Who’d rather give up sex than coffee?

I know I’ve mentioned to all of you how much I enjoy drinking coffee.

What I haven’t confessed to you, is my obsession of taking photos of coffee every time I’m served a cup.

This obsession is one of the Significant Other’s greatest peeves.

His biggest complaints is that by the time I drink the coffee, it’s stone cold.

My biggest complaint about his complaint, is that this shouldn’t bother him since he’s not the one drinking my coffee.

But I digress.

Some time ago, reader Sandy Bodeau wrote the following comment in my “about” page (the one titled The One and Only Me):

“I almost stormed out of your blog when you said that you’d give sex up for coffee (the nerve! LOL), but I really like your blog :-”

My reply to Sandy?

“Sandy, I’m most serious about the fact! There’s nothing, and I mean nothing, that would make me give up coffee! Not even sex! hee hee! Well, if it was sex with Javier Bardem, I might reconsider! :)”

So is sex with Javier Bardem the only thing that would make me give up coffee?

The jury’s still out…for the moment.

However, I do know that my relationship with coffee is a serious one.

If for any reason I don’t have time to ingest my early morning java, I quickly go into caffeine withdrawal; as in, my head starts pounding, I become lethargic, and my brain turns to mush.

Hence, I’ve come to accept that drinking coffee is a necessary addiction.

After all, how else can I be functional if not for my required two cups of early morning coffee?

However, drinking coffee is not just a survival strategy, it’s also a pleasurable activity.

I can’t think of anything cozier than wrapping my fingers around a coffee cup while I curl up in Marcelo, my favorite chair.

And drinking Italian espresso at my favorite coffee shop? Simply sublime.

To add to the enjoyment, is the beautiful way coffee is served; the beautiful cups, the little serving tray, and even the spoon, all inspire me capture a “coffee moment.”

I’ve become so accustomed to capturing shots of my coffee, that I find myself accomplishing this feat in less time that it takes the Significant Other to open his sugar packet.

As a result, he barely has time to say, “You’re not Cartier Bresson, so would you drink your coffee already?”

Well, I may not be Cartier Bresson, but I bet he didn’t have as much fun taking coffee photos as I do.

As for, would I give up coffee for sex with Javier?

I’ve made up my mind and my answer is:

Sorry my Spanish lover in another life. No can do. While passionate sex with you might be fleeting, my love affair with coffee will last till the day I croak.

If you’re a coffee drinker, what would you be willing to give up for coffee?

68 thoughts on “Who’d rather give up sex than coffee?

    1. Kelly, I feel your pain. I experienced hurricane George, one of the worst, and I remember being without power for a month. I was living in the Caribbean at the time. I have never had so many headaches as during that time! I hope all is back to normal with you! :)

  1. I have to confess Bella, as much as I love my coffee, I could only drink one cup a day early in the morning and to give up Sex for it, or noooooooooooo!!!

    1. Ariana, only one cup a day? Although with that meager consumption, I can understand why you’re not willing to give up sex! hee hee! :)

  2. I don’t drink coffee but I love the smell of it. Reminds me of Sunday mornings I spent eating my grandmother’s homemade biscuits and jams.

    Hubby need not get in the way of your passions. I like your photography, so I can appreciate a good cup of coffee in that way. Besides, who knows how your passions will materialize.

    1. Totsy, you’re spot on about coffee’s aroma! I too remember drinking coffee with my nana when I was very young. Latina mothers think nothing of giving their young coffee and so, the smell of coffee signalled that we were to present ourselves to the kitchen for its consumption with bread and butter. Thanks for triggering that memory! I’m delighted you like my photos! Merci! :)

  3. I must confess, I’m not a big coffee drinker. Just on occasion, so it would be no big deal to give it up. However, I must say, your photos make a good case for it. Quite beautiful, in fact. So maybe create a coffee table book with best of your coffee pix? Now that would be cool!

    1. Monica, it’s funny you mention that because just this morning my sister was telling me it would be a good idea to have coffee photos bound book style! I like the idea! You don’t like coffee, sister? What kind of Latina are you, woman? I thought you too were bottle fed java! hee hee! :)

  4. Mmm, coffee. I WAS a chronic coffee drinker when I was still in school. I could down so many cups, it’s not even funny. At one point, I drank coffee to put me to sleep. Now, even just half a cup sends me over the edge and makes me super jittery.

