Is elegance innate?


cc licensed ( BY ND ) flickr photo shared by Helga Weber

From across the street, I watched her.

Her red pashmina had caught my attention the moment she had stepped out of the car.

I looked on as she expertly drew the pashmina around her shoulders, transforming it into a stole.

She looked so elegant.
So sophisticated.

Just then, almost as if the universe took delight in mocking me, another beautiful woman waited for a car to pass before swiftly crossing the street.

Dressed in a beautiful black knee-length coat, with a pearl-colored scarf delicately wrapped around her neck, she resembled a graceful gazelle.

I couldn’t help noticing how the ends of her scarf floated behind her like wings.

As I slowly made my way home, I wondered how some women have the ability of making elegance seem so effortless.

Convinced that they were born with a special gene, I sought comfort in the fact they were but a lucky few.

Nevertheless, I sighed as I thought how wonderful it would be to have that look.

That look of “je ne se quois.”

That look of sophistication that says, I am beautiful and I know it.

These thoughts put me at war with my belief that all women are beautiful.

Yet a part of me conceded that while it was true that we were all beautiful, this didn’t necessarily mean that we all had the ability to exude elegance.

Determined to put this theory to the test, I called out to the Significant Other to bring down the basket where I store my scarves.

Bewildered, he looked on as I hurriedly threw scarf after scarf on the sofa until I found the one I was looking for.

Holding it up, I noticed how it sparkled against the beam of light that emanated from the reading lamp.

I smiled as I remembered my mother’s words the day she gave it to me.

“Here you go, Bella. So you can feel pretty and warm.”

I carefully wrapped it around my shoulders, trying to mimic the movements of the woman I had seen on the street earlier.

My breath caught as I spied my reflection in the glass.

There, standing in front of the Significant Other and Roxy I stood– looking like a badly wrapped burrito.

“Dare I ask what you’re doing?” I heard the Significant Other ask.

My sharp look and pursed lips indicated that this was not a good time.

Convinced it was my lack of expertise in arranging the pashmina just so, I pulled out another scarf.

This time, a luxurious cashmere little number I had bought back in the day when I didn’t have to worry about college tuitions bleeding me dry.

Twice around the neck, and voila!

I turned once again to look at my reflection.

This time it looked like I was wearing a high end neck brace.

At that point, I jammed all the scarves in the basket and instructed the Significant Other to take them away, no questions asked.

As I poured myself a cup of coffee, I thought that perhaps the look of sophistication was learned and not innate.

Perhaps these women attended a special “elegance learning” school where they were instructed in the fine art of tying scarves, faking the look of a stole, and walking in a way that prompted their scarves to come to life.

Or perhaps they all looked like badly wrapped burritos and it was my ID who was romanticizing their appearance and making them appear like unstoppable goddesses.

Calling out to the Significant Other, I stopped him midway up the stairs.

Reaching into the basket, I pulled out the pashmina.

“Don’t ask,” I hissed as I walked back to my room.

Opening the small cabinet door, I carefully placed it on top of the clothes already stored there.

It was irresponsible of me to conclude that my theory was right or wrong.

I would have to put it to the test once more.

Tomorrow.

I would try again tomorrow.

Do you think elegance is learned or something a person is born with?

77 thoughts on “Is elegance innate?

  1. Oooh, such a question, bella Bella.

    I think, for those of us wishing to exude elegance, it is both intention and expression. I think, first, we have to hold the intention of not just looking, but being elegant, and, second, express that in the way that makes sense to us.

    For those who we see as being elegant… It’s perception. I would bet that our perceptions of elegance, yours and mine, will be different; perhaps not markedly so, but even still, different.

    lol :-) Now I’m thinking of Yoda, saying, “Try not. Do or do not. There is no try.” We can’t try to be elegant; we’ve just go to do it. We’ve got to be elegant. xoxo

    1. Ellen, you are wise as you are smart! I love how you’ve included perception as a way to view elegance. It’s true–every person will have her or his definition and I’m sure this will change as we age and mature. Yoda is amazing! We must try, sister! We must try at that! xoxo :)

  2. Bella! Elegance can be learnt – i believe its got to do with upbringing and it certainly can be cultivated! :)

    and it’s also in the mind – one must first feel elegant so that it translates into how we act/ behave. because a person can be elegant even without beautiful scarves or a string of pearls. It’s in the attitude, and how we carry it into our lives.

    just some humble thoughts!

    love from Singapore!
    felicia

    1. Felicia, my friend, your “humble” thoughts are spot on! I agree–the mind does have a way of influencing how we feel about ourselves. And feeling elegant does not depend wholly on clothes or accessories. My nana used to say that elegance had to do with how a woman carried herself–shoulders pulled back, head raised–exuding confidence and elegance, both at the same time! Much love to you, lady! :)

  3. I’m not the least bit elegant, more charmingly disheveled (at least I think so). I’m actually okay with that, though sometimes I wish my post-menopausal crazy hair would behave a bit more.

