Doggie stroller, anyone?

Everybody, meet my Mom’s furry friend, Olivia.

Photo Credit: The Daughter

She’s a feisty seventeen pound Jack Russell Terrier.

Photo Credit: The Sister

Last night, my mom called to tell me that she’s decided to bring Olivia to Spain this summer.

(She usually stays with the Daughter and Lucy)

This is the Daughter’s furry friend, Lucy.

Photo Credit: The Daughter

She’s a natural born athlete and a sweetheart.

She won’t be joining us in Spain, but I wanted you to see how much this family loves Jack Russell Terriers.

I’m excited that Olivia will be joining us.

I think it will be great for Roxy to commiserate with a friend when the Spanish heat hits the high 90’s.

This morning my sister called.

“I heard Olivia’s joining Roxy for a summer of torture, I mean, fun.”

“Yep. I’m dying to see that little bundle of joy!”

“You won’t be saying that after she refuses to walk in the scorching heat and you’re left to carry a 17 pound bundle of joy. Good for you that I have a solution.”

“That we leave them home? Don’t start with the ‘You and Mom think you’re Paris Hilton’ speech.”

“No, I was going to suggest you buy a doggie stroller. That way, you can stroll with Roxy and Olivia for miles without having to call 911.”

“It’s 112 in Europe.”

“Whatever.”

“I think doggie strollers scream, ‘I think my dog’s a tiny human.'”

“Please. Like those dogs don’t eat, dress, and sleep better than you and mom.”

“I don’t know. I don’t think it’s right to deprive them of walking.”

“But it’s alright for them to suffer a heat stroke as they battle the hot Spanish sun? Just think about it. They’re on sale at Target.”

“They’re on sale cause no one wants to look like a loon?”

“No, they’re on sale because normal people leave their dogs at home when they go shopping. Anyway, if it doesn’t work out, you and mom can take turns sitting in the stroller. After all, you’re always complaining about your knee and this might be a good way of keeping mom from breaking a hip. There’s a lot of cobblestones in Europe, you know.”

“I’m hanging up now.”

“Buy the stroller!”

Click.

As I placed the phone on the cradle, I thought perhaps my sister was right.

Olivia’s seventeen pounds coupled with Roxy’s ten was going to take some effort to lug around.

Yep, that doggie stroller is looking more attractive by the minute.

Furry friends traveling in a doggie stroller.

What do you think, friends? Is strolling with furry friends in a stroller taking it too far?

74 thoughts on “Doggie stroller, anyone?

  1. My first thought about dog strollers, before reading your post, was about the strollers for disabled or injured dogs, so I feared that something happened to Roxy.

    I guess strollers can be good to protect the paws if the pavement is too hot, or something similar, but other than that, I’m not so sure. Perhaps just not taking the dog for a walk too long and uncomfortable for her?

    Then again, I suppose you could always play with a stroller, run while pushing it (Roxy might find it fun), or let Roxy pull it (my father’s dog loved pulling my brother’s bike when the said brother was little), it could be a new and fun toy.

    1. Ivana, Roxy would look adorable pulling the stroller! And I want to think she’s strong enough to do it! hee hee! I generally don’t take Roxy out when it’s too hot but I don’t like to leave her at home unattended either. If someone remains in the home, then I know she’s perfectly fine and I have left her alone if it’s for a short while. In Spain, my mother and I love to walk to the “pueblo” or town center for coffee every morning. It’s usually not hot in the early morning but the distance from the beach is a bit far. I think it would be great for Olivia and Roxy to join us, but I don’t relish the idea of carrying both of them when they get tired. Roxy’s a trooper and so is Olivia but you never know. I’ll keep you posted! :)

  2. “That we leave them home? Don’t start with the ‘You and Mom think you’re Paris Hilton’ speech.” FAB.

    Bella,
    How do I love thee? Let me count thy ways.

    When I come here, I smile :) Always. always.

    Can’t wait to see those two furry balls in a stroller. HaaAaaa
    So Groovy. <3 Xxx

    I think I shall get one for myself when I travel to Europe, tooooooo.

