What do you really want to be?


cc licensed flickr photo shared by jspad

Dear Readers,

Back in October 2010, I wrote a post related to Halloween.

At the time, I didn’t have the pleasure of having many of you as readers.

Thus, I saw it fitting to share it with you today.

I don’t know whether it’s the visual of the Son when he was five, or the fact that just this week he turned 21, but it still makes me chuckle.

I hope it has the same effect on you.

I’ll never forget the day the Son came home from kindergarten, paper in hand and said, “The teacher said you have to read this.”

I still remember what the note said: “Dear Parents, this Friday we will be celebrating “Career Day”. Please assist your child in preparing for a small presentation that will be titled, “When I grow up I want to be…”.

Being the diligent parent that I am, I immediately asked the Son, “Honey, what do you want to be when you grow up?”

Expecting to hear something along the lines of astronaut, scientist, football player or firefighter, I was completely aghast to hear him whisper, “A ninja.”

“A what?” I asked, even though I had clearly heard his response.

“Mom, I said I want to be a ninja, so leave me alone already.”

Ah, the joys of motherhood.

So like any controlling responsible mother, I set out to brainwash create awareness in my child regarding the importance of making a good career choice.

Fast forward four days, and my heart soared as the heir to my debt spoke into the microphone and said, “When I grow up I want to be a cardiothoracic surgeon.”

Forget the fact that he mispronounced “cardiothoracic” and it came out “cardiosaurus”.

I beamed with pride.

It’s now fourteen years later and the Son is coming down the stairs dressed in his Halloween “costume.”

“Mom, do you like my costume?”

I glance up to see him dressed in a pair of black jeans, black sneakers, and a black hoodie.

“Are you supposed to be an Italian widower?”

“Nope. Try again.”

“Johnny Cash come back from the grave?”

“Mom, get serious.”

“Zorro without his mask?”

At this point he ties a black scarf over his mouth, pulls his hood over his head, and whips out a sword.

I hold my breath and hear him say, “Mom, I’m a ninja.”

Lesson learned: You can steer your child in the direction you want him to go but in the end, he’s still going to be…a ninja.

Roxy and I want to wish you a Happy Halloween!

57 thoughts on “What do you really want to be?

  1. How funny! I had the same thing with mine only over red cowboy boots. Oh, and orange bedroom walls. Oh yeah, and WWF wrestler. Karate expert. Cowboy. Hmmm. He made that last one work pretty good for him. I LOVED THIS POST. It brought back so many memories and I am so glad he finally got to be a ninja!!

    1. Nan, I can see you arbitrating through these tiny “disputes”! hee hee! I’m so glad to have been able to invoke good memories. I think being able to remember these funny times is one of the best parts of motherhood! Happy Halloween! :)

  2. Awww, I love it. Five years old is such a magical age (Sean just turned five) and I love hearing him talk about when he grows up! This made me tear up because I know my day is coming!

    1. Katie, they grow up so fast, don’t they? I think back to these times and realize that I don’t know where the time went! Oh my. It’s both wonderful and sad to see them all grown up! Happy Halloween to you and Sean! :)

  3. So sweet!! What is it about boys and ninjas? I love your crazy guesses–I hope Son appreciates Mom’s humor! Little Miss Roxy looks ready to party! And you will dress up as what, Bella????

    1. Jann, my crazy guesses drove the Son mad! For the most part, he appreciates my wry sense of humor. Other times, he’s like, “let’s move it along, mom!” ha! Little Miss Roxy spent a great part of today in her costume, sans the hat. She loves dressing up, although she looks a little bored in these shots. hee hee! I donned my crown and red velvet queen’s cape for today’s festivities! Because after all, aren’t we all queens? Happy Halloween, amica! :)

  4. Bella, my apologies for such a delay in response..your comments at my place left me with big smiles! I am SO glad the little pup made you want to scoop him up..I think it’s because there’s a little Roxy in that pup, huh?! Speaking of..she is absolutely adorable here!! Happy Halloween dear pup! And such an awesome story…go Ninja man, go! : ) Wishing you and yours a fun and safe halloween..with lots of fun and treats!

