Who wants a helping of Arrow with a side of Diggle?


cc licensed ( BY NC SD ) flickr photo shared by NiteLynx

I wanted to start off this post expressing my gratitude to all of you for asking me how my knee is doing.

I also wanted to give you an update.

After four months of being diagnosed with a tear in the meniscus, I seem to be improving slowly.

Very slowly.

There are days I think my knee is never going to produce scar tissue and I’m going to be left hobbling like a hobbit forever.

Nevertheless, I continue to wear my brace, elevate my leg, and sleep.

I find myself sleeping a lot.

Which is funny, given I’ve suffered from insomnia for most of my life.

And because I find myself dozing off during the day, I’m awake at odd hours of the night.

So, much like a vampire, I find myself limping meandering through the house, looking for something to nibble on, donning my blanket as a cape.

Sadly, little Roxy has also adopted this sleeping/non-sleeping pattern and seems to be eating round the clock.

We’ve come to embrace this way of life.

So much in fact, that we’re ready to audition as extras in the next Twilight sequel.

But I digress.

Last night, as I tossed and turned on the uncomfortable little couch in the family room, I thought it best to get up and find a way to induce sleep.

As I browsed the list of the many TV episodes I haven’t watched, I came across one of the last episodes of Arrow.

I don’t know what made me think watching this show was going to make me sleepy.

Why?

Because one minute into the episode, watching the protagonist train bare-chested and glistening with sweat, I was salivating like one of Pavlov’s dogs.

And no, on this occasion I will not apologize for objectifying this amazing specimen.

Glued to my computer screen, hot tea dribbling onto my pajama shirt, I sat mesmerized looking at the most sculpted abs I have ever seen.

Roxy, aware of my drooling, jumped on the couch to see what was causing my hypnotic state.

Halfway through the episode, the desire to sleep long forgotten, Diggle, another male character, appeared shirtless.

At this point, I frantically looked around the room searching for anything that could substitute for a paper bag.

You know, in case I started hyperventilating.

Yet, it seems unfair to objectify discuss these characters without giving a synopsis of the show.

The show Arrow, a modern depiction of the DC Comic character Green Arrow, features billionaire playboy Oliver Queen, who after being shipwrecked on an island for five years, returns home to Sterling City. His family soon comes to realize that Oliver is a changed man. However, Oliver is not the only one who has changed. His beloved city has taken a turn for the worse–overwrought with crime and corruption, it is now at the hands of criminals who exploit the innocent. With the help of his bodyguard John Diggle, Oliver will assume the identity of Arrow, a vigilante whose mission is clean up the city and right the wrongs committed by his father. The show airs on the CW on Wednesday at 8pm, eastern standard time.

And there you have it.

If you haven’t seen this show, I highly recommend it.

It is action packed, the acting passes muster, and it features men who are more than willing to whip off their shirts.

Nevertheless, because the show doesn’t feature a warning, I feel it my sisterly duty to provide one.

Not recommended to those battling insomnia. Viewing the male characters may cause heart palpitations, impair your ability to speak, and produce sweaty palms. Use care until you become familiar with the plot and the protagonist’s insistence to bare his chest and perform the “salmon ladder” stunt, in which he hoists himself up a series of metal rungs whilst only holding a long, metal bar. Other symptoms might include vertigo, excessive salivation,and biting of the lips. Proceed to watch only after you have passed a physical exam and/or your physician has given you green light. Repeated viewing may cause addiction and drooling. It is recommended you have a paper towel with you at all times. Interrupted viewing may result in withdrawal symptoms.

Watch at your own risk!

Have you watched the show Arrow?

Disclaimer: The following post is written for entertainment purposes only and does not offer real psychiatric or medical advice. Information provided in the post should not be construed as professional advice. In addition, while I don’t support the objectification of men or women, comments provided in the post serve to confirm that the CW has been successful in targeting a female demographic.

39 thoughts on “Who wants a helping of Arrow with a side of Diggle?