    Your coffee pictures are tempting me to go make a cup. And I’m not talking about the kind that you get from the grocery store and brew in the coffee maker either. I’m talking about percolated or french pressed, freshly-ground coffee beans. I prefer Kona over anything, but a sweet, light roast bean will usually make me smile.

    I don’t know if I could give up sex for coffee. I don’t know if I can give up anything for anything. It may be my lack of focused passion :) haha.

    1. Laura, your comment reminded me of my college days when only coffee had the power to keep me awake and get me through the day. Ah, now those were the days! I smile at the thought that simply having a coffee cup in your hand as you walked from class somehow made one seem cooler! :) I love my coffee press! I have a Bodum which I call my miracle maker. However, I’m now addicted to my Italian mocha pot. It makes unbelievable java!

  5. –Bella,
    How Glorious that you take photos of your coffee. And the cups are devine & beautiful with the fluffy foam on top! I loooooove that idea. I shall steal it.
    Do you know what is Simply sublime? YOU xx

    1. Kim, how I love you, girl! You’re good for the soul, as my nana would say! I think it would be fantastic for you to do your own coffee post! How fabulous! By all means, run with it! I’ll be the first one at your blog! :) And for the record, you’re super sublime! :)

  6. I don’t drink coffee every day, so I think I could give it up if I had to, but I do love the cafe experience. And I adore your photos. I think the coffee table book is a perfect idea.

    1. Shary, thank you! I’m delighted you like the photos! I’m really liking the idea of the coffee book! Thanks for the encouragement! :)

  7. Your coffee photographs are lovely. When I traveled in Europe it was a pleasant surprise to find that coffee is not served in a papercup and plastic lid. You get a cup.. and a saucer… and a spoon. It’s so civilized!

    I might consider giving up coffee if my life were in danger. Say a doctor told me that I’d be a goner in months unless I gave up coffee. At which point I’d ask for medical journals and a second opinion.

    1. Eden, a second opinion and medical journals! You crack me up! I think I would give up coffee if the good doctor told me I’d be a goner if I didn’t give it up. I love my kids that much! But that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t be miserable. And sad. Very sad. I mean, what kind of life would that be? I think I want the medical journals and a third opinion! hee hee! :)

    1. Oh Corinne, now you must take that photo for me, please! How wonderful to see a different way of brewing coffee! Thank you! :)

  8. While I do enjoy my coffee (usually it’s Nescafe with sugar, no milk, and some cinnamon), I’d sooner give up coffee than sex. Sometimes I even did have to give up coffee, when my body decided it had way to much caffeine and was giving me a lot of trouble because of it. It’s harder to wake up without caffeine, but I can work half-asleep if I must.

    Buy the way, if it’s caffeine your body needs, have you tried energy drinks? I know, no wonderful smell of coffee, no pretty cups and something to take a picture of, just a sugary taste and a lot of caffeine. :)

    1. Ivana, I have tried energy drinks and they are horrible! No Red Bull for me, thank you very much! Besides, no pretty cups, no cupping my hands around a warm cup, no delicious aroma? It’s too painful to even think about it! But thanks for the suggestion! :)

  9. Soooo there with you!! Life is not worth living with coffee. My Keurig coffee maker broke down and I am dying. I have to actually use a filter and ground coffee and pour the water and WAIT for my morning cup. Need to replace that thing. I love your photos!!

    You crack me up but part of why it so funny is that it’s HONEST! :-)

    1. Oh my goodness, Michael Ann, I’m so glad you can read the honesty of my words cause I mean every single one of them! Seriously, I began drinking coffee when I was just a girl and it’s been my best friend since forever. I can honestly say it’s been one of the few constants in my life! My sister and I joke that it’s the elixir of the gods! Please replace your Keurig, stat! Have you considered a French press? I recommend the Bodum!

  10. I’m with you. If I still get to live with JP, but it’s either sex or coffee, coffee wins!! And that’s no reflection on his, ahem, abilities. Coffee is every day till I die. Sex is not. And that’s not why I love JP. So I’d like my coffee, please, piping hot and pass the cream! =) LOVE your coffee photos. I may need to copy this wonderful habit.

