Thank you for being a friend!

There are many reasons why bloggers choose to blog.

Some do it because it’s a great way to practice writing skills.

Others do it because blogging can be a great creative outlet.

And some aspiring writers do it because it’s important for them to have both a blog and a regular readership.

Nevertheless, there are also some who do it because blogging is a great way to build friendships.

I am one of those people.

When I first started blogging, my readership consisted of the Daughter, who read every now and then and rarely commented, my sister, who read rarely but commented every time she read, and the Significant Other and the Son, who never read but were forced to listen to my posts as soon as I wrote them.

This quickly changed as more people began to read my blog.

As my readership grew, my family members seemed to disappear into the woodwork, never to be seen again.

You’d think this would make me sad, but it doesn’t.

I’ve come to realize that you can’t force people to do what you want them to do.

Actually, you could, but the results would not be pretty.

But I digress.

My point is that even while family members pulled a disappearing act, it didn’t matter.

Why?

Because I discovered that in other bloggers, not only did I have readers, but also friends.

Sadly, I have yet to meet any of the lovely people who take the time to read my posts, or leave a thoughtful comment.

Nevertheless, when I read a comment left by one of my readers, I feel like a dear friend has left me his or her thoughts.

With this in mind, I have something I want to say to you all.

I marvel at the encouragement and support your words inspire.

I get emotional whenever I read the lovely words you leave on the pages of this blog.

I sigh at the wisdom and intelligence exhibited by your remarks.

I giggle, chuckle, and laugh out loud as I read your funny comments.

Yes, we may not have met, but every one of you feels like an old friend.

Time after time, I have wondered what it would be like to host a party where you’re all invited; to sit down for a cup of tea or coffee; to laugh over a glass of vino.

I wonder what makes you laugh, smile, and cry.

I sigh as I realize that we are separated by many miles; every one of us living in a different city, a different country, a different continent.

I pondered this tonight as I lay out the items needed for tomorrow’s dinner.

And it occurred to me that today was the perfect time to express my feelings.

This post came together in a matter of minutes.

Because that’s what happens when you speak from the heart.

Tonight, I wish to express my gratitude.

I am grateful for your readership.
I am grateful that you take the time to comment.
But more than anything, I am grateful for your friendship.

Thank you!

To all those who celebrate Thanksgiving, Roxy and I wish you a Happy Thanksgiving!

And to everyone else, Happy Thursday!

XOXO,

66 thoughts on “Thank you for being a friend!

  1. Awww, Bella…I just wrote you on my blog…and here, I will say it again. You are beautiful. Thank you for always sharing your ever-open heart with all of us. I am sooo thankful for you, dear soul. Happy Thanksgiving for afar…and yet…so very close by.

    1. Brynne, and you are simply lovely! I am so thankful to have met you! The world is a better place with you in it! Happy Thanksgiving, my friend! :)

  2. How sweet Bella! The old adage is also true that in order to have a friend you have to BE a friend, and you are a lovely and wonderful precious friend to so many, indeed this is the reason you are so rich in fellow bloggers/friends. You go girl!

    1. Bella, lady, You are welcome! I agree with Elizabeth. Your comments on my blog are the most heart felt. You take time and energy and let the words pour out of you. That is a real gift I am ever grateful to receive! I will be in England someday and meet you for real!

    2. Jodi, your blog is beautiful! Words come easily after reading your inspiring and thought provoking posts! I truly hope we can one day meet! We shall have coffee and scones! Happy Thanksgiving from Roxy and me! Hugs! :)

    3. Elizabeth, your words warm my heart. They truly do. I love it when you drop by my blog! You always enrich my posts with your wisdom and savvyness! Thank you for your ever kindness! Happy Thanksgiving! :)

  3. YOu are so amazing. I’m am bawling off all my makeup now. You have such a big heart and I love that you share it so generously here. Thank you, Bella and Happy Thanksgiving! patrice xxoo

    1. Patrice, and your comments always make me laugh and think! I wish you and yours a Happy Thanksgiving! May you take many photos so you can share wi us later! :)

  4. Your site IS like a party, Bella! Every time I stop by and read, I do feel like I’ve stopped by for coffee. ( and vino!) (of course) (pass the vino!)

    1. Aw, Astra, your comment made me giggle! How wonderful that you feel like this! I am honored, sister. By the way, I think of us together at a party and think, now THAT would be a party! hee hee! Hugs! :)

  5. Bella you are just an amazing writer and I love your blog. You make me laugh at times and make me think. I relate to so many things you write about. I am Canadian so we’ve celebrated thanksgiving already but I wish you and everyone a Happy Thanksgiving !!!