    1. Kim, every time I read one of your comments, I whoop with glee! Just now, the Significant Other, sitting across the table said, “A comment from Kim?” He already knows when I’m reading your words! I’m so pleased to make you smile! I promise to take many pictures of the two tiny fur balls in their stroller this summer! I think you have to buy one for Charlie for when you come to Europe! hee hee! :)

  3. I am LOL-ing over here, darling Bella! :-) However, in spite of my amusement, I think “the daughter” may be right, given the facts. They’re going to dehydrate a lot sooner than you will in that heat, and having the shade of a doggie stroller (in which you can keep a Tupperware of water for said doggie(s)) for them to get shelter will save you and them a lot of aggravation. :-) xoxo

    1. Ellen, by golly, I think you’re right! hee hee! I think the shelter from the sun will be very appreciated by our furry friends. And really, we go out either in the early morning or early evening when the sun’s rays aren’t harmful. My mother, who is fair skinned, cannot be under harsh sunlight. I just don’t know if we’ll look silly pushing the doggie stroller, or worse, draw a lot of attention. I’m more the low profile type in public. Would you believe it? hee hee! I’m so happy to have tickled your funny bone, friend! xoxo :)

    1. Kim, you should be able to see the “tweet” button under each post. Let me know if this isn’t the case, please! Hugs!

    1. bwhahaha! Una, I know I can always count on you to tell it like it is! hee hee! I also want to believe I’ll look fashionable but alas, my ratty summer wardrobe is quite tattered. These are the times I wish I could magically transport myself to your closet! :)

  4. Funny, but the only strollers I’ve seen are for tiny dogs, who could just as easily be picked up and carried. Now, if they ever invent a stroller big enough to haul my Sheltie, well, I still wouldn’t invest in one. He’d think it mighty silly! If it really gets that hot, I’d keep the dog at home — or maybe get one of those head-umbrellas to shade them!

    1. Debbie, my mom agrees with you. I’m trying to assess how much use we’ll get out of them before actually having her transport one all the way to Spain. I have to agree that it makes for a more convenient way to transport Roxy and Olivia but you’re right–like your Sheltie, they might both think it silly! hee hee! I really don’t want to be homebound and feel better when Roxy comes along for the ride. I’ll let you know what we decide! :)

    1. Michael Ann, to tell you the truth, I’ve always thought they were really silly. Now that I think of how much we have to walk in the time we’ll be in Spain, I’m rethinking my earlier opinion. Other times I think they may not like sitting together and I also worry about safety. Will they jump out, for example? It’s a situation that merits some thought. I’m so happy to see you drop by! :)

  5. Bella, that’s soooo funny that you all have similar doggies!
    You will attract so much Spanish attention with the dog stroller–go for it! People will love it. And won’t Princess Roxy be in her element!!

    1. Jann, Roxy just struts around coquettishly when she hears me read comments like yours. You spoil her with your kind words! Thank you! How do you think Sicilians would react to a doggie stroller? Now there’s something for you to shoot! Doggies in strollers! :)

  6. I don’t think I’d like a stroller because then I wouldn’t be able to sniff things that catch my attention. But… if the pavement is hot and burns my feet, I think I’d prefer a stroller to being carried. At least I’d be close to the ground where all the good smells are. Roxy is going to have a great vacation, I just know it!

    1. Lola, sweetheart, so great to see round these parts! I read Roxy your comment and she wagged her tail! I think that means she’s in total agreement! I know you’re a wise furry friend so I’m taking your words to heart. Roxy and I are looking forward to a nice summer vacation in the sun. We wish you could join us! :)

    1. bwhahaha! Adriene, that’s what I thought! hee hee! I’ll admit I’m looking to be convinced at this point. I’m weighing my options and trying to decide if it’s worth the hassle of flying with it. I’ll keep you posted! The furry friends thank you for your kind words! :)

  7. Do what suits you and your children, I mean dogs, best. I can’s judge…my dog sleeps with me. He’s my life. If he could tell me he would enjoy a stroller, I’d buy one full price.

    1. Patrice, you’re such an indulging parent! I love your style. I’m afraid if Roxy’s gets wind of your comment, she may just want to move in with you! :)

    2. It’s such a relief I don’t need to prepare my dog to live independently. Roxy and Oliver would have such a blast together. He might be part Jack Russel T. He’s got he long legs and he is a natural athlete. There’s no greater joy than seeing my boy run.

