What does Roxy believe?

This evening, as I tiredly rubbed my eyes, I looked at Roxy and said, “Mama needs to rest.”

Roxy looked at my attentively, cocked her head to the side, and sighed.

I kid you not!

I heard her take a deep, little breath which sounded like a sigh!

I tapped the Son on the shoulder, indicated he should remove his ear buds and said, “I just told Roxy I need to rest and she sighed.”

He waved me off impatiently and said, “Mom, Roxy didn’t sigh. She’s a dog. D-O-G. How many times have we been through this? Dogs don’t sigh. You keep thinking she’s a human, but she’s not.”

I held a finger to my lips and said, “Shhh. She can hear you!”

The Son reinserted his ear buds, muttering, “I so need to get my own place.”

Roxy’s reaction made me think of the many times she’s acted like a little person; times I’ve been able to photograph.

The captures I’m about to share with you, I believe, are evidence that Roxy may think she’s a person.

Or perhaps I’m losing my mind.

I’ll let you be the judge.

Patiently waiting for the bus
Exhibiting curiosity to her surroundings
Standing at the window
Trying to listen behind a closed door
Sitting up to listen
Sunbathing

Do you think Roxy believes she’s human?

Disclaimer: This post has been written for humorous purposes only. I don’t really think that Roxy believes she’s a person.

Or do I?

45 thoughts on “What does Roxy believe?

  1. Hi Bella, Roxie knows she’s human except she has a great life because she doesn’t have to work or go to school.
    I am stopping by to award you the Liebster blog Award! Please come by The Garden Gate to pick it up and Congratulations friend.

    1. Elizabeth, the part about Roxy not having to go to work or school made me laugh because the Significant Other says the same thing! :) I’ve been by your blog to thank you and tell you how honored I am. Thank you, friend. I am truly honored to be on your top five list! Thanks for making my night! :)

    1. Kim, you are the sweetest! Thank you for your sweet words! Roxy is cute as a button and she’s so well behaved! I’m sure if you met her, you’d want to take her home with you! :)

    1. Monica, you rock! Little Roxy is a sage and it’s too bad she can’t talk, or I’d have my own personal free therapist! :) Henry is a sweetheart! Big kisses to him from Roxy!

  2. It does happen that cats or dogs or other animals living with humans – and growing up with humans – see themselves as humans, or at least act as if they see themsleves that way.

    The opposite happens too. People constantly remark on some of my manners being catlike, so I can’t help but wander if people tell you that you do this or that the same way Roxy does. :)

    1. Shary, absolutely! Roxy is extremely attentive to my moods, feelings and emotions. I’m sure Lola is the same way. I wish I could be a good a listener as Roxy! :)

  3. Bella, I totally understand. I have 3 cats and we interact with them like we would children. (Apart from the petting, that would just be weird) but really!!! my cats are human, I tell you. they know. and they talk. sometimes they talk about me when my back is turned to them!

    1. Laura, I know the feeling you describe all too clearly. Not because of Roxy, who’s a saint, but because my sister has two cats that I could swear, plot my demise whenever I visit. I’ve never been a cat lover and have verbally expressed as much, in front of the cats. Well, this appears to not have sat well with the feline balls of fur and as a result, I’ve been scratched, hissed at, and stepped on. Those cats are like mean girls in high school! :)

    1. Lori, I don’t know if Roxy’s wardrobe is better than yours, but I do know it’s better than mine! Girlfriend has rain coats, winter coats, baby tees and even a tutu! :)

    1. Lady, I’ll have you know that many pets have Facebook pages! So it’s only fair Bobb has one! Does he have a blog too? I’ve been considering starting Roxy’s blog soon! :)

  4. Uh yes, she believes she’s human. As does my beagle mix whom I swear is judging me most of the time. Roxy is a cutie! I love dogs. They are a never-ending source of entertainment.

    1. Leah, I’m with you one hundred percent. Just last night, actually it was past midnight, Roxy spent a goo ten minutes running back and forth and chasing her tail. Suffice to say we the Significant Other and I laughed the entire time! :)

  5. lady, I think she’s a pretty dog and she’s wonderful being so fabulous doggy!, and I agree with you: dogs can sigh, and have nightmares!, lovely dogs make our lives more interesting!!
    (love your coffee post revolution, so funny!!!)
    besos

    1. Señora Allnut, thank you for your lovely words! Indeed, dogs make our lives so much more interesting. There isn’t a day that goes by that Roxy doesn’t make me laugh, or do something that makes me wonder, “How’d she do that?” :)

  6. Roxy, surely is cute! I do believe they sigh and roll their eyes when we act silly. It has been raining for the past couple of days in my neck of the woods and the other day, my friend told me that his dog, who is old and suffering the effects of his age, sighed when he took him for a walk in the rain. ;-)

    1. Oh Paz, it’s good to know other doggies sigh! hee hee! I had to smile at the thought of that puppy dog sighing at the thought of having to go out in the rain! How cute is that! :) Roxy is tickled pink you think she’s cute!

  7. Roxy has personality for sure. Does she think she’s human? Hanging out with such a delightful and charming (what does she call you, Bella?) owner, one who pays attention to her every sigh, would certainly lead a pet as beloved as Roxy to become more human – like ;-)
    My dog has his own character traits that transcend ordinary dogginess. He taps his tail in rhythm to the music, barks a certain bark when my car pulls in the driveway… pets are just amazing creatures. Period.

    1. Debra, I couldn’t have said it better myself! Pets are amazing! Seriously, I don’t know where I would be without Roxy. She’s a faithful companion who keeps me in stitches all day long! Thank you for your kind words, Debra! :)

    1. MCatherine, I am honored! Thank you so much! I dropped by your blog and left a comment. I feel it’s wonderful to be recognized by fellow bloggers. Merci! :)

    1. Kirstin Marie, I’m glad I’m not alone in conversing with my pet! Roxy’s my confidante! I’m glad girlfriend can’t talk and hence, my little secrets are safe! hee hee! :)

  8. Well I can tell you that my two sigh all the time, as in ‘when is she gonna wake up and feed us breakfast?’ Big sigh. ‘Why can’t she understand that I wanna take a nap and NO, I do not want my nails to be clipped right now?’ HUGE sigh. The westie also hates it if we continue to talk when we are all tucked into bed. If we start having a discussion she’ll just let out this low grrrrr, followed by a disgusted sigh. Geez…no respect in this family.

    1. bwhahaha! Rowena, you ALWAYS tickle my funny bone! I can just see those amazing puppy dogs of your sighing! I don’t know which one would be cuter! Do they both sleep in bed with you? Roxy’s not allowed on the furniture or the bed. House rules! :)

  9. Oh Bella,

    I had tears in my eyes from laughing so hard when I finished this. I do not think your crazy as my cat Simba has a similar problem. The thing is its all my fault.

    When he was a kitten I used to tell him all the time that if he wanted to he could talk. If he talked we would be RICH and i would buy him the biggest and best cat house ever and only feed him fish. I refused to accept his vocal limitations and shamelessy urged and chided him on…. Now, the damn cat speaks, or meows if you prefer, CONSTANTLY. He shamelessly intrudes on our conversations in an attempt to make himself understood lmao amongst other uncatlike behaviors.

    My conclusion? He is a reincarnated human thwarted by his feline limitations and only I can see the truth. Ha ha ha ha.

    1. Coco, you have skills of your own, sister! That is one enlightened conclusion and I’m lovin’ it! Simba sounds like my kind of cat, and I don’t even like cats! Your kitty sounds like he’s just a little bit spoiled. Roxy would say, “Ahuh.” hee hee! :)

Talk to me

