What makes a man sexy?

I finally saw the movie “The Dilemma.”

I’d been dying to see this movie because Vince Vaughn stars in it and Vince and I, well, we go back a long way.

Actually, Vince, my sisters, and I go back a long way.

My sisters became fans at different times and for different reasons.

My middle sister, who has a thing for tall men, became a fan when she found out he was six feet five.

My younger sister, who has a thing for bad boys, became a fan when she discovered he’d been in a bar fight in North Carolina back in 1998.

I, on the other hand, have been a Vince fan since forever.

My reason? I have a thing for funny men.

Vince has tickled my funny bone with performances in movies such as “Old School,” “Dodgeball,” “Wedding Crashers,” “Fred Clause,” “Four Christmases,” “Couples Retreat,” and “The Break Up.”

Now, with his latest performance as Ronny Valentine in “The Dilemma,” he makes me wish he were my valentine.

Why?

Because what woman can resist a funny guy?

I think I speak for most women when I say a sense of humor in a man is priceless.

He can be as good looking as Gerard Butler, but if he doesn’t have a sense of humor, he may as well be as ugly as Marilyn Manson.

Men with a sense of humor have an attraction that makes me sit up and take notice.

Take Danny Devito and Woody Allen, for example.

Both ugly as can be and yet, were either of them to ask me out for coffee, I’d go in a heartbeat.

There’s no way I’d pass up the opportunity to be in the company of a man who can make me laugh till I have tears streaming down my face.

And both of these gents have the ability to do this.

But back to Vince.

What also makes this man a charmer, is that he appears to be quite the conversationalist.

After all, there’s no way you can chatter that much as a character, unless you also do so in real life.

Vince is not only a smooth talker, but has the ability to articulate in such a way, he has you laughing the moment he opens his mouth.

And isn’t that what women want?

Don’t we all want a man who has the ability to make us smile, giggle, and laugh?

Don’t we want the certainty that going out with a funny man practically guarantees laughter will be part of our night?

I, for one. cannot resist a funny man.

He doesn’t have me at “Hello.”
He has me the moment he elicits a chuckle.

Good looks, athletic prowess, the ability to dress stylishly, excellent physique, good hair, taller than six feet, good manners, and a deep voice all give a man a head start.

But a sense of humor?

Well, that has him crossing the finish line in no time.

In all reality, Vince could be in better shape.
His hair line seems to be receding and he always looks like he’s been up all night.

Yet none of this makes him less handsome.

Why?
Cause he’s funny. That’s why.

And cause he has deep set eyes, ruby red lips and he’s tall, dark, and handsome.

Enough said.

What do you think, ladies? Does a sense of humor make a man sexier?

56 thoughts on “What makes a man sexy?

  1. I could never date a man without a sense of humor, ever! It just wouldn’t happen. I also like a man who has an slight air of shyness or innocence about him rather than a smooth talker (although I am a Vince Vaugn girl). As for Dodgeball, I love it! If you can dodge a car, you can dodge a wrench…classic!!

    1. June, I’ve never had the patience for shy or innocent! hee hee! Although I have always had a soft spot for nerdish looking guys who wear glasses and some of those did seem to be on the shy side. That said, I want an extrovert, a laugh out loud, chatter box who keeps me in stitches! :)

  2. I married my husband because he makes me laugh. And nearly 20 years later, he still cracks me up like nobody else can. I do go for the dark hair, blue-eyed type but I’m with you – if they have no sense of humor, they might as well be gay.

    1. Kario, you have made me laugh out loud with your comment! Lets hear it for funny men who can still make you laugh 20 years later! I hope that’s my case…though something tells me I might be laughing AT him and not with him! hee hee! :)

  3. It’s all about humor for me, too. On my own, I could drown in “serious thought.” My husband is one of those funny guys, and he helps me see the funny side of things.

    Now that I think about it, most of my pals are funny. I guess they all put up with me because they get as much out of making me laugh as I do from laughing at/with them.

    Thanks for being one of those people who makes me laugh!

    1. Aw Shary, I’m tickled pink that you consider me one of the funny people who make you laugh! How wonderful to have a funny guy and friends in your life! My nana would say that as a result, you will live a long life! :)

  4. OMG! YES!!! I have loved him since “Swingers”! And have you ever seen him in “A Cool, Dry Place”!??!?! AMAZING!!! I have wanted to “climb him like a tree” for years! And no – funny cannot be beat! It is absolutely crucial.