  1. Somehow I’ve missed this show and the clip made me feel horribly inadequate. I don’t think I could even hold onto a bar like that without falling to the ground, much less “climb” with it. Clearly I need to work on my upper body strength. :)

  2. Hola mi Bella, que penas que tengas dolor en la rodillas. Espero en Dios que te mejores pronto.
    I watched Arrow to see Paul Blackthorn – Detective Quentin Lance!
    Now this is a guy that I salivate for; especially when he speaks!!!!!!

    1. Ofelia, gracias por tus palabras de aliento! La verdad es que esta recuperacion se esta tardando mas de la cuenta. Que hartera! ja ja! Oh yes, the detective. Very sexy in a “vintage” sort of way! ha! And you’re right–his voice is hot! :)

  3. Bella, I honestly have never heard of this show. And I am the Queen to TV viewing. Each week I record about 30 different shows–so how is it this one escaped me? Sounds intriguing. Will have to check it out as soon as I clear the 60 hours of programming now on my DVR.

    1. Monica, how can you not have heard of this show? You have to schedule into your TV viewing STAT! No woman should be deprived of ogling, I mean, admiring these hunky men! hee hee! And that I mention that the plot isn’t half bad? :)

  4. Bella my dear–please get better soon so you can go back to your regular programming!!! I’ve never heard of Arrow but when I watched this clip made me think “torture chamber.” Something about the way he was hanging upside down and the ominous music & clanging of metal pipes? Give sweet little Roxie a kiss for me, and I hope she gets back on her walk routine soon.

    1. Jann, little Roxy is more than eager to be back on her regular walking schedule. The Son helps and the Significant Other takes her on a walk when he comes home from work but it’s not the same. They’re all about “getting the job” done while when I take her out, it’s about sniffing, meeting up with furry friends, stopping to chat with other humans, and so forth. Ah…how I miss those days! :)

  5. Haven’t watched it yet… Lately, I’ve been watching Banshee, The Folowing and Black Mirror (the last one is an excellent British drama/SF/satire, there are 3 episodes so far). All are quite dark, the first two are also really brutal, so after that, I searched for cute unicorn pictures on the internet. Do you think Arrow could substitute a cute unicorn? :)

    1. Ivana, I love The Following! I caught the first two episodes and boy were they creepy! You don’t often see such a well made TV show. If you ask me, it’s more like a movie! And by the way, Arrow could and should totally substitute a cute unicorn! hee hee! :)

  6. I am not sure how this show has escaped me! I’m impressed you even noticing the quality of acting…. that’s like saying I watched Magic Mike for the plot! LOL Arrow could read the phone book after climbing the ‘ladder’….. I hope your knee starts feeling better soon! Give Roxy some kisses for me :)

  7. I’m not much on TV viewing, so it doesn’t surprise me that I haven’t heard of this show, Bella. Hmm, it doesn’t sound like something you should be watching, though, if you’re trying to get some sleep! Take care of your knee and watch Roxy’s snacks — you don’t want to force her to go on Weight Watchers, haha!

    1. Debbie, your comment had me giggling. I do have to watch out that Roxy doesn’t overeat. If she gains too much weight, she can’t travel with me in the plane come summer and we can’t have that! Just in case though, I should check if there’s a doggy Weight Watchers! hee hee! :)

    1. Kim you are such a sweetheart! You can click the “Contact Me” form and I will get your email. I love Ecards! Hugs and kisses for you! :)

  8. I am glad to hear you are feeling better. You must miss your freedom. Hang in there. As for Arrow, have to admit I’ve been hooked from the get go. I love stuff like this. The sexy bare-chested guy just makes it all the better.

