Does coffee induce dreaming?

As I glanced at the alarm clock for the tenth time, I knew I had to admit defeat.

Insomnia had triumphed once again.

The Significant Other, in his forever “fix it” mode, gently suggested, “Maybe some warm milk might help?”

Warm milk, my ass.

The only thing capable of soothing my frayed nerves was coffee; the kind that makes your taste buds go into shock.

Yes, coffee was the cure.

After all, it wasn’t like I had to worry about the caffeine keeping me awake.

Slipping on my robe, I made the descent to the first floor noticing how, as I exhaled, I could literally see my breath.

Entering this part of the house always felt like entering another part of the world.

My tiny space heater, Leroy, turned off for the night, was not producing his usual magic of warming the living room.

I powered Leroy on before stepping into the kitchen.

Five minutes later, inhaling the heavenly aroma of my java, I reentered the room cradling my hot cup.

Amazingly, Leroy had done a fine job and already the space where I usually sit was warm.

I glanced out the window and noticed how everything was still cloaked in a mantle of snow.

The silence was interrupted by a bird’s chirping.

I wondered why it wasn’t asleep like everyone else.

As I took in Leroy’s warmth, I felt myself relaxing and I closed my eyes.

My surroundings were once again shrouded in silence; silence that beckoned me to dream.

I found myself dreaming of…

~The villa in Tuscany I hope to one day own, with its white washed walls, long corridors, and olive trees planted in the garden.

~The Italian espresso I plan to drink as I sit on the deck that overlooks the olive trees planted in the garden.

~The olive oil I plan to press from the thousands of olives I will pick from the olive trees planted in the garden.

~The chunks of crusty bread I plan to dip in olive oil that I will make from the olive trees planted in the garden.

~ The books I hope to read as I sit under the shade of the olive trees planted in the garden.

~The many times I will chase Roxy as she swiftly circles the olive trees planted in the garden.

~The spaghetti all’olio I plan to eat using the olive oil from the olive trees planted in the garden.

~The stars I hope to gaze upon as I peer through the branches of the olive trees planted in the garden.

~The grandchildren I hope to rock to sleep as the breeze ruffles the leaves of the olive trees planted in the garden.

The Significant Other nudges my shoulder and awakens me from my reverie.

“Coffee? You have insomnia and you’re drinking coffee? I said warm milk, not coffee.”

“Does warm milk allow me to dream of the olive trees planted in the garden?”

Brushing off his confused stare, I march up the stairs.

This time, determined to get some sleep.

Dear reader, what are you dreaming of today?

Today I’m linking up with Heidi’s Black and White Wednesday.

Black and White Wednesday

56 thoughts on “Does coffee induce dreaming?

  1. Insomnia is frustrating, but sometimes I get good ideas in the middle of the night. Garden plans, character ideas, plot twists. Last night, though, all I could think of was everything I forgot to do yesterday. And today I’m too tired to catch up. I’d much rather have a coffee induced vision of a Tuscan paradise.

    1. Shary, you’re so right, my friend–insomnia can be a blessing for a writer. At times your muse just wants to stay up late and there’s nothing to do but indulge him or her. Sadly, there’s a twist and that’s to dwell and what you should’ve done but didn’t do, like you mention. And that depresses me. Perhaps this is why dreaming comes so easily when I have insomnia! :)

  2. Bella, when I used to drink copious amounts of coffee, coffee was the only thing that put me to sleep. Then I would dream of being a tenured (but still very young) professor in a prestigious university. :) TOday, I’m dreaming I have a job I want to go to. For realsies.

    1. Laura, I have a friend named Linda who says that she can’t get to sleep if she doesn’t drink a cup of coffee right before bedtime. So I get what you’re saying. I belive it’s all part of our habitual routine. Hang in there, friend. You shall get the job of your dreams soon enough. I know it! :)

  3. Oh Bella , this post had me dreaming all right ..but I was transported back to Brugge where you can sip on coffee and feel you’re living the dream ,with wide open eyes .. an unforgettable experience !
    P.S My nana has the exact same thing to say ..in fact she scolded me this morning for not having warm milk last night before going to bed because I was complaining of insomnia .. lol :D !!