    1. Shirley, I smiled so big when I read that there’s a little Roxy in that pup! I thought the same thing! Aw, Roxy loves you for saying that, and so do I! I’m so happy you dropped by and no worries about the delay. I’m appreciative that you take the time to read. Thank you! Wishing you and your family a safe and fun Halloween, my friend! :)

    1. Kim, Roxy loves you soooo much! Your sweet words always spoil her! hee hee! I’m so happy you liked the post! Have a fun and Happy Halloween! :)

    1. Renee, Roxy’s prancing about after hearing me read her your comment! hee hee! I’m so delighted you liked the post. Thank you! Happy Halloween! :)

    1. Amy, she doesn’t look very chipper in these shots, doesn’t she? hee hee! I think she wanted to be a princess but she was a princess last year! ha! I wanted to be a ballerina. Now if only I could find the right tutu! ha! Happy Halloween! :)

    1. Monica, if the Son hears Ninja’s make good money, he’s sure to pursue the Ninja endeavor! ha! I’m tickled pink you like the post, chica! Happy Halloween! :)

  5. Hmmm . . . I wonder what ‘Ninja’ pays these days . . .
    Such a cute post! I’d love to have heard the ‘heir to your debt’ mispronounce his future career choice. That a priceless memory! And then to finally realize it. At least for one day of the year! Perfect! :) And a happy Halloween to you and the Roxy-girl, too!

    1. Diane, I hope it pays well! hee hee! I think back to how the Son mispronounced hiis future career choice and I still laugh! They’re so cute when they’re little! Hugs to you from Roxy and me! Happy November! :)

  6. This is such a beautiful story. I know we all have big dreams for our kids but at the end of the day they will become what they want to be. A Ninja is not bad after all ( smiles). Happy Halloween Bella !

    1. Ciaa, like always, you are right! As a parent, I think all we can wish for is for our children to be happy. And really, a Ninja isn’t that bad, right? hee hee! Happy November to you, lady! :)

  7. Love it! I too always loved the idea of being a ninja. As a kid I would run around with my Dad’s tai chi swords, dressed in my highland dancing costumes pretending to take on all the bad guys in my neighbourhood. I’m pretty sure my parents thought me absolutely bonkers, but my ninja proclivities eventually migrated “inside” ie.) now I am a ninja in work/passion, but have left the swords by the wayside (until the zombie apocalypse of course.)

    Fab post Bella! Happy Halloween to you and Roxy!
    xx

    1. Ethel, I’m sure I have told you this but you are hysterically funny! I love how your comments make me giggle! I like the idea of having a tiny Ninja reside in all of us. I always say I’m a gladiator. It makes me feel powerful and ready to take on the world! ha! Happy November! :)

  8. Bella, this is simply delightful! Takes me back to when Domer was five and started taking karate so he could be a ninja! Me? I just wanted to fly — on my own, of course, hee hee! Tell the Son Happy Birthday, while you’re at it! twenty-one is a BIG step, as you know!

    1. Debbie, I think every child has wanted to be a ninja at some point or another. hee hee! The Son thanks you for your warm wishes. My goodness, can you believe how old they are already. But you know what that means–the older they get, the older we get! ha! Happy November! :)

    1. Ivana, oh my. I had no idea that’s what ninjas did! For now, I’m sticking with the visual that they’re cute creatures dressed in black and who are proficient in martial arts! Happy November! :)

  9. This is great! I read it first to myself and burst out laughing so I read it out loud to my excellent husband and while he didn’t laugh as hard as I did (I maybe laughed so hard because I’m slightly intoxicated) he still thought it was awesome.

  10. hahaha! That is adorable. You can’t take the ninja away! hahaha. Oh Bella, it’s so nice to finally hear from you! I actually have been thinking about you for the last few days, and I was just about to send you an email! I hope you are feeling much better and are getting a lot of rest. Throw in a few Javier Bardem movies in the mix, and I think you will be mended in no time, dear friend!!! :)

    <3 Laura

    ps. my green hair… OOOOOH I've had it for a while now :) And it makes me happy!