    1. bwhahaha! Lori, you ALWAYS make me laugh! Thank you for that! I’m not sure JP shares in your way of thinking! The Significant Other thinks I’m crazy and insists that he “knows” I’m just kidding. Yeah, right. But, whatever helps him sleep at night! hee hee! I think it would be great for you to take up this little hobby of mine! All us ladies who share in this compulsion could then select a day to post our coffee shots! Now that would be great! A “Coffee Day” post! Lets start a revolution! :)

  11. I’ve already had my coffee this morning but your beautiful photos make me want another cup. I have to admit I have an intense relationship with my Nespresso coffee maker. Bliss.

    1. Kate, hello and welcome! My sister has a love affair with her Nespresso coffee maker as well! :) At one time I considered buying one but then I got a visual of George Clooney, of which I’m not a fan. That ruined it for me and I never got one. However, had Javier Bardem been the face of Nespresso, it would have been a whole different story! Sigh. hee hee! :)

  12. I love these photos! One of my favorite Mexico trip photos involves a cup of coffee.

    I too am in love with my coffee (you can see why Girl Parker, Eden, and I made such fantastic roomies :) )

    1. Amber, muchas gracias, chica! I would’ve loved to be roomies with you ladies! Oh my goodness, what fun! Can you imagine the coffee runs? We’d never be home to get anything done! :)

    2. Bella, you make an awesome honorary roomie. I love your idea of starting a coffee photo revolution. Give us a date and time, and the four “roomies” can post our coffee cup of the day!

    3. Eden, you’re on! I think this will be brilliant revolution! How about we establish Sunday or Monday as the day to post a shot of our coffee cup of the day? You don’t have to be at a coffee shop, or bakery, or Starbucks. You can be in the comfort of your own home or at a neighbors. I say we invite more of the sisterhood to join my honorary status. What say you? Shall I prepare a short post tomorrow inviting anyone interested to post a coffee photo on their blog? Let me know! Now you’ve got me all riled up and will not find peace until I have some resolution! :) Ideas for the coffee blog post event?

  13. When I need coffee, I need coffee. Period. It makes morning sex (when I need coffee, I need coffee) so much less fun. Caffeinate me, please! Then I’m ready.

    I love your pictures and how you weigh out the particulars of your “addiction.” Thanks for the chuckle!

    1. bwhahahaha! Caffeinate me, please! Indeed, Ms. June! You had the Signficant Other chuckling out loud! Thank you for your ever kind words. You’re a good friend, June! :)

  14. Yes, Bella, coffee is a MAJOR reason to live. I even love decaf–for me it’s as much the taste and aroma as the buzz. The best way to drink coffee is while people-watching in a great cafe.

    1. Jann, I couldn’t agree with you more! Coffee drinking and people watching is a match made in heaven! I love it! The Significant Other and I make it a point to go out for coffee at least twice in the week. It’s our special time together and a great opportunity to take in the scene! :)

  15. After all, what’s the point of sex if you can’t be awake to enjoy it, right?

    (I’m joking… I’m not a big coffee drinker myself, but I am a pretty big fan of sex.)

    1. Now that definitely made me laugh! :) Don’t forget you need coffee to stay awake during sex! hee hee! Another reason to convert!

  16. I’m with you Bella, have to have the coffee. A few months ago I purchased one of the Keurig type coffee makers and LOVE it because each cup of coffee comes out perfectly. All Summer long they had a type called ‘Sweet Raspberry’ which is absolutely wonderful, and then of course Irish Cream is a long time favourite. It would of course be nice to have both things, but we can’t always get what we want!

    1. Elizabeth, isn’t it a shame we can’t always get what we want? :) I’ve heard a lot about the Keurig type coffee makers–all of it good. I’m going to have to check them out! Because who doesn’t love a perfect cup of coffee! Thank you for the tip, Elizabeth! And may I say I swooned at the thought of sweet raspberry? :)

  17. I love coffee but I am not addicted to it, so I can’t even answer this question with no lingering doubts. Plus, what if Jason Bourne, Captain America, Gladiator, Damon Salvatore, etc., etc. happened to land in my love nest? I couldn’t just dismiss the occasion by offering them a cup of coffee, now could I?

