Unpacking and settling in

Good evening, everyone!

Like the Terminator, I’m back!

My second day here is almost coming to an end, and I’m exhausted.

Who would’ve thought unpacking and settling in could be so tiring?

So what am I doing in Spain?

Asides from my annual “womanhunt” for Javier Bardem, my Spanish mother insists the Daughter, the Son, and I join her during the summer.

And given she has an beach-front apartment, no one’s complaining.

Our days are spent laying in the sun, sitting on the balcony eating “churros,” and taking walks with Roxy.

The Significant Other, who hates the beach and the heat, has once again declined the opportunity to consume tapas and drink Spanish wine.

Yes, I know, he needs to have his head examined.

What can I say?

In any case, this leaves me with more time to search for Javier Bardem.

How are you spending your summer?

38 thoughts on “Unpacking and settling in

  1. I have absolutely no plans of real interest this summer, but am enjoying hearing about yours. It sounds amazing, but I understand being tired. Travel exhausts me. Thanks for posting and I hope you’re having a great time.

    1. June, thank you! Indeed traveling is exhausting. I’m glad there’s no jet lag involved! I’m looking forward to reading blog posts as I relax! :)

  2. Bella, how fabulous! And Roxy looks like a seasoned traveler. Enjoy your summer and time with family (sans Significant Other I suppose, but maybe he will visit at some point?)!!

    1. Heidi, this is Roxy’s second trip to Spain! Doesn’t she look cute in her Sherpa bag? :) I’m afraid the Significant Other will not be joining us. Oh well. His loss! :)

  3. I know what you mean about being exhausted. We just got home to Mexico and geez…I’m pooped! Traveling for a whole day really takes it out of you..not to mention all the other adjustments–culture, language, temperatures, food, bed, sights, and even just getting that darn smell of airplane fuel gone takes a chunk of time! Glad you have the sunshine to warm you in your transition!

    1. Brynne, you are so right! Fortunately, the transition has been quick and painless! Give me some more Spanish wine! :)

  4. I wish I was there too. I’ll take exhausted if I knew Spain was at the end of my exhaustion. Enjoy every moment. I am jealous and I’m not even hiding it. I was there once and I loved every minute of it.

  5. Glad you’re having a great holiday in Spain Bella. I’m doing more of the same here in Canada, only interrupted by two months of constant toothache, but whose counting?!?!!! I think 2011 will always be remembered as: “The Summer of the Toothache.” ‘The great offender’ as it has come to be known is supposed to be removed Monday, and if it’s not I’m going to commit myself…
    Enjoy time with the family and write in the sun! Take pictures, Elizabeth. Hug.

    1. Elizabeth, I’m so sorry you’re still in pain! My goodness, I would have thought the great offender would have exited the building already! Hopefully your recovery will be quick and painless. In the meantime, hugs for you!

  6. I’m glad Roxy was able to go with you. I was wondering who would care for her while you were away. I was going to ask but figured that would be too nosey. ;-) It’s nice you and your kids can have fun with your mom. Keep having fun.

    1. Paz, of course that wouldn’t be too nosey! Roxy is happy you thought of her! :) There’s no way I could leave my partner in crime. We’re a duo package! hee hee!

    1. Monica amiga, que tal? :) Now I know you would be an excellent candidate to help me search for Javier, as well as to help me wrestle him out of that Cruz woman’s arms. How about it? Are you in? :)

    2. I’m in! Ya vengo! We’ll search high and low and when we find him, if Penelope’s around, I’ll create a scene to distract her, while you steal him away! And won’t you then be tickled pink? tee-hee!

    3. Monica, you’re a trooper! Cuento contigo, hermana! Perhaps there is a Spanish actor that catches your fancy? We can work out a plan for him as well! :)

  7. Lucky little Roxy–she looks so happy in her valise. Assume you carried her on board? Was she good? I think we’d all love a relative with a beach-front house in Spain! Have fun!

    1. Jann, she’s such a sweetheart. The couple sitting in front of us were shocked when they saw her in her doggy bag. The woman said, “Do you mean to tell me that dog has been under my seat the entire time? I would have never have believed it!” And she was right. Not a peep from Miss Roxy. :) Grazie for your well wishes!

  8. I love the pink purse Behind Roxy. Cuteness! And yes, Roxy, you’re adorable too. “Muchas gracias,” she replies. =) Whattayamean he won’t go to Spain? What’s on his bucketlist? A table at Olive Garden and a walk in the park? Sheesh.

    1. Many thanks, Lori! Girl, the only thing on that man’s bucket list is…I haven’t a clue. That said, I think a table at Olive Garden and a walk in the park sounds just about right! hee hee! :)

  9. so nice to read you’ve arrived and enjoying some spanish wine and food!. Really, if you’re near the beach, the heat is not a problem for you!!
    And I will stay working on my air conditioned office and go to the beach every weekend (we’re living quite near the coast, just a half an hour drive!), all the summer time!
    besos

  10. Spain ..wowieee … another destination on my must see list ..maybe someday and who knows that someday might mean accompanying you on that porch sipping on some delectable wine and sharing amazing conversation ;)
    Your mami wouldn’t mind , would she .. I am a great cook too ..hahaha :D
    But really I am so happy for you Bella ..have a fantabulous summer with family..
    xoxo

    1. Priya, that sounds wonderful! As for my mother, she’s Spanish and as such, her mentality is, “the more, the merrier.” As for me, if you can cook, you’re in! hee hee!

  11. How lucky that your mom has a beachfront apartment!! I am absolutely envious of your sunbathing (even though I slather myself with sunblock and totally detest the heat) because sunbathing for me equates to vacationing. And I desperately need a vacation somewhere not here. hee hee hee. :) And seriously, what is wrong with your man? No to tapas and wine? WHAT? Tell him I can take his place. haha.

    1. Laura, and I’m sure you’d make a better companion! The Significant Other is a whiner when it comes to the beach. “I hate the heat.” “I can’t stand the sand.” “OMG, it’s so hot. I’m melting.” “I’m dehydrated.” “I’m getting a headache from the heat.” And so the saga continues. I usually just pack ear plugs when we head out on vacation together to a warm place. :)

  12. Sorry, but I have to agree with your Significant Other.
    i don’t like a beach and the heat either.
    Ok maybe the beach for an hour or so. haha!
    I like to sit in the shade with a coffee or a beer.
    Your Dog Roxy looks adorable she looks so relaxed in the bag.
    i wish I had one just like her. She’s so cute!

    1. Salsapete, you sound just like the Significant Other. I think he would enjoy the same endeavors! Roxy’s tickled pink you like her so much! :)

Talk to me

