What are the ten words a woman most wants to hear?

Roxy says

Today I heard the ten words any woman wants to hear.

And they’re not:

“Do you want to marry me and bear my children?”

Or, “The jet is fueled up. We leave for Paris tonight.”

Or even, “No, your butt does not look fat in those jeans.”

Instead, I heard the Significant Other say, “They are coming to fix the heating system on Saturday.”

I’m certain any woman who’s survived two winters without heat will agree that these ten little words are better than hearing, “You are way hotter than any model from Victoria’s Secret.”

These ten words made me do the happy dance.

They made me run around the living room screaming, there is a God!

They inspired me do a fist bump with the Son whilst saying, “Yes!” in perfect unison.

However, our exuberant state came to an abrupt halt when we heard the Significant Other say, “The repair crew will be here at eight.”

An ominous silence filled the room.

The Son: “Eight, as in eight in the evening?”

Significant Other: “Very funny. Eight as in eight in the morning.”

Me: “No can do, brother. I need at least twenty minutes for my body to thaw and there’s no way I’m getting up at 7:40am on a Saturday.”

Significant Other: “Fine. I’ll call them and cancel.”

The Son: “Not so fast. Mom, you’re the one who always says, ‘drastic times call for drastic measures,’ so ‘woman’ up and set your alarm clock.”

Significant Other: “Look on the bright side, people. Come Saturday we won’t have to wear scarves, mittens, and five layers of clothing in the house.”

The Son: “Aw, I won’t be able to see my breath when I whistle anymore.”

Me: “I won’t have to turn the oven on to heat the kitchen while I make coffee.”

The Significant Other: “We won’t have to swaddle Roxy in three blankets and pray she’s still alive when we wake up in the morning.”

The Son: “I won’t have to wear those hideous long johns.”

Me: “I won’t have to wear those itchy flannel pajamas.”

Significant Other: “I won’t have to wear a hat to bed.”

Me: “Life will go back to the way it used to be.”

The Son: “What’s that like exactly? I think the cold may have numbed the part of my brain where memories are stored.”

Me: “You know, warm heat flowing through our home; laughter and conversation instead of teeth chattering and cursing.”

Significant Other: “Oh, and they’re changing the water heater as well.”

Me: “Oh my! I feel like one of those grand prize Lotto winners!”

Significant Other: “Again, don’t get too excited. You won’t be able to use the bathroom or shower for eight hours.”

The Son: “And when nature calls, what then?”

Significant Other: “Knock on the door of the neighbor with the snowman broom. As far as your mother is concerned, she owes us for having that thing up all year.”

Me: “What time did you say they were coming on Saturday?”

Significant Other: “At eight sharp.”

Me: “Like I said, I’ll need twenty minutes to thaw.”

Roxy space heater

How are you staying warm this winter?

65 thoughts on “What are the ten words a woman most wants to hear?

    1. Jodi, you are most welcome! And like always, you’re spot on–the holiday season is when we should look around and show appreciation for all we have. Hugs to you, lady! :)

  1. Oh Bella…I get you…for the past 8 years I have been in Mexico…until this winter. Sofia and I are in Washington State and freezing to the core. We dont let go all night trying to keep warm…its terrible!! So I get you, sweet soul! SoOO happy you will be warm soon! Cant wait to hear all the funny that comes with a hot house:) Happy Holidays from one chilly girl to another! Love you, sweet soul!

    1. Sweet Brynne, I spent one freezing cold Christmas in Washington. I still remember the rain and the wind! I’m so sorry you’re not in Mexico for the holidays! I’m sure you are missing your beautiful warm weather and tasty food! I should definitely write a follow up post of the conversation that ensues after the heating system has been installed! hee hee! Love and more love to you! :)

  2. And here was I thinking that you were warm enough for the whole family, Bella! I hope they come and fix everything – so that life goes back to ‘normal’ again and you have a wonderfully warm holiday season!

    1. Corinne, you say the sweetest of things! Thank you! Would you believe the Significant Other came home today with the excellent news that he had finally purchased a dryer! Yippee! I’m in heaven! I can’t wait to empty all those hampers filled with dirty clothes! hee hee! I wish you, Jose, and Pablo a merry holiday season! Hugs! :)

  3. I know exactly what you mean. When I was staying in UK, to save on the astronomical electrical charges hubs and I would layer up to avoid heating the house 24×7 in Winters. Now I am back in India…so it is always warm :)

    Hope you are warm and toasty for the holiday season:)

    1. LP, you lucky lady, you, to be basking in the warmth and the luscious aromas of India! Thank you for your well wishes! I’m so grateful for your kind words! Happy holidays! :)

  4. Hooray for the heat that will soon be permeating your abode, sweet Bella.

    You manage to make what could be a deal-breaking situation into one that makes your readers laugh, and then encourages them (me!) to consider how fortunate they are (I am!) to have heat.