    1. Laura, your amazing comment made my day! Thank you for caring and for being your usual loveable self! I think I will take your advice and get me some Javier love this weekend! hee hee! I love your green hair but I love the fact that it makes you happy even more! Happy November! Hugs! :)

  11. The best lesson I ever had on how to be a parent came from a Crest commercial – choose your battles. The first time I heard those words they etched themselves upon my body. There are some I will not win, regardless of my own skills as a Ninja and Swiss Ambassador for world peace. I employ all as needed. It’s more challenging as they grow up because I no longer have absolute power and realize they have to make their own mistakes, but it doesn’t stop me from trying.

    1. Brenda, whoever thought Crest would provide such a valuable lesson, eh? hee hee! There is no doubt in my mind that you embrace your motherhood skills with a passion. I can totally see you as the Ninja mother Totsy alluded to! Methinks we should never stop with our mothering, even when our kids resent us for it. :)

  12. Yep! As a kindergaten teacher I hear a lot of super hero dream careers in the making; not sure how they plan to make a living…guess they have a few years left to ‘live the dream.’

    1. Shelley, children always have the best career dreams! It breaks my heart that many of them don’t get to live out their dreams and have to face the reality that is life. I mean, how do you tell a child that it’s not easy to be an astronaut? In the meantime, I’m glad that dreaming makes them happy! :)

  13. That is a hilarious slice of life. Thanks for sharing. I can truly identify with you. My son is 22. I’ve tried to steer him in a certain direction. Didn’t work. Still hoping one day he’ll decide he wants to be a “cardiosaurus”.
    Roxy look positively adorable, as always.

    1. Sheila, your comment made me laugh! I think most mothers wish that their sons would one day be “cardiosauruses”! hee hee! Roxy sends hugs your way for your kind words. Thank you! :)

  14. I sadly didn’t do a single thing for Halloween. It’s funny because growing up my family was so completely religious (christian) that we weren’t allowed to go trick-or-treating or really celebrate anything associated with Halloween. Now that I’m in my 20s, I could really do anything on Halloween but I don’t. Not because I think it’s wrong but because I never got into the habit of it. I guess old habits (or lack there of) really do die hard. The pictures of Roxy are awesome :)

    1. Nate, your comment proves how for the most part, we’re creatures of habit. My daughter, who is 26, told me she participated in a “zombie” walk for the first time. My point being that there’s always a first time for everything. And there’s always next year! Roxy sends you a big fat kiss! :)

    1. Nadine, you make my mother’s heart sing. Thank you for your kind words. I’m so happy you liked the post. It means a lot to me. :)

  15. Eve, I’m so glad you liked the post! I decided to change the Halloween theme to this one. I’m looking for a more autumn looking background, though. Keep smiling, lady! Hugs! :)

  16. Oh Bella I loved this post! As a mom of two teenage boys, I can appreciate the love of Ninjas. :)

    It reminded me of what I wanted to be when I was little… Wonder Woman! I had long blonde hair that I would loosely put up in a bun and hook my jump rope to my pants with a couple wooden clothes pins. In front of our big picture window, I would spin and spin and become Wonder Woman complete with my aluminum foil bullet proof bracelets and lasso of truth :) I just turned 41 a couple weeks ago, and what do you think I still want to be? Yep, Wonder Woman! We never grow too old to want to be a hero who fights evil :)

    I continue to look for a costume close to her’s…. one of these days….. you just might see me on Pinterest as Wonder Woman!

  17. Dear Bella!
    I’m just a little confused. You have a 21 year old son?!!!! I thought YOU are 21?!!!!! I’m so sorry if I got all this mixed up but oh wow!!! The son was awesome at 5 and he’s totally awesome at 21!!! I can’t wait for my little six-year old to walk down the stairs fast forward 14 years and be a…ninja! :D So much love!!! Write to me soon and tell me your age woman! :D Sharon

    1. Oh dear friend, you have made my day with this comment! I wish with all my heart I was 21! hee hee! Yes, the Son just turned 21! And please do not be sorry, you have no idea how you’ve made me chuckle and wish it were true! ha! I have promised myself that because 34 was the time I was most happiest, I would be 34 forever! ha! But alas, if I were to reveal my real age, I would have to hint at the fact that it’s somewhere between 38 and the mid forties! Take your best guess! Hugs for you, Sharon! :)

Talk to me

