Is your outfit worthy of fashion judgement?


cc licensed ( BY NC SD ) flickr photo shared by Leo Reynolds

This afternoon, I headed into the city to run some errands.

On my way back from the bank, I noticed that a small crowd was gathered in front of one of the shop windows.

I could hear people laughing and applauding.

Any other day, I would probably have been pressed for time and would have walked past the crowd not giving it a second glance.

However, today the Son was home with Roxy and I didn’t feel the need to rush home as usual.

I think it was this relaxed attitude which allowed me stop and see what the ruckus was about.

As I peered through the throng, I noticed that in the middle of the crowd there were about ten women standing in line.

I had no idea what they were waiting for but upon closer inspection, I noticed that everyone was looking at two gentlemen who were standing behind one of the store windows.

At first I thought they were mannequins, but then I saw one of them move and hold up a sign.

It had a number six.

To my surprise, the crowd gasped and the woman at the front of the line turned to leave, but not before flipping the two men off.

The crowd roared with laughter.

Next, a stunning woman dressed in a swoon-worthy outfit stepped up to the spot where a line had been marked with tape.

I saw one of the men circle one of his fingers as if to indicate that he wanted her to turn around.

The men then huddled together and one of them held up a number ten.

The woman smiled and gave them a little clap.

The crowd cheered.

It was then I noticed a sign on the table that said “Fashion Judgement.”

I looked down at what I was wearing and caught a glimpse of jeans, cardigan, tshirt, scarf, and Chuck Taylors.

And then I thought, why not.

I quickly stepped in line thinking, I too, would like to know what my outfit rated.

When it was my turn, both men looked me up and down, huddled together, and finally one of them lifted the sign.

I almost closed my eyes, fearing I too would score a low six and as a result, the crowd would laugh again.

Nevertheless, I was determined to not flip the poor men off, regardless of my score.

After all, it wasn’t their fault if people were dressed unfashionably.

Suddenly I heard the crowd clap and to my delight, one of the men was holding up the number eight.

I gave them a “thumbs up” sign and smiled as I turned to leave.

So there you have it, ladies.

Today my humble outfit scored an eight.

Can’t say that I’m complaining.

I guess it pays to not always leave the house in pajama pants!

What would your outfit have scored today?

28 thoughts on “Is your outfit worthy of fashion judgement?

    1. Haley, I agree! I guess that’s why the phrase, “Are you leaving the house in that?” is something we should ask ourselves from time to time. :)

  1. LOL That’s an interesting idea! I would be perfectly happy with an 8 on a casual day! Congrats :)

    Love your anecdotes! They always put a smile on my face.

    1. I totally agree, Danielle! Trust me when I tell you that an eight to me is as good as a ten! Thanks for your sweet words! :)

  2. If Dolce&Gabbana had something like this in Milan…oh my god, it would be a scream! Brava on the 8 score, I would have no idea what surfer-girl clothing would score here in Italy. I STILL wear my favorite Roxy jeans, shorts, tshirts and hoodies!

    1. In my book, your surfer-girl clothing would score a ten! Nothing beats comfortable, laid back clothing like that! (Except for hoodies. I hate them) But give me everything else and don’t forget the flip flops! :)

    1. Jann, it wasn’t easy to stand in front of these two little critics, let alone the crowd, but I did it! I love putting myself out there because it helps me combat any feelings of vulnerability. Survival of the fittest and all that! :) But your are “dolce” to say so. Grazie!

  3. Oh wow! This is kinda crazy. It goes to show that it’s all about confidence, ya? :) I am sure you’re always a 10, though. RIght now, while i’m in my kigurumi, I would probably score an “inappropriate” or a “weird” hahaha. :)

  4. You’re actually quite brave! I’m not sure I could go through with the ignominy of it all. As long as I feel happy in an outfit, another shouldn’t put a score to it. Or maybe that’s my cowardice speaking. Haha.

    1. You speak the truth, oh wise one! I agree, Dee. If you’re happy in what you’re wearing, the score doesn’t matter zilch! :)

  5. You’re brave to have let yourself stand in the face of ” Fashion judgement ” and had I been in your place , I swear I would have done the same , more for spunk though than the actual judgement :P ( of course ! )
    but even if it weren’t for the two men , you just know you’re dressed well if you have women checking you out and you know by checking out – I mean the outfit .. mine would have scored a 8 on Sat nd a 9 y’day …

    (hehehehe coz really , it does pay to not always leave the house in pajama pants! :D :D :D )

    1. Priya, you’re right! Women do check out your outfit when it rocks. It’s a shame then that not many check me out! hee hee! :)

    1. You know, if the Significant Other said something more than just, “You look fine,” I’d join you guys in that sentiment. But alas, those three words hardly tell me anything about what I’m wearing! What’s a woman to do? :)

  6. haha what a weird thing! you were brave to go up there.. i don’t know if i’d of had the confidence! i would definitely had enjoyed watching though. (:

Talk to me