    1. Brenda, I knew that you would understand where I was coming from! hee hee! I love action heroes and when they’re in the flesh, well, let’s just say they’re ten times better! :)

  9. LMAO! :-D Bella, I’ve never heard of Arrow, but I will be checking it out with all warnings taken into consideration, and a couple paper towels at the ready.
    I now have a vision of you and Roxy, each with your sparkling Twilight makeup (in preparedness for you audition, of course) and blood-red pupils, riveted by the action on the screen in the wee small hours…
    hee hee heeeeeeeee :-D xoxo

    1. Ellen, your comment made my day! You had Roxy and me giggling with your description of our Twilight makeup! hee hee! Really, you must check this show out! I love it and something tells me you will too! xoxo :)

  10. And how did I miss this?! What would this world be without our friends to point out the amazing, important, and totally necessary things we need to live. Looking now for the remote. And a paper bag.

    1. bwhahaha! Oh Diane, you must have all these supplies at the ready! Make sure you watch it when husby’s out and about! hee hee! :)

  11. Is it just me, or is it getting hot in here?! “Oh look, I have my spray bottle. Let me mist those rock solid abs for you. A cloth with which to dab off the glistening sweat? My pleasure.” Oh, to be a personal assistant on THAT set! Maybe I should check craigslist.

    1. Lori, can you imagine us as extras on this set? Oh my goodness, we’d have a good time! We should see if they’re holding any kind of audition! ha! :)

  12. I agree completely. The CW knows how to market to the female audience. Male too. My guy watches Arrow with me. We both love Diggle, but I’m the only one who swoons over Oliver and his workout scenes. LOL. I really enjoy this show.

    I hope you feel better soon. I’ve torn ligaments in my knee and know how frustrating it is.

    1. Tiffany, the Son watches Arrow as well. Every time we watch the ladder scene, he says, “How does he do that?” hee hee! I love the show! Thank you for your well wishes, lady! I’m happy you dropped by! :)

    1. Hi Linda! I am indeed using my vision book! You should see the beautiful soothing photos I have in it! I kid you not when I say that I look at the lovely landscape photos and I can literally feel the tension leave my shoulders! :)

  13. OH MY WORD. First thing’s first, Bella. I am glad to hear that you are on the mend. Slowly, but surely, you are recovering, and that’s good news! :) Glad to hear that you’re getting sleep too, even though you’re living a vampiric lifestyle now, sleep is sleep! :) OK, so I’ll confess– I don’t like watching comic book based TV shows. Smallville was super crappy, so I vowed: NEVER AGAIN. But, even my comic book friends LOVE Arrow. And WHOA- he is intense, man. Talk about upper body strength!

    1. Laura, as always, your sweet encouragement puts a smile on my face! Thank you! And you’re right–sleep is sleep! I too hated Smallville. I stopped watching in the earlier seasons. The Son, however, watched every single one. Perhaps you could make one teeny weeny exception catch one episode of Arrow. You have nothing to lose and hey, abs like these don’t come too often, sister! ha! :)

  14. Oh my gosh. Who knew someone could “climb” like that? I just stared and stared, then hit the “watch it again Nan right away” buttom. Wow. Never heard of the show but might see if Alpha Hubby wants to try it. He likes action adventure. *Ahem*

    1. Oh, Nan, I do hope Alpha Hubby will comply! It’s such a great show that he’s sure to enjoy the action, fighting, and anything adrenalin infused! You, on the other hand, can enjoy the acting, ahem, and the eye candy! hee hee! :)

  15. First off, I know this is a post which is several weeks old. But since I didn’t know you were here until several days ago, I hope I’m off the hook! As for your knee, I pray it is nearly healed by now. Injuries such as the one you describe can take time to repair…a lot of it…(sorry, not meant to depress you)!

    As for the TV show “Arrow,” is there a female equivalent on air? If not, that’s okay, my luck would be that I’d have a fatal heart attack! I really like your stories…Skip

    1. Skip, I’m glad you found this post! I love the show! Alas, I can’t recall having seen any feminine equivalent of Arrow. I think this time, the eye candy is for the ladies. It’s about time! :)

    2. Hey, you “female folks” deserve it! Oh for the days when I could compete…naw, I was never “sharp as an Arrow” guy!

      I was a tall, lanky basketball player. The coach was always trying to put weight on me. Now, many years later, I wear a “few too many” pounds, but I’m okay with it.

      Take care…Skip

Talk to me

