called the city to cut down a beautiful old oak in the patch of land between the sidewalk and the street. The lovely tree had probably been there over a century. But the woman had no respect for its majesty but rather fear. Fear that a hurricane would topple it over and onto her house. As the city workers came and sawed down the oak I thought I’d cry. I grieved as they cut down, limb by limb, the glorious old tree. After the stump was removed they planted Bradford Pears. Oh well…. Excellent post Bella. You have a true writing gift that stirs.

    1. Thank you, Debra! I’m so happy that you enjoyed the post! I read your comment and thought how many times I’ve witnessed neighbors doing the same thing–acting out of fear instead of first evaluating other solutions. And like you, I’ve wanted to cry every time a gorgeous tree is felled. Such a waste; such destruction. It makes me quite sad. That’s why I’m forever happy when Mother Nature makes an appearance with new branches and leaves!

  6. Bella, I strive, I really do, to be like Mother Nature but you saw my post this morning; sometimes I am just crumpled doll parts instead of a force to be reckoned with. Ah well, ask me again tomorrow?

    1. Heidi, you and I and I dare say, most women take turns at emulating Mother Nature and being the crumpled doll. My father once told me, “You should never fear falling down, Bella. You should fear not wanting to get back up.” I guess that’s why I’m driven to not let the little things get me down. After all, most things have a solution and if they don’t, why be in angst over it? You hang in there, Heidi because your talent, your creativity, your kindness and the fact that you’re always real make you a force to be reckoned with! :)

    1. Mary, welcome! I’m so happy you’re here! And yes, sadly we do take many things for granted. Thank goodness for our capability of recognizing this and for the most part, our ability to do damage control. Thank you for your lovely comment, Mary!

  7. Thank you for such a lovely post! It’s especially during spring, when so much life springs from nothingness, that I’m inspired to always be strong and make the world a more beautiful place.

    Thank you so much for visiting and commenting on my blog :)

    1. You’re very welcome, Dweej! I agree with you–spring is the perfect time to jumpstart us into becoming stronger beings who can tackle just about anything!

Talk to me

