What do I spy with my little eye?

As I walked Roxy this morning, I was delighted by the flowers of the neighborhood gardens.

Everywhere I looked, there were bursts of color.

Eager to share this with all of you, I quickly made my way home to grab my camera.

Upon returning however, it dawned on me that some people might not like the fact that I was lurking taking pictures of their homes.

Nevertheless, spurred by the fact that there are no privacy laws in this country, I snapped photos of the gardens and façades I found to be most charming.

And more than once, I found myself saying, “Oh my goodness!” out loud.

Here’s what prompted this reaction:

However, while the phrase “Oh my goodness!” can be used to express delight, it can also be used to express dismay or shock.

Here’s one of the gardens that caused me dismay:

And here’s something that caused me to say, “Oh my goodness!” a little louder than I intended:

The moral to this story? With the good comes the bad.

When was the last time you saw something that made you say, “Oh my goodness!”?

32 thoughts on “What do I spy with my little eye?

  1. haha! Hard to get rid of a tune once it’s inside your head, huh? :) But I’m glad you agree, Kelly. Really, there is no way to separate one from the other! :)

  2. Bella, these are beautiful shots! What a pretty neighborhood (old man in pajamas notwithstanding)! You know, my 3 littles make me exclaim “Oh my goodness!” everyday. For good, bad, and not so pretty reasons! I missed reading your wonderful blog as I limped through this whirlwind week; happy to be catching up with you again, friend.

    1. Heidi, I’m glad you’re back! I’m missed you, girl! :) I can imagine what a world of “Oh my goodness!” you live in with your littles! That’s how it was with me when my young’uns were little! :) I’m honored you like the shots! Thank you!

  3. I just love your photos! Not sure where you live but its tres colorful and a bit of country urban. Love it. I just got a brand new camera and you’re inspiring me to go around my own neighborhood. Last time I said Oh, my goodness? When I saw your pix, that’s when. All in a good way, except the last two, of course. And who wears pajamas out in public this time of year? Yikes. Not his best side.

    1. Monica, I love where I live as well! It’s a pretty neighborhood where color abounds in spring and autumn. Wait till the fall! Do go out and take pictures of scenes in your neighborhood! It’s so much fun! Just remember, you’re going to get funny looks from the neighbors! Since I live in a place where everyone sticks to themselves, I don’t know any of mine. Hence, I bask in the anonymity! :)

  4. What a fantastic post! “What causes you dismay,” you say. I laughed out loud. I love the picture of the pretty doorway and of the…well, gentleman. It was a great way to start off my day.

  5. Bella – you do have a good eye. Tulips always take me somewhere else in my mind. They are beautiful and sad, and for me inspiring. BTW, I’ve added you to my blog roll, since being here on your pages has been a habit. Glad to have found you.

    1. Aw Brenda, this is a worthy tickled pink moment! Thank you, amiga! I’m honored. You know how I love your writing style and wit, so check out my blog roll! :)

    1. Thelma, it’s so sweet of you to award me with a versatile blogger button! Not too long ago, I received some blog awards and provided some answers to questions about myself. You can view the post here if you’d like. Thank you so much for the award! I’m honored! :)

    1. Elizabeth, I do not live in England. We’re in the same continent but not quite there! :) Do the houses look familiar to you?

    1. Hello, Jessica and welcome! The farmer’s market always have such pretty flowers and plants! When I’m in the States it’s where I go to buy fruit and plants!

  6. HAHAHAHAAH! What a grand post! I love all the beautiful flower pictures. I need to tend to my garden soon… but first, to pull out all those weeds -_-. And I have a neighbor who looks kinda like that man in the last picture… freaky, scary!

    1. Laura, just stopped by your blog! Congratulations, chicky! Sometimes it makes me sad that I don’t have a garden of my own but when I think of your weed pulling, I have to say I’m a little relieved! :) As for the look alike neighbor…oh my goodness! :)

  7. love your illustrated reports around your neighborhood!, so funny to see what you can find when you go for a walk!
    And there’s always a tender side even in the old man pic!, you’re delightful!
    besos

    1. Mrs. Allnut, I so enjoyed your own beach scenery photos! I love walking around the neighborhood. There’s always so much to capture. Sometimes it’s nice, other times bizarre, but really, the surprise lies in what you might find at that particular moment! Besos! :)

  8. Olive oil and cracked pepper gelato yesterday got that reaction. Does that count?

    Also, a school of sting rays swam RIGHT by us in the water (could have touched them…didn’t want to).

    The amount of squished lovebugs on our windshield after the 4 hour drive back. That also got an “oh my goodness!”

    Sadly, no camera.

    These flowers pictures are beautiful! I love the spring. :)

    1. Lady, those are absolute “Oh my goodness” moments! Too bad you didn’t have a camera to document them! Oh well, you have your “mental” pictures! :) So glad you liked the shots!

  9. hhhhahahhahahhaaaaa!!!!! Love the photos, but last one made me laugh so loud, the kitties jumped. Definitely an “oh my goodness” moment. Classic. Never leave home without your camera again. Made my day.

    1. Lori, you’re funny! I always try to have my camera on hand. You never know what you might come across, right? :)

  10. The last photo prompted an “oh my lord!” from me, as I just can’t imagine that you snapped his pic without him saying anything! Too funny!

Talk to me