    1. Priya, perhaps your nana is related to the Signficant Other? hee hee! Oh woman, you have to return to Brugge! What a magical place! I’m so happy you were able to experience it’s lovely streets and fairy tale magic. Here’s to you experiencing it for a second time soon! :)

  4. Oh, Bella, I hate when that happens and insomnia hits. And what was Roxy doing throughout all this? I find what relaxes me and lulls me into a comfy sleep is when Henry curls up by my side and I can feel his warm fur next to me. Somehow, I don’t mind it when he snores.

    I love your dreams. I hope to one day see Tuscany.

    1. Lady, would you believe Roxy stayed in her “beddy” and didn’t saunter out to see what was wrong? She’s a little sleepyhead and at five o’clock in the morning, in the freezing cold, I can’t blame her. I’m glad Henry is such a comfort to you. Roxy’s not allowed on the bed or the furniture which means I can only have her on my lap when I’m sitting down. But when I cuddle with her on the rug, she does seem to have a relaxing effect on my breathing! hee hee! What are you dreaming of, sister? :)

  5. My dreams are my only reality. I don’t know if it makes sense, but I only feel i live when I’m dreaming. What am I dreaming today? A Hug. I dream of getting a hug from anyone who cares.

    1. Nikky, I wrote a post on how there are times when I spend more time in my alternate reality than in my real life, so I think I can relate. As for the hug, consider yourself hugged, lady! :)

  6. I love your dreams. I think you should keep drinking that coffee and give me some. :-D

    I also love that cup. Is it yours? Love the B&W photo and color. Lots to love in this post.

    Sweet dreams!

    1. Paz, this is my cup. It’s part of a set my youngest sister gave the Significant Other many years ago on Valentine’s day. The set has the most adorable sugar pot! I’m delighted you like the shots. I tried the Lightroom software on the black and white and I love it! I wish you lived next door so I could knock on your door and invite you over for coffee. Even if it is 5am! hee hee! :)

  7. Yep. The middle of the might. When sleep is further away than ever. And dreams even further. Often I’ve wished I could take just a drop of the fatigue that hits at two in the afternoon when one is completely unable to succumb, and administer it to myself twelve hours later, when succumbing is all one can think about. I like your tuscanian dreams, though. So peaceful. So delicious. Make me wish I was a coffee drinker . . . :)

    1. Diane, wouldn’t it be magical if we sprinkle our insomnia with the drop in energy levels we experience throughout the day? Now that would be great! I’m most sleepy during the afternoon. Must be from not sleeping during the night! hee hee! You can always use tea to induce dreaming, lady! Are you a tea drinker? I just had the greatest cup of chocolate mint tea tonight! :)

    1. Ellen, now that’s what I call dreaming! If you don’t mind, I will share in that dream tomorrow. This cold is making my bones ache and I need me a fragrant spring day! Hugs and kisses for you, lady! :)

  8. When I was sick a while back, the only thing that brought actual comfort was hot coffee calming my throat and freeing up my chest. Taking it in the evening doesn’t make me sleep bad. On the contrary, warm milk makes my gastric cringe at night. It works for my mom, though, and helps her sleep better, but just not for me.

    I love your dreams (and share the bits of owning a house in Tuscany, drinking coffee there and reading in its rustic awesomeness.)

    1. Claudine, I live for the day when I can retire to the Tuscan Region. It’s been my dream since I was a child. And I’ve always associated it with coffee and reading! Ah…someday! Warm milk tends to give me reflux too! Are we related? hee hee! Thanks for the kind words, friend! :)

    1. Totsy, sugary foods and coffee are my downfall. Tell me, how was your night after that sorbet with bananas? Sorbet with bananas? Woman, give me some! :)

  9. What a lovely dream you have, Bella! I can so see you sitting there in your villa, with Roxy running circles around your olive plants! I’m sorry about your insomnia — most nights, I’m blessed at laying my head on the pillow and falling fast asleep. I know, it’s rough!
    The nights I do have trouble are usually filled with too many things-to-do; I probably should get up and read or something, but instead I lie there and thrash around! Coffee at bedtime? No, never. I prefer hot tea (decaf) and something light like yoghurt.