    1. Ciaa, I am honored that you love the blog. Thank you for your ever sweetness, lady! And how wonderful that you already celebrated! Canadians are always a step ahead! hee hee! Hugs! :)

    1. Kim, you are the sweetest of the sweetest! Roxy and I love you to the moon and back! Thank you for being our friend! Happy Thanksgiving! Hugs! :)

  6. You’ve been one of the very few, if not the only, regular commenter on my blog, and all your comments have made me feel like writing more. Thank you for being there to read and comment! I do hope, someday, we get to meet…because it’s an honour to have you as a friend :)

    1. Sanchari, I love your blog. I love how you explore your feelings, emotions, and day to day to happenings. Your blog is like a breath of fresh air and it’s all you! It is indeed an honor to have you as a friend, lady. You are special! :)

  7. Lovely, lovely, lovely! You are just lovely, Bella.

    Thank you for checking up on me when I went silent recently! What a great friend you are.

    Happy T’day to you, Roxy, and your family!

    (Don’t you just *love* turkey???)

    1. Eloise!! You’re the best, lady! Thank you for your lovely words. I hope you’re feeling better! I love, love turkey! As a matter of fact, Roxy and I are quickly falling into a food coma! hee hee! Happy Thanksgiving, my friend! Hugs! :)

  8. Your blog is such a welcoming and cozy place to visit. A home away from home in cyberspace. What a great place for a virtual Thanksgiving feast. Please pass the mashed potatoes! Happy Thanksgiving from Lola and me.

    1. Shary, your words make me smile! Thank you for making my day! How lovely if we really could share a meal! Roxy and Lola would have a grand time! Roxy and I wish you and Lola, a Happy Thanksgiving! Hugs! :)

  9. What a tremendously lovely post! I share so many of the sentiments you’ve expressed here Bella :) You never ever fail to bring a smile to my face. If you ever need help planning that dinner party, count me in to help out!

    1. Ethel, I am honored, my friend. Were I to celebrate a dinner party, your name would be first on the list! Thank you for the joy you bring to this wee blog! Hugs! :)

  10. You went borderline mushy on me, Bella. Dang…I don’t have a comeback for that, other than to say I’m so glad to have met you. I feel like when I visit your blog, we’re get down with the girl talk and share commonalities that we deal with universally. I’ll never forget that walk you took to the coffee machine The Son told you about. I still chuckle when I think of it.

    1. Totsy, I know. But even us hard core girls have a soft side! hee hee! I am so happy to count you as a reader. Your comments always make me think and more importantly, ponder! ha! I remember that post! hee hee! I have to visit that coffee machine when my knee heals. I do! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, friend! Hugs! :)

  11. My dear Bella, this is very perfectly said (as usual!) I would so love to be at that dinner party of yours, to meet you and hug Roxy, to sip some tea or vino, to laugh or cry or share memories. Your blog is a lovely place to gather, and Lady, I’m glad we’ve met online — and hope that one day, maybe we can meet in person! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

    1. Oh Debbie, what a grand time we would have! I can almost hear us giggling! Can you imagine? ha! I really do hope you, Monica, and I can meet someday! I do! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family from Roxy and me! Roxy sends Dallas a big hug! :)

  12. You touched my heart with this post, Bella. I feel exactly the same way. I have been fortunate to meet a few of my blogger friends. Sadly we lost a dear blogger early this year but life goes on and its been a great journey for me starting my blog. I have had the chance to interact with so many wonderful people, including you, my friend

    1. Rimly, I am so sorry to hear about the passing of your blogger friend! It’s so very sad for those of us left behind, isn’t it? I am so happy to have made your acquaintance on this blog. You bring a special joy to this wee place with your special brand of sweetness and kindness. Thank you, my friend! :)

  13. What a beautiful post, Bella. I love that friendship isn’t associated with physical proximity. Blogging is the new penpal-ling, in its way, isn’t it? I am deeply grateful for your blog, and your friendship. Happy (day after) Thanksgiving. :-) xoxo

    1. Oh Ellen, you have stated this perfectly! Most definitely friendship isn’t associated with proximity! If that were the case, then I’m afraid I wouldn’t have any friends! ha! I am also very grateful that you are a part of my life! Thank you! Hugs to you! :)

  14. I feel the same way about my new Blogger friends! My blog was started as a self-critique, and a way for my long-distance sister to put in her two cents on my wardrobe choices.

    It’s since evolved, and I am deeply flattered when I get new readers :)

    1. Amy, I think this feeling is universal in the blogging community. This is what makes blogging so worthwhile. I am so happy that your blog has taken off. I see new reader and very helpful comments! Good for you! :)

  15. Such a beautiful post, Bella. Like so many other bloggers, I am grateful for you and your friendship. Your blog is warm, friendly, funny, and insightful. I was hooked the very first time I read it. All the best to you and your family for the holiday season! <3

    1. Oh Adriene, the feeling is mutual! I love your blog! Your poetry blows me away, my friend! I am tickled pink that you like my blog and honored. Very, very honored. Thank you! Hugs! :)

  16. I feel the same way. Perhaps it is the distance between us that allows us to really ‘be there’. Whatever the reason, I feel supported and encouraged by the blogging community and I truly wish you every success and happiness. Happy Thanksgiving Bella.

