Who’s leaving on a jet plane?

Good day, everyone!

My apologies for the lack of posts this past week, but the truth is I’ve wanted to spend quality time with my adult “kids” and mother before returning home.

The Daughter departed yesterday, and already I’m missing her like crazy.

I’ve spent the better part of my morning packing, cleaning, and organizing.

And I’ll confess I’ve been chugging cheap wine through the process because:
1) I don’t know when I’ll be able to drink tasty wine for less than a euro
2) I find it helps chores seem less burdensome
3) I don’t know when I’ll be able to drink tasty wine for less than a euro

I’m saddened at the thought that, in just a few hours, I’ll be leaving behind the beautiful beach my eyes have feasted on for the past two months.

The other day, this thought prompted me to “tweet” the following: “Two more days left of my vacation! What will I do without the sun, the beach, and the sound of ocean waves?”

A few minutes later, the wonderful lady behind the fantastic blog, “Little Black Dress Diaries” replied the following: “Make recording of waves, bag up some sand, take pictures of ocean and sun, buy beach scented room spray. Set up corner. Dream.”

Not only did her comment put a smile on my face, it made me realize that nothing is out of our reach.

While it may be true that it’s not always possible to be where we want and love to be, we can still dream; we can still use our fertile imaginations to “place ourselves at the scene” and recreate beautiful and wonderful memories.

I bid you all “hasta la vista.”

At this same time tomorrow, I’ll have returned to my little corner of the world, but will bring you more posts related to my amazing time here.

Adios, amigos!

46 thoughts on “Who’s leaving on a jet plane?

  1. We’ve loved every minute of your vacation in Spain. Such fun for us whose parents, alas, hail from exciting places like Vallejo, California. Sigh. Have a safe trip!

  2. You may have just inspired me. I’m cleaning my apartment and think that a glass of wine would help things along enormously! Safe travels lovely lady!

  3. Ah Bella, is it that time already? I wish you safe travel home, my friend. And I love the idea of bringing a bit of your vacation back. You can revisit anytime. Just this morning I was standing at the kitchen sink, the window was wide open, and the breeze brought in a scent that reminded me of my childhood in Texas. I felt like I had gone home.

    Thank you for sharing your summer with us.

    1. Heidi, how sweet the idea that Texas just waifted in your window! I love it! Now that I’m back, I can’t wait to comment on your posts properly! :) And it’s been on honor to share my summer escpades with such wonderful readers!

  4. The summer has gone so fast!
    And now its time to go back to the running of school days and crazier drivers all around.
    I know that you are going to miss your family and the wonderful ocean sunsets but they be there for you again sooner than you think.
    Carinos,

  5. I’m sure while I’m typing this comment you are on the plane returning home. I hope you have a safe flight. In the mean time I did exactly what you suggested. Leah form Lea thoughts posted pictures of the ocean, i bookmarked that page for when winter comes and I will be covered in snow I can always look at her pictures and think on sunny and worm ocean.

    1. Ariana, how wonderful! I have to jump over to Leah’s blog and do the same! Thank you for sharing the source! Have a great day! :)

  6. I’m still trying to soak in two months. You’ve been there for two months?? Where did the time go? Seems like yesterday you and Roxy were unpacking your bags!

    I agree with Kim. Thanks for taking us along! Tell your mom we all say goodbye and look forward to returning soon, ok? (I know you’ve already left by the time I’m writing this, but you can still tell her). Gracias por todo! ;)

    1. Monica, que dulce eres, amiga! I just spoke to my mother, relayed your message and she was overjoyed! She says the world is a better place because of sweet folk like you! Her words, literally! I can’t believe two months have gone by either. Isn’t it funny how the old you are, the faster time passes? Grief. Thank you for coming along my summer ride! :)

  7. Well look at you, giving me some bloggy love – you rock so much! I enjoyed your vacation, too! Made me go dig out my old Texas coastline sand and a beach scented spray!! I had a friend who created a zen sand garden with a miniature rake or tiny fork (supposedly you rake the sand and create designs in it, and it relaxes you). I love love love that pix of Roxy – it’s one of my favorites!

    1. Nan, I meant to reply to your “tweet” but the connection there was so slow! I thought the next best thing was to include it in my blog post! Thank you so much for your heartfelt words, which have served to remind me of the importance of dreaming but also inspired me to set up my own little beach corner! :) Roxy is tickled pink you like her mug! Oh, and I must search for that zen sand!

  8. I think you really enjoyed your holidays so much as possible, and this is the better thing you will remember of this summertime!, and we also enjoyed your holidays through your funny posts and pics!.
    wish you have a safe trip!
    besos

    1. Mrs. Allnut, I’ve arrived safely. Thank you for your kind words. I’m so happy you were with me as I made memories in Spain!

  9. Taking the beach home with you is a great idea! A few years ago, Pottery Barn sold bottles with corks that you could write someone name on, add a little sand, and make cute place cards with. I carried one with me to every place I went, and now I have a collection of 8 bottles of sand with the names of the beaches where they came from — Positano, Honolulu, Grand Cayman, Jamaica, etc.

    1. Grace, what a great idea! I think I’ll be stealing the idea just as soon as I find the appropriate little bottles! Thank you! :)

  10. Bella, you’ll have your daydreams of Spaniards in Speedos as solace when you’re back in the real world, Bella. Thanks for taking us along to Spain!!! Such fun!

    1. bwhahaha! Oh my goodness, Jann! Now those memories will surely crack me up! You’re very welcome! It’s been an honor to have all of you along! :)

  11. I hope you’ve reached home safe and sound and I echo everyone’s sentiments when I say yet again I’ve loved reading about your travels ..if I don’t take into consideration nightmares I’ve had on a/c of some speedo pics ;)

    I hope I can take some inspiration and make the Hawaii Chronicles every bit as interesting and vivid as I can now imagine the beaches of Spain :)
    Much love chica !

    1. Priya, thank you! I’m sure your Hawaii Chronicles will be just as interesting as your Belgium Chronicles! I’ve arrived home safely and am now in the process of unpacking! Argh! Much love to you, lady!

  12. Ohhh, the beach… I miss it so much, the sand, the waves… everything. The “make recordings of waves…” etc advice is a really good one, too. (And I agree with you, her blog is really awesome, I’ve been reading it for a while now, too).

    1. Sabrina, I miss the beach dreadfully and it’s only been a day since I’ve been back! However, I will try Nan’s suggestion and see if that helps ease the pain! :)

  13. Oh, yes. Nothing is out of our reach. I like that thought.

    So chugging wine helps with the chores? I’ve gotta try it or does it only work in Spain? ;-)

    Have a safe return home. Thanks for sharing your vacation with us. it was fun.
    Oh and don’t forget to bring Roxy back with you. ;-)

    1. Hello Paz! I’ve arrived safely, with Roxy in tow, of course! :) And I believe chugging wine will help make chores go by faster in any part of the world! hee hee!

Talk to me