    Now…if men would only want the same…what a wonderful world this would be.

    Maybe he’d like to join me at slimmingdowntosexy.com to see if he can drop those couple extra pounds? It might be worth tracking him down…just to check! =)

    1. Natalie, you have me HOWLING with this comment! OMG, you’re funny! I have yet to see my man in “A Coo, Dry Place” but if you ask me, I’ll take him in any place! hee hee! And yes, it would be amazing if he joined you on your site! We must email his publicist and see if he’s game! :)

  5. Oh! I forgot to add – I just downloaded this movie to watch at the gym today! I hope I don’t fall of my machine laughing…or maybe I do… =) Laughing burns more calories…right?

    1. Girl, not only does laughing burn calories, it keeps you in a “feel good” mood all day long! Let me know what you think of the movie! My favorite scene is the one with Cousin Betty! :)

  6. I am with you on this one. After a while look fades and then you left with nothing, unless you have something to laugh about it with your partner and of course it would be helpful if you partner looks like Vince ;)

  7. Hello, Hugh Laurie.
    When he cracks himself up on House, it’s the best. And the comebacks are so fast, it’s impossible to follow. Bliss.

    Hello, Seth Green.
    I can watch The Italian Job over and over again, but it’s him that makes the movie, not the luscious Mark Wahlberg.

    Loved that clip. Definitely gunna go see.
    OH, I had to see Fast Five with the man. You might not completely hate it. They borrow a bit from The Italian Job or Oceans 11, and have a couple of funny guys on “the team.” Definitely helped.

    1. Lady, thanks for the low down! I love Hugh Laurie too and with that accent, who knew he was British, right? You went to see Fast Five? Ugh! hee hee! Now it’s time to go with the man to see The Dilemma. You will not regret it!

    1. I keep remembering him in The Break Up and he’s quite loud. I would find it hard and a bit annoying to be around someone that big with the volume he has. He could fill up a room with that voice and I like my space :)

    2. Yes, he did play a different type role in that movie, didn’t he? Given you like your space, I can understand how he might seem a bit overwhelming to you. :)

  8. I’ll pass on Vince, too. Oh Bella, our first disagreement. I do agree a sense of humor is a must, but I wouldn’t mind if he wrote poetry, played the piano, and Rugby, too. Also,if he cooked and brushed my hair I’d compromise on a few things. I also have a thing for geeky guys. I can’t help myself, actually it’s a failing of mine. The smart-geeky ones are brilliant in the practice of rocket scientist type things, and know everything about everything, BUT are sometimes challenged when speaking from the heart, but darn, I am goner at the first whisper of a scientific equation or other equally brilliant type things. :-)

    1. Oh no, Brenda, and here I thought we were two peas in a pod! :) I too will take a man who cooks, dances, and does other brilliant things! Where do we sign up? hee hee!

  9. Yes, a sense of humor, warm personality, and good conversation skills pretty much place a man head and shoulders above the rest, even if he’s not quite as tall as Vine Vaughn. I will suggest a movie date to see “The Dilemma” to my significant other (aka husband). He’s always thrilled when I suggest something funny that we can both enjoy.

    1. Carol, your husband is a keeper! My Significant Other rolls his eyes when I suggest a comedy! And I’m in total agreement with your observations of what allows a man to stand out!

  10. I agree with the sense of humor all the way. Jaded J makes me laugh, all the time! He has the quick wit I crave. Cute, Tall…all great, but humor….it is almost lickable.

    1. Georgia, I’ve read Jaded J’s comments on your blog and I have to agree, the man has a wicked sense of humor! Good for you!

  11. A sense of humor is the one criteria that I looked for first! I remember my aunt introduced me to a ‘probable’ husband (I can write a book about such introductions – someday, maybe!) and was most surprised when I ‘rejected’ him because he was humorless. She wanted to know how that mattered!!!! Needless to say, I never met more of the guys she attempted to hitch me up with!!!