    If you need a wake-up call to make sure you’re up and at ’em, and sufficiently thawed out, I’m your girl. ;-) xoxo

    1. Ellen, you sweet woman, you, thank you! I feel so much stronger and confident to know you’re in my corner! Yay! (And you should know by now that I don’t “yay” often, which makes you special!) hee hee! xoxo :)

    1. Jasmine, it’s clear I won’t be hearing them from the Significant Other any time soon! bwhahaha! Thank goodness for the idealist in me who makes me believe that sometimes love does save the day! :)

  5. Bella, your travails always make me laugh!!! I went without heat or hot water one winter in Sicily (I know, it’s a bit warmer here than where you are). Still It drove me crazy–I could not convince the national energy company to connect me.The upside to the inconvenience is that heat and hot water now feel positively LUXURIOUS.

    1. Jann, thank you for your ever present praise. I don’t know what I’d do without it! Oh, you really must write a series of blog posts of the travails you underwent getting set up in Sicily! I think situations like the one you describe would make for excellent blog fodder! Think about it, please! Hugs! :)

  6. I grew up near Chicago where winter is COLD! I’m so glad I don’t have to deal with that anymore, but even in California, I need my furnace. I’m so glad you’ll be warm again soon. Lola sends you furry snuggles.

    1. Shary, Roxy and I are missing your blog posts and Lola’s like crazy! Chicago? Oh my! Now that’s what I call cold! Please thank Lola for her furry snuggles! Roxy and I can feel them across the miles! :)

  7. Bella, TWO WINTERS without a heater? I don’t know how you did it, but I’m so glad the repairman will be fixing your heater at long last. OMG. Wishing you love and plenty of warmth this christmas!!!!

  8. I didn’t have to read beyond “fix the heating system” (but I did) to start writing an answer. If there is one thing I dread, it’s being cold. I wear a headband and a pair of mits (those gloves without tip ends of the fingers) in the house. Two pairs of socks and boots with the bathrobe. I have an old house and yes it’s insulated but an old house has cracks, no matter what.

    I have to say I have gas logs so I can’t complain. Guess where I spend my time? In front of them as much as possible. Me and the cats.

    Your Santa is coming on Saturday!! Have cookies and milk for the fixit guy. Or maybe eggnog.

    Merry Xmas, Bella and Roxy!

    1. Eloise, you should see how we have spent the last few weeks! I’ve been wearing fingerless gloves for two weeks and a hat! hee hee! I’m glad your house is insulated. This one has so many cracks the wind comes in all directions! ha! Someday I hpe to live in a house with a fireplace–so darling! Merry Christmas to you and the kitties from Roxy and me! Hugs! :)

    2. I feel your pain. I hate to be cold! The first year I was in this house, the furnace went. On the coldest day. With snow. I wore everything I owned.

      Merry Xmas to you and Roxy! Might be time for you to break out the toddies or Irish coffee.

    3. Eloise, indeed this might be a great time to bring out the distilled spirits! hee hee! Like we need any more of those on the holidays! ha! Happy 2013, my friend, and may you never have to be cold again! :)

  9. The older I get, the more I long for a getaway each winter from the Canadian cold. Call ahead and make sure he (or she!) brings ample spare parts! Wishing you warmth this Christmas, Bella!

    1. Astra, you sweetheart, thank you! The repair crew has come and gone and I’m basking in the flow of heat as we speak! There is a God! ha! Merry Christmas, my friend! :)

  10. my dear Bella, wish you would enjoy a warm and comfy home soon!, omg!, it’s really hard to imagine how awful is to live without heating!, you’re really a Super Heroine!
    and poor little Roxy!
    besos & calor

    1. Poor little Roxy indeed, Mrs. Allnut! She’s been shivering since the temperature begn to drop. Fortunately, we had the heat back on Saturday evening and she seemed quite relajada! hee hee! Felices pascuas, amiga mia! Besos y abrazos! :)

  11. Bella, you would not believe my life right now. Swamped! But you had my in stitches. The words a woman wants to hear! Lol. Hope you didn’t have to get up too early and hope it’s working again. I can only imagine what it was like. But lady, I’ve decided you need to do a photography book for I just love all your photos of Roxy, and these are fantastic. I love the black and white, and the closeup in the first one. I see a coffee table book with, not only photos of Roxy, but of other dogs. Dog lovers everywhere would scoop this book up. My only question is, can Henry be in it, too? :)