    1. Rowena, a cup of coffee would make a great addition to whatever you were offering these gentleman callers! hee hee! And besides, I thought I read somewhere that coffee was an aphrodisiac! :)

    2. I’ve heard something different about coffee… My mother told me, when she was much younger, their chief conductor had told them (the choir) that coffee was a great contraceptive. Of course, they being young people and all, they had immediately started asking how, when, before of after, and he calmly replied: “Instead.” :)

  18. As always, you are one clever word dervish! Coffee or sex, you ask? No question! If I don’t have my daily cup of coffee I get a blinding, crushing. dastardly headache which hovers over me until I finally procure the missed cup. No such side effect with missed sex…

    1. bwhahaha! Cathy, you are a riot! I hear you and second you in the no side effects reaction to not engaging in sex! More reason for us to pick the java, don’t you think? :)

  19. I tried giving up caffeine a month ago. No reason other than thinking it would be good for me to switch to herb tea. My abstinence last 12 hours. I totally forgot I had given it up. A friend pinged me and suggested we go for a cup of joe, and just like I fall for a lanky man, I was sipping the dark elixir and chatting away. Two hours after the sipping the steamy brew I remembered I had given up caffeine. Oh well, somethings are just not meant to be.

    1. Brenda girl, and java would most definitely be one of those meant to be things! I’m not willing to give it up or substitute it for anyone or anything! Holler if you’re with me! :)

  20. Was this post made for me or what, darling? :)

    Your pictures are fantastic – and I consider myself a connoisseur at this point! Apparently, you appreciate a good lookin’ brew when you see one and a well-designed cup and you get along with your camera . . . . sigh. I always knew you were a woman of many talents!

    Oh, and I’ll have a little la-di-da just looking at those pics, thankyouverymuch. No SO necessary.

    1. Jayca, I absolutely thought of you as I was uploading my coffee pics! I’m truly honored that you like my shots! Color me tickled pink! Thank you from the bottom of my heart! I’m doing the happy dance as we speak! :)

    1. Nancy, do not make me rethink my position. I’ve chosen coffee and that’s final. I think. I mean, Javier Bardem’s bringing me coffee? I mean, I don’t know. I guess I could make an exception…No! Bad Nancy! I’m sticking by coffee! No matter how tempting your suggestion might be! hee hee! Thanks for the laugh, Nancy! :)

  21. As much as I love coffee I’m pretty content with my morning cuppa and that is an absolute must .. but more than my love for coffee is my love for making coffee for everyone .. and at the risk of sounding modest – I make the most DELICIOSO cappuchino :D

    1. Priya, I totally believe you when you say you make the most delicioso capuccino! My sister is just like you–she loves making coffee for the family. As a matter of fact, we’ve come to expect it! :)

  22. Is this even a real question? COFFEE! I can’t live without it. Really. I’ve tried. And recently, I started on the afternoon cup consumption. OMG, I had no idea what I was missing all these years! I now understand why people have the afternoon cup. My life is forever changed.

    1. Leah, you’ve made me chuckle! I’m so glad you’ve been introduced to the wonders of an afternoon cup of coffee! It’s never too late to see the light! hee hee! Here’s to coffee! :)

  23. Can a blog post be aromatic? Yours is! MMMmmmmm. I have been drinking coffee since I was 16 and love, not just coffee, but the experience of coffee. My husband used to tease me that coffee is just my security blanket; I don’t actually drinkt it, just tote it around the house from room to room! As I sit with my fingers curled not around the handle but the cup itself, I think he might be right! I now only drink a cup or two a day but could NEVER give it up entirely. Giving up alcohol duriing my pregnancies and breastfeeding days was easier than coffee – and I’ll admit if any one of my kids grows up to have a penchant for VanHoute coffee, it’s probably because I cheated a little ;o
    Can a blog post reply be audible? This one is… hear that? It’s my latte spewing its froth :)

    1. Astra, thank you for enhancing this blog post like only you can! Like you, I was unable to give up coffee during pregnancy and felt guilty all the time. But did that make me give up coffee? Absolutely not! I figured it could only make the little one feisty, energetic and ready to go at a moment’s notice! :) Thank you for your kind words regarding this post! You’ve made my day!

    1. Val, you hip sister, you! So happy to read you’re another coffee lover! I love machiattos too, but not the skinny kind! hee hee! Thanks for dropping by! :)

Talk to me

