Is what you see, what you get?

If you’ve ever wondered if appearances can be deceiving, then wonder no more.

Why?

Cause I’m about to give you proof that this is so.

This morning, as Roxy and I crossed the street, we encountered a lady pushing an empty stroller.

Or so we thought, until closer inspection allowed us to catch a glimpse of a tiny dog sitting in the bottom compartment.

I was smitten but Roxy, tired after a long walk, just sat on the sidewalk waiting for me to finish cooing.

I quickly pulled out my camera and asked the owner if I could take a photo of our furry friend.

She readily agreed but warned, “But be careful. He’s a mean one that bites.”

I thought, this little itty bitty thing; so tiny I could put him in my pocket? Nah!

This shot allows you to see what mislead me to believe he was just a small pocketful of sunshine.

But this shot shows you what happened when I came in for a second shot.

Yes, folks, appearances can be deceiving.

One minute you think you’re looking at a cute ball of fur and the next, you’re being attacked by something that resembles a rabid Gremlin.

Methinks he’s spent too much time in that stroller.

Who knows.

In any case, after having witnessed these photos, I think we can readily admit that sometimes, what you see is not necessarily what you get.

Today I’m linking up with Heidi’s Black and White Wednesday.

Have a good one!

Black and White Wednesday

60 thoughts on “Is what you see, what you get?

  1. A rabid Gremlin; that right there just made me laugh out loud!
    Nice post. You bring up a great point – appearances aren’t everything. Just because something or someone appears to to be one way on the outside, doesn’t mean their personality reflects that.

    1. Natasha, hello and welcome! Seriously, he looked just like a gremlin; a mean one! hee hee! And of course, you’re right–the outer shell doesn’t always mimic what’s on the inside.

    1. Shary, absolutely! Roxy being tiny herself, often encounters tiny Chihuahas that yap more than a large dog! Incredible how feisty they are! :)

    1. I agree. The little ones can be vicious. Kinda reminds me of what they say about men with the Napolean Complex. You can snap all the shots you want Bella but I would’ve been outta there.

    2. bwhahaha! Totsy, you are so funny! The little ones do pack a punch! The Napoleon Complex, I believe, also applies to the small furry friends. He barred his little fangs like one of the Twilight vampires! Scary! :)

  2. Bella, these are hilarious! That little dog definitely looks like a spoiled jerk in that second photo, you’re right, too much time in the stroller!

    Are you sure you linked up? I don’t see your thumbnail in the collection over at my place!

    1. Heidi, I’m so glad you like them! He was a fighter, I’ll give him that much! I’ve linked up now, friend. God, I need coffee! :)

    1. Annie, what I want to know is why he’s in a stroller in the first place! :) But isn’t he cute? In the first photo, of course!

  3. Looks like he’s telling you “get my good side!”. When I visited San Francisco this summer, I got to people-watch from an outdoor terrace in Union Sq. A well-dressed women walked by with a doll stroller and I thought – “”to each her own!” Of course she was taking her pooch for a walk, not a doll.

    1. Astra, bwhahahaha! Good side, indeed! I’ve actually photographed people with their dogs in strollers. I think unless the pet has a disability, it’s insane. Seriously! But, like you expressed so beautifully, to each her own!

  4. We had a tom cat who would do that. He’d rub against someone’s ankles, mewing piteously, then, when they reached down to pet him, he would claw their arms or hand or whatever was closest.
    After the third time he attacked my youngest daughter, he ‘went somewhere else to live’.
    I definitely like to know what’s inside the cute, furry package!
    Great post.
    And food for thought – in people as well as animals!

    1. Diane, too right you are, lady. This totally applies to people as well as animals! Gosh I’m glad that tom cat went to live somewhere else. Bad kitty! :) I’m never been a cat person but my sister, who loves them, insisted we have a cat growing up. His name was Butterball and he clawed the heck out of me all the time. I think he definitely knew I didn’t like him! :)

  5. Oh yes, appearances can be sooo deceiving… At first. But somehow, once you get to know someone (furry or not), it’s amazing how the appearance matches the personality — and how your own perception of the said appearance changes.