    1. Renee, as always your insightful comments serve to enhance my posts. I agree with your thoughts on the blogging community. I still can’t believe the outpour of love we receive on a daily basis. I honestly think it’s what keeps me writing! I hope that you had a wonderful holiday, friend! Hugs! :)

  17. What a beautiful sentiment, Bella. So lovely and heartwarming. Well, the feeling’s mutual, amiga! You are so very special and am glad to have you as a friend. Thank you, too, for checking out my new blog, and commenting. I so appreciate it! :)

    Sending my love and kisses to Roxy, too!

    1. Monica, I truly consider you a good friend. I feel like I’ve known you for a long time and you make me laugh! Thank you for your sincere friendship and wonderful support and encouragement. I love your new blog! I will continue to read regularly but please do send me tweets or post reminders in your blog posts to stimulate reader participation! Roxy and I send you and Sir Henry much love and hugs! :)

  18. You’re are more than welcomed Miss Bella and I ‘thank you’ for taking the time to acknowledge us..your readers, friends, fellow bloggers, followers and Blog Groupies..LOL. Wow, you never cease to amaze me with your wonderful posts.

    1. Eve, mamacita, your comments always make my day! You are like a balm to a weary writer’s soul. Thank you for your kindness! Hugs! :)

  19. You write so beautifully that there’s no way people couldn’t keep coming back! As a fellow blogger I really know what you are talking about. Blogging had brought me a whole new set of friends and it’s so flattering to have people reading my work.

    1. Jess, hello and welcome! I’m tickled pink you like my writing. Thank you for your kindness. I think acquiring new friends is one of the highlights of blogging. Fellow writers just seem to “get” one another. Don’t they? :)

    1. Corinne, you have been such a wise counsel in the blogging process for me. I will forever be grateful for your advice, your guidance, and your encouragement and support. God bless you for all that you are! Roxy and I send you and Pablo hugs and kisses! :)

    1. Lori, chica, I have missed you so much!! I keep crossing my fingers that you will post again! I dream of the day when we can get together over a cup of coffee, or tea, or vino and just chit chat! Ah, now that would be a great day! :)

  20. Beautiful, Bella. I’m so moved *sniff sniff*. No, really, I am :). I feel much the same about my followers and have had the same experience with my friends who claimed interest in my blog but rapidly disappeared beyond what seemed to be obligatory reading. I used to moan that I had no friends who write, understanding the impulse, demonstrating the artistry and hunger for acknowledgement and support. I’m happy that those days are no more, no matter the size of my audience.

    I certainly feel that way about you. Glad that we met, even if it’s only in Cyberspace. In many ways, that dimension is as real as sharing thoughts over a cup of tea :). I am still wondering about your knee and hoping that you are on the mend.

    Hope you had a groovy Thanksgiving.

    C.

    1. Coco, you’ve expressed this so beautifully, there is nothing to add. I am so happy we’ve met, in any way, shape, or form. You always enhance my posts, add to the mix with your thoughtful comments, and inspire me to keep writing. You do! You do! I am still on the mend, I’m afraid. I’m sick of being on house arrest but I just heard this weekend that the Daughter will be visiting during winter break. I need to be in top form. I’m still walking with crutches and have a follow up appointment on Monday. I’m afraid I will be getting another steroid shot. :( But, it’s all good when you have good friends, like you, who care so much! Thank you, chica! You are loved! :)

    2. :) Thanks, Bella! Made my day. Hope the appt. goes well. Have a wondeful time with your family this holiday. Maybe, they will take care of you and you can just relax ;)

    3. Coco, my dear, relaxation is something that eludes me 10 months out of the year. Thank goodness for the summer break and the respite it gives me from the tension that permeates my life in the remaining months of the year. Fortunately, good friends and laughter make life easier. I am honored to have you as a reader. Your comments, always, and I mean, always, make my day! :)

  21. My dearest Bella….you have a Daughter too?!!!!!!?! WOW woman!!! Thank you so much for this post which flowed from you heart. It mirrors my own. I started off as a closet blogger with 2 readers – Mom and Dad. It is amazing how we have connected with so many good, kind hearts through blogging. I have enjoyed getting to know you and your vibrant spirit these last few months. I can see you smiling in your words. I can feel your heart in your words. I love the genuineness that I feel when I come here and stay a while. I look forward to getting to know you! With so much hugs and happiness, Sharon

    1. Sharon, you are a sweetheart and I thank you for every lovely, sweet word you always leave on my blog. You have no idea how much your loving words are appreciated. It lifts my spirits and makes me smile! I want you to know the feeling is mutual. Visiting your blog is like a mini break from life. When I’m there, I smile, ponder, and thoroughly enjoy looking at your amazing photos. You are so inspiring, my friend! Many hugs to you! :)

Talk to me