    1. Corinne, good for you for taking a stand and refusing any more probable encounters with humorless men! Please say you’ll write at least a blog post about those introductions! I would love to read it, as I’m sure, so would all the rest of your fans! :)

  12. I hate to admit it but I’ve never seen “The Dilemma” or even heard of Vince Vaughn. But I think I will have to see it now :)
    The last movie I saw was Tyler Perry in Madea’s Big Happy Family. My daughter loves these films, so that’s what we like to watch together. Have you seen it? Hilarious!

    1. Debra, I think you will enjoy “The Dilemma!” Do check it out! I have seen Madea’s movies. Tyler Perry is hysterical! Your daughter and the Son like the same movies but unlike your daughter, he doesn’t like to watch them with me! Oh, how I long for the days of yesteryear when he used to sit on my lap, sucking his thumb while we watched cartoons together!

  13. Yep, for sure. Not too much else to add to this one, you’ve pretty much summed it up!

    I feel like I’ve been away from your blog forever, friend. Still struggling through this stupid sinus/ear infection thing. I wanted to let you know that your comments over at my place make me smile every day, so thank you sweet Bella!

    1. And your blog posts have me smiling from ear to ear, Ms. Heidi! I’ts my pleasure to drop by for a visit! I love your blog! Here’s hoping you will conquer the sinus/ear infection once and for all, lady!

  14. I actually never really thought of Vince in any way, but if you think he’s funny, then that’s good enough for me. Let him know that I’m willing to join you and your sisters on a date with him anytime. :)

    1. Bwhahaha! And what a grand time we would have, Monica! Though they’d probably have to hospitalize the poor man at the end of the night! hee hee!

  15. I’ve dated two guys that were 6’5″. And I’ve got the neck brace and chiropractor bills to prove it! ;) For kissing purposes, I prefer guys that are a little closer to my height, Bella. But, a sense of humor is very important. He has to be smart, too. And it wouldn’t hurt if he were a little bit of a philanthropist… Basically, I’m a sucker for a charismatic, do-gooder nerd with a great sense of humor. :)

    1. Kenya, I love, love your “wish list!” Were we to be so lucky to find such a paragon of virtues! hee hee! You had me smiling at your “chiropractor bills to prove it” comment! I agree with you–smarts is a definite do for me as well!

  16. I most definitely agree! You know what I like even more? a man whose sense of humor matches mine! (which is an odd blend of dark, sarcastic, and bordering morbid) hahaha! :)

  17. Humor is definitely a big selling point for me. And I love Vince Vaughn’s “banter” even if he is the only one talking.

    To take it a step further, I think Kevin James, his costar, is adorable. Again, because he makes me laugh.

    1. Seriously, a trailer that funny and all you focus on is the music, Drake? :) So happy to have you over here, by the way!

  18. Thank you Bella, I am relieved. When I first saw the post-title I thought…oh oh…she’s gonna take a stab at Weiner and his sexting exploits. Anyway, as it is not the case, of course we all love SEXY guys with a great sense of humor (sorry, but Devito and Woody are not eye candy) and dang! I have to admit that Weiner is plenty sexy from the neck on down!

    1. bwhahahah! Oh Rowena, you make me laugh! I’ve been following the “Weiner,” I mean, “Weiner” scandal closely. For shame! I really have to Google those neck down images you’re talking about, by the way! :)

  19. Definitely. I’ve always fallen for men’s senses of humor. I love a guy who can make me laugh. Conversely I’d want to make him laugh as well.

  20. I just saw this movie the day after you posted this. (Didn’t see your post.)

    I was actually surprised that the flim was as long as it was, and really exmplored a lot of themes. So many movies cut off at 90 minutes, and it’s frustrating! Everything is lightly brushed over.

    As for Vnce Vaughn, I like him, but I think the character in which he’s been cast has been done already. I’d like to see a little range (thinking Jim Carrey in Sunshine of the Spotless Mind).

    As for my comedic love, it’s Owen Wilson. That guy makes me laugh and laugh and the kids think it’s hilarious bc when I’m watching his film, there’s a smile on my face for the entirety of the film.

    1. Jennifer, I love Owen as well! I can’t wait to see him in “Midnight in Paris!” I’m a hard core Woody Allen fan, so imagine having Owen cast in the protagonistic role in Allen’s latest film. I’ve died and gone to heaven! :) Did you like “The Dilemma,” by the way?

    1. Oh please, I staked ownership on VInce, Antonio, and Javier long before you did! And no, I’m not willing to share! :) XOXO

Talk to me