  8. I rememember once being in Bloomingdales in NYC and seeing a woman with a very expensive looking baby carriage–not a stroller, a carriage–and instinctively, I peeked in to look at the baby. I did a doubletake, nearly falling backwards, and having to hold on to a rack of clothing for support, when I saw that it wasn’t a baby at all, but a little shitzu wearing a bonnet and sitting up, looking most contendedly about. The only thing missing was the pacifier (which Henry uses from time to time). Too funny.

    1. Monica, does Sir Henry use a pacifier? Oh my goodness, that is too funny! That noble lad should look adorable with his paci! Your story of the shitzu made me giggle! I can see you doing the double take and hanging on to the rack for support! bwhahaha! Perhaps I should get Roxy a bonnet! :)

  9. This is so cute. I love the idea of a the doggy stroller! Randall wouldn’t have it, though. He has to run around like a crazy man when he’s out & about! He loves to explore.

    1. Kirstin Marie, the reason for this is that Randall’s a man’s man. He won’t have anything to do with the stroller business! hee hee! :)

  10. I say whatever makes your heart smile the biggest:) And you know…as usual…you just gave me one heck of a heart smile, dear soul. Love you, Bella.

    1. Brynne, mamacita, how are you? I’ve missed you! I have to stop by your place. It seems that every day I’m playing catch up. Forgive me. I’m forever glad to make you smile. I shall follow your advice and listen to my heart. It’s telling me that lugging around 17 pounds is not a good idea! hee hee! Love you, lady! :)

    1. Angelina, hello and welcome! I’m delighted to have cracked you up! Most of my dialogues with my family have that effect on people! :)

  11. Wait a minute…you’re taking your dogs to Spain? Let me get my head around that before I even begin to contemplate the doggie stroller idea.

    1. Actually, I’ve seen different models but they do look like kiddie strollers. At this point, I’m wondering how the heck to secure them so they don’t jump out while we cross a busy street! Oh, dear. :)

    2. Really? I didn’t even know dog strollers existed. :( I thought about them jumping out too when I looked at the pictures earlier. Just be careful and have a GREAT time in Spain! As for putting them IN the carrier, I’m all for making things easier, especially when traveling. I’d do it. Probably would have gone without then been really surprised when someone suggested it to me later cuz I didn’t know in the first place. :) Did that make sense? Heheheh

    3. Blue, that is one my concerns as well. I hope the stroller has some type of harness. I’m with you, sister. Let’s make our lives easier any way we can! :)

    1. Lisa, I’m afraid that if I leave Olivia home, I shall have to leave Roxy as well and I’m so used to bringing her everywhere! I will definitely think about both options and keep you posted! :)

    1. Kelly, isn’t that the case for many pet owners? Roxy has a summer bed and a winter bed. One is made from a warmer fabric and the other one is made from airy, cotton mesh. She also has pillows, blankets, and toys. The Significant Other jokes that she eats better than we do but there are times I think he’s serious! hee hee! Thanks for joining the discussion and for your well wishes! :)

  12. Call me crazy, but isn’t the point of taking the dogs for a walk, so that the dogs can walk? Of couse in the city, traffic concerns could make these a necessity. But I think I’ll just keep Gretel on a leash. I can’t imagine she’d take to a carriage. But the cute factor is 100%!

    1. Renee, I agree with you. I think strollers are silly, silly! Cute yes, but still silly. The only reason I’m considering one is so that it will be more comfortable for all of us for our furry friends to join us on the longer walks into town. Of course, for walks around the beach apartment they will be wearing their harnesses and leash. However, these little ladies not taking to the stroller is one of my concerns. Imagine dragging that thing all the way to Spain for nothing! :)

    1. Sanchari, I hope you’re right and that instead, they don’t end up snarling at us for keeping them captive in the stroller! hee hee! I’ll let you know how it turns out! :)

  13. Too much? Absolutely not! Its a *vacation*; who cares what anyone thinks? (I still have to remind myself that I don’t care what anyone thinks, but I’m getting better at it.) I remember lugging a five pound laptop around and that got old pretty fast. Go for it!

    1. Eloise, I’m totally not one to think what other people think but at this point I’m wondering, what will the doggies think? hee hee! I think I’m going to remember you and the five pound laptop as a way to motivate me to purchase the stroller! :)

  14. Just a tad but my sisters has two yapping yorkies that we take walking with us and I always end up carrying one of the ‘little creatures’ home, which is at least a mile more from my sister’s house. SO YES, get one. If they don’t use it you can fill it up with goodes your find along the way.