    1. Monica, I love the idea! I wish I had the right equipment. But alas, with my humble point and shoot I could no do Sir Henry justice! How sweet of you to think that my wee talents can aspire to such a grand dream! Thank you for believing in me! I promise that if ever I embark on such a project, Sir Henry will be included! hee hee! Here’s hoping you get some down time soon and you have a merry holiday season! :)

    1. Kim, I think Roxy has been yearning for the heat more than we have! hee hee! Fortunately, we are now enjoying a very warm home and we’re loving it! Merry Christmas to you and your family, my friend! Hugs and kisses from Roxy and me! :)

  12. Awwww Bella, I am sending you lots of hugs, hugs, and HUGS to warm you up! It started snowing yesterday, so it’s gotten a lot colder here. Which means– bundling up despite the heater being on! :)

    1. Laura, my sister, who lives in North Dakota, says the same thing. The heating system doesn’t seem to be enough when it’s 30 below outside! Thank you for the love, lady! Roxy and me send you hugs and more hugs! :)

  13. We went through this at the start of winter. OLD HOUSE OLD HEATER 10K to replace. I cried. Husband the nerd he is found replacement parts on ebay and other geeks across the US who had a similar heater – even had YouTube videos how to fix. In short, the old girls is chugging along. Fingers are crossed she survives until the end of the winter. I am with the Son – what was life like before. I feel like Scarlet O’Hara sometimes. Instead of saying “I’ll never go hungry again.” I am saying “I will never live in an old house again.. ” Happy Holidays, Bella. Wishing you a warm holiday and love..

    1. Brenda, I am sending happy thoughts your way that the old girl does indeed get revamped in time for the thick of winter! May your hubby work a miracle and find the needed parts, amiga! And you’re right–while old houses can be lovely, they can also be money pits. Such a shame, isn’t it? Happy holidays to you and your family! Hugs! :)

    1. Eve, I hope your holiday season was a happy one! You have no idea how much I’m enjoying the new heat in my home! I didn’t remember what it felt like! hee hee! Hugs! :)

  14. May the WARMTH of Christmas and the holiday season enter into your heart and warm your toes! :) Thinking of you from here in Northern Alberta, where it’s -25C. (-13F) I LOVE MY FURNACE!!!

    1. Diane, thank you, thank you for your warm wishes! I’ve been fortunate enough to have a warm Christmas and I’m a happy camper! ha! In your neck of the woods, hat is not a luxury, it’s part of survival! Brrr! Hugs to you! :)

  15. Considering our Christmas money went on a new heat/air unit which we had not been planning on purchasing until next Spring, I will be getting warm walking over to it, turning it up and doing a happy dance. We once had to heat by woodstove. Heat pumps are WAY better. So are you thawed out enough to do a post sequel??

    1. Nan, I know you feel my pain but I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s worth every cent. I haven’t felt this warm and cozy in a long time. So warm, in fact, that I’ve been lasy during the holiday season. I have to catch up with my blog reading and writing. Hugs! :)

  16. Bella, feliz navidad (tarde pero segura) y que el 2013 te traiga muchas salud, properidad y calorcito familiar!
    For fin estoy regresando a bloggerland y tu esres una de las primeros blog que estoy lellendo y comentando.
    We were almost in need of a heater because our temperature drop to 50 and that’s is icy cold for us South Floridians!
    Con carino, Ofelia

    1. Ofealia, amiga mia, que bueno tener noticias tuyas nuevamente! Te deseo much amor, felicidad, y salud en este 2013! I’m so happy to see you’re back in the blogosphere. I hope you’ll soon post, chica! I have missed you! Cuidate y muchos besos! :)

  17. That’s so odd… my furnace just got replaced a couple of days ago! It was constantly blowing hot then COLD air… unacceptable! The maintanance guy told me that the old furnace was from the 70’s… no wonder my gas bill was so high! I have been assured that the new one is more efficient, and I will be more comfortable in this drafty house… and still have a lower bill. Amazing what we get all excited over these days, eh?

    1. Oh, Amy, you too? I’m sorry you had the expense of replacing it but I’m glad you’ll be having a lower bill! And really, isn’t it funny how this things make us jump with joy? hee hee! Stay warm! :)

    1. Paz, you are so sweet! Thank you for your well wishes! I wish you a happy, happy New Year, filled with many lovely things to photography, joy, and laughter! Hugs! :)

    1. Lady, I’m so happy you made it here! I look forward to seeing you drop by again! I want to think that all who come here love to stay a while and have a giggle. I hope that too is your case! And thankfully, I am warm. Thank you for asking. I have yet to christen our new heating system! hee hee! :)

Talk to me