    I remember this guy I went to elementary school with, we were going to the same school but were not in the same class, we never said a word to each other there, and I thought he looked unpleasant. As if he was always frowning and always angry, with his werewolf-like eyebrows. Then it happened that we went to the same high school and were in the same class, I discovered he wasn’t unpleasant at all, and, even though he didn’t physically change that much, he no longer looked unpleasant either.

    1. Ivana, you’re right–as we like a person more, even their appearance changes in our eyes. I’m not sure why that happens, but it has happened to me before. I think the person just “grows on you.” Deceiving appearances can be true of those who look unfriendly but are and those who appear to be, but really aren’t. Life sure is complicated!

  6. I love the photos! Mija, I’ve been out of town, out of commission, so am now catching up.

    You are so right. The first one, you think, such an adorable little dog. The second, watch out! He’s got killer fangs! Btw, this link up thing is intriguing to me. How do you go about it, when do you decide? I’ve never done it and am starting to feel left out, like I’m missing the boat, if you will.

    1. Girl, so glad you’re back! I missed you! I almost left a comment on your blog saying, “Lady, where you at?” hee hee! Monica, you should have seen the incisors on this tiny beast! Scary, I tell you! Heidi hosts the Black and White link up every Wednesday. All you have to do is visit her blog, click on the link tool and add your blog entry to the list. Easy peasy! All black and white photos are welcome. Corinne, from Everyday Gyann, also participates in the Tuesday YouTube link up and the Simple Moment of the week which is featured on Fridays. Click on both of these blogs and you’ll be able to see them.

    1. Adrienne, hello and weclome! It’s time like these that I wish I had one of those fancy cameras with a tele lens! You can capture the shot, and not run the risk of getting bit! :)

    1. Amber, I didn’t see it from that perspective, but yes, I can see why we would sometimes feel like this tiny dog. Thanks for pointing that out!

    1. Debcee, it is scary! You should have seen how fast his personality change took effect. It came out of left field and almost resulted in my dropping the camera! :)

    1. Jann, I’m delighted you noticed! When this spectacle took place, Roxy had this horrified look on her face that said, “Well I never!” hee hee! :)

  7. Sooooo, after MUCH twitter ado, I realize Eden thinks I resemble the wee puffball in size and attitude. Size, yes. Bark, ahem, yes. Furry cuddliness? Well, I’ll go with the cuddly part. ha! Thanks for the fun.

    1. Aha! So we finally decode Eden’s message! I have to admit to having joined the Twitter fest late in the game–damn the time difference! But I did have a giggle reading the tweets! And yes, methinks you might resemble the tiny ball of fur in “feistyness” and go get ’em attitude! :)

  8. LOL! One of my dogs was like that — cute-looking but when she opened her mouth, she roared like a lion and people would jump back 100 feet. Heh heh heh!

  9. OOOOOOO, Bella,

    –Can’t help but smile at that little creep! Perhaps she was angry that you did not take a photo of her good side.

    Xx Kisses.

    Ps. btw, talk about first impressions….once when I saw this cute little monkey, I asked if I could pet him…When I did, he grabbed my finger in his mouth and wouldn’t let go. He was NO longer cute to me after that…

    1. Kim, you were a brave person to stick your finger in that little monkey’s mouth! Oh my goodness! But yes, the little gremlin did have his charm, even if he was showing Roxy and me his tiny teeth! Kisses! :)

    1. bwhahahaha! Oh Ariana, you make me laugh! Maybe we are, and maybe we aren’t, but there’s beauty to extending a topic to other realms, right? :) Seriously though, I think that the saying that “appearances can be deceiving” applies to many things. For example, I’ve gone out with beautiful men who have turned out to be meatheads. You see what I mean? hee hee! :)

    1. Kirstin Marie, I’m delighted you like the photos! The little one is definitely cute but mean! I love that I was able to capture him as he came at me open-mouthed! :)

    1. Girlie, you hit the nail on the head! This little terror does resemble Rocco! Now why didn’t I think of that? Everybody, meet my niece, Bibi! Love you, girl! :)

Talk to me