    1. Brenda, I had not thought of that! If worse comes to worse, and the two little misses don’t want to sit in it, we can use it as a grocery cart! You are a genius, my friend! I’m glad my sister doesn’t have a tiny Yorkie or I’d be tempted to keep it! :)

  15. Cute doggies! Well, I once looked for a stroller for one of my dogs because she was old and had difficulty walking. I couldn’t find a stroller because she was too big for the one I saw. Someone suggested buying a used baby stroller but I ended up not doing that. Just picked her up and lugged her around when I had, too. And of course, we stopped walking far. More like across the street and back home. Let us know what you decide. :)

    1. Paz, I can see how a stroller would come in handy for an elderly dog or one that had disabilities. However, something tells me that overweight pups like Olivia qualify as well! hee hee! I think if we get one, we’ll only use it the times we go to town since the walk is pretty long. I will keep you posted! Thanks for the feedback, friend! :)

  16. Love it! We have a 12 pound dachsund and I would totally love a stroller for her.

    BTW, I am pretty small and I don’t bark, can I go to Spain?

    :-)
    Traci

    1. Traci, I love dachshunds! Your comment made me laugh out loud! You can come to Spain if you bring your little dachshund! hee hee! :)

  17. Love it, Bella! I figure since they’re Jack Russells, they’re going to make sure they get plenty of exercise anyway. And, having lived in Texas for more then 30 years, I wouldn’t have minded a stroller for myself! That pavement gets HOT!

    1. Nadine, thanks for the input! Trust me, these Jack Russells demand to be exercised. Roxy’s way of letting me know she needs physical exercise is by acting naughty. She’ll start tearing up her bed, nipping at the Son’s ankles, or barking loudly. When I see her doing this, I know it’s time to go out. I can imagine that a stroller would be perfect for the hot, Texas weather. I hear that in summer you can cook a meal on the pavement! hee hee! :)

  18. Okay, I admit it, I’m uncertain about the Spanish heat. Is it different from . . . say . . . the Italian heat? We just walked our dogs REALLY EARLY in the morning, before it got too hot. And then later, after it cooled somewhat. Is this a possibility? Then everyone’s happy! Er, those that like getting up REALLY EARLY, that is . . .

    1. Diane, that is definitely a possibility. However, it’s not so much walking them in the heat, than it is leaving them at home for more than a couple of hours. When my mother and I go to the old town, we’re gone for three hours or so. I always take Roxy with me and carry her in a doggie bag. Now that Olivia’s joining us, that means two dogs and two bags. We could always leave them at home but not knowing what they’re up to robs me of my peace of mind. Nevertheless, your suggestion sounds like a good one. And yes, I dare say the Spanish sun is just as hot as the Italian sun! :)

  19. Pablo has fallen over laughing, Bella. I told him I might get him one if he didn’t behave! He’s sharing this on his Facebook page! I’m falling in love with JRTs and you’re to blame! I’d cause a traffic jam in Mumbai if I went around with a dog in a stroller…
    Are you getting one? :)

    1. Corinne, like always, your comment made me chuckle! I can see Pablo having a good belly laugh over this situation! And I can see you strolling with these little misses in the heat of Mumbai! I’m seriously thinking of getting one. My sister is standing guard so when they mark it down to fifty percent, she can pounce on it! hee hee! You have to get a Jack Russell Terrier! It will keep you feeling young and be the perfect companion to keep Pablo on his toes! :)

    2. Corinne, Roxy’s my partner in crime. I think our little Miss is up for anything! But of course, you’re right. I shall ask her! :)

  20. Before I read your post I would have agreed doggy strollers are crazy. But I also don’t live in 112 degree heat. Now I say, forget the dog. I want a stroller.

    1. Leah, you and I both! hee hee! My sister did suggest that if the furry friend refuse to get in the stroller, my mom and I can take turns sitting in it! ha! Just imagine the joy of being pushed while everyone else walks in the heat! :)

  21. Dog strollers always make me laugh. They’re really cute. But I can’t help thinking they undermine the whole purpose of walking the dog.

    1. Rosemary, and you’re right–they do undermine the whold dog walking purpose, don’t they? Maybe all the walking Olivia has to do in Spain will help he get lighter and we won’t have to use the stroller! :)

Talk to me