    1. Debbie, the Significant Other HAS to have yogurt before he goes to bed. Something about the protein. I’m glad you’re one of the lucky ones that falls asleep the minute your head touches the pillow. My sister is like that too. I’ve envied her all my life. hee hee! I think a preoccupied mind also invokes insomnia. Gosh, I need to do some yoga! I love that you like my dream. I’m crossing my fingers that it will come true eventually! :)

  10. Bella,
    You must have LOTS on your mind, dear. What about a nice glass of wine before you go to bed?

    I hope you sleep thru the night very soon & have beautiful sweet sugary dreams. Xxx

    1. Kim, I should listen to you. I really should! Maybe I’ll try wine before attempting to drift off to sleep at night. And you’re right. This is a time that I have a lot going on in my mind. Did I tell you my aunt broke a hip and my mom had to fly out to Spain to assist. The aunt is 92 and you can imagine the ruckus! I hope the Universe hears you and that soon I will be dreaming sweet, sugary dreams! I love that visual! Hugs to you, lady! :)

    1. Nikki, you’re in another part of the world! How wonderful to be able to enjoy the warm weather of Lebannon while the rest of us freeze in the cold! You lucky woman, you! :)

    2. Jodi, you and I both! In the meantime, dreaming of warm places will have to suffice. But no worries, lady, cause summer’s almost here! Yay! :)

  11. I should try this out.

    I’ve been having nearly dreamless sleep since a few nights, because of the madly hectic days. But I love dreams. Though trying to remember them the next morning becomes quite frustrating sometimes

    1. Sanchari, hello and welcome! I hardly ever remember my dreams that’s why I find it more gratifying to dream while I’m wide awake! All I do is close my eyes and suddenly, I am transported! Try it! You might find it helps calm your mind on those especially hectic days. :)

  12. I am headed off to the beach in a few hours. This is all that is on my mind. On another note, have you tried Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Tea? For me, it works wonders.

    1. Brenda, the beach is always a great place to be headed off to! I love Sleepytime! It’s my sister’s favorite and yes, it seems to work for her. Sadly, it doesn’t have the same effect on me. However, it’s been quite a while since I last drank it. Maybe I’ll try it tomorrow! Thanks for the idea, amiga! :)

    1. Emily, I think I’m going to have to take you and Kim’s suggestion! I’ll keep you posted on if it works or not! I just hope the alcohol doesn’t have a diuretic effect! hee hee! :)

    1. Heidi, poor Leroy. We’re making him work round the clock! I’m afraid any day now he’s going to croak! I’m so happy you liked the post, sister. I love it when you swing by! :)

  13. I’m dreaming of another cup of coffee now.. that perfect cup,the one that follows the morning cup that was not quite enough..
    I heartily agree that coffee is good for insomnia.. so are other sinful poisons.. like chocolate,sex and some late night soul music…… ;)
    When you buy that villa in Italy,please please invite me … of course you’ve seen the film Mama Mia?
    xx

    1. Lady, I love your style–coffee, chocolate, sex, and late night soul music! Yay! hee hee! I’ll have you know I’m quite the admirer of all the aforementioned pastimes and not necessarily in that order! And why is it that the second cup always tastes better than the first morning cup of coffee? :)

  14. I really love reading your posts, Bella! And oh, drinking coffee in the afternoon or in the evening even if it’s a decaf is bound to give me insomnia. Enjoyed reading your dream. Dreaming of a gown right now. Haha! Now that’s what I would say “in my dreams!”

    1. Yen, I love your dreams too! If I’m honest, I’ve been dreaming of a gown since I was five! hee hee! I’m delighted you like reading the my posts. I’m truly honored. Thank you! :)

  15. Bella, you probably know by now that anything that possibly has something to do with coffee instantly grabs my attention – and this post made me dream, too. I don’t know if it’s the coffee itself or it’s the fact that so many poets and writers have created this image of people dreaming or wondering about things while sipping coffee that makes us automatically associate a cup of coffee with daydreams. But anyway – coffee is always a good choice, whether it be combined with a nice daydream or not. Now all I need it a nice hot flat white. ;)

    1. Sabrina, I know you have a fancy for coffee! hee hee! I’m glad this post invoked you to dream as well! And now that you mention it, we creative minds need coffee to call out to our muse, don’t we? :)

Talk to me