    One thing I know about you, Bella…I don’t know how you wear your scarves, but you’re an “unstoppable goddess” in my book!

    1. Nadine, how lovely you must look in charmingly disheveled! You had me laughing with the post-menopausal hair! I think we should consider this another rite of passage–one that delivers us onto sublime elegance! ha! Thank you for your lovely comment, Nadine. Methinks you too are an unstoppable goddess! :)

  4. Interesting! I think that maybe poise is innate but elegance is learned. And also that maybe they also felt they looked like a burrito (good one!). We are our own worst critics after all. It’s true though that some people just have it…

    1. Danielle, for a long time I thought poise had everything to do with elegance. Now I’m starting to think it’s just another part of the whole. You are so correct–we can be our worst critics. The good Lord knows I’m guilty of that, though I am trying hard to accept myself unconditionally. Yet, we have to admit that like you mention, some women just have it going on, sister! So lovely to see you here. I have to drop by your blog! :)

  5. Wow! You are a writer! You held me through it all with some good suspence!
    Elegance is an awareness. The moment you are sure of it, you will exude it with ease. Don’t go trying to look like anyone else. Just be yourself, in your own choice dresses and styles. Being cool with yourself makes the world cool with you!
    Lovely post! :)

    1. Teeceecounsel, every time you drop by my blog, you leave me with the most wonderful nuggets of wisdom! Thank you! I think your advise is truly valuable–being yourself and accepting who you are are pivotal to self love. I’m delighted you liked the post! :)

  6. A badly wrapped burrito!!! :) Bella, you really made me laugh with this. If you’re funny, who needs elegance, anyway???? Wit is much more precious.

    1. Oh, Jann, your words are a like a balsam to my soul! Thank you! I’m counting on laughter and wit substituting elegance for I’m afraid I have much work to do in that department! hee hee! :)

  7. Bella you are such a good story teller. It never cease to make me laugh and enjoy all your posts. I dont know much about elegance. I am not but it is a lot to do with confidence and yes like someone commented upbringing to a point. But I guess there are schools that teach you elegance

    1. Rimly, your beautiful words do this wannabee writer proud! Thank you, my dear. You are very, very sweet! I agree with you–confidence and elegance appear to go hand in hand. And really, do you think it’s too late to sign up at the elegance school? hee hee! :)

  8. Elegance is learned, I’m pretty sure of it. Have you noticed how dancers walk? It looks so natural, so easy, and they actually spent years learning to dance, and the way they walk is just a side effect of it. I think it’s similar with elegance, we learn many things, and the combined side effects make us elegant.

  9. It’s only necessary to be ourselves, elegant or not. It may be cultivated or it may be in the genes, it doesn’t really matter, it is either part of us or not, but it shouldn’t require such an effort. Being who you really are shows in your face, in your smile, in your eyes; better to be known on the inside than admired only on the outside. No need for those sunglasses then. :)

    1. Claire, thank you for the valuable insight. I too believe that being ourselves is what truly counts. There’s nothing worse than pretending to be something we’re not. Here’s to not expending so much energy on things that are not part of our true essence! :)

  10. Oh Bella you’re hilarious. I so know what you mean though. I remember trying on a dress once in a shop where a young blonde too good looking for her own good somebody tried on 6 dresses in a row and looked effortlessly gorgeous in every single one,, meanwhile my attempted purchase got put hastily back on the rack while I scurried home to think up ways to look half as wonderful. this of course would involve going back 25 years so i gave up haha.. As usual beautifully written and strikes a chord. xx

    1. Soul, don’t I know this scene well! Sigh. I think it gets worse the older we get. I really want to embrace the possibility that with age comes a different way of being beautiful but…hogwash! My nana used to say that youth in itself personified beauty. I’m starting to think she was right! hee hee! Hugs! :)

  11. Bella, I think our true elegance shines from within us. When we are comfortable with who we are and love ourselves, we can’t help but exude a positive, embracing elegance to others.
    Great post and, as always, so wonderfully humorous!
    Blessings!

    1. Martha, thank you for your ever kind words. They bring a smile to my face on this cold and damp afternoon! I think women have a hard time being comfortable in their own skin. I blame the media in part for this. We really have to work hard at not listening and falling prey to this medium’s definition of beauty and like you mention–loving ourselves they way we are. I’m a work in progress, lady! Much love to you! :)

  12. I think some people have a sense of style. I may have it sometime but not consistently. I think it comes with how well I am liking myself that day. :) Scarfs don’t look as good on a larger breasted woman I have noticed. ;)

    1. Jodi, you’ve hit the nail on the head, my friend–our perception of beauty is indeed influenced by our self esteem at that precise moment. I know this too well! Oh, oh…if what you say about scarves is true, I’m doomed to not wear any! hee hee! :)

  13. I also think elegance is tied to confidence. If you think you look great, it will show in how you carry yourself. When I feel good about what I’m wearing, I walk tall and am confident. It shows. When I’m wearing my frumpy army green pants, there’s no confidence in my walk or behavior. Own it, baby! I’m sure you are rockin’ that scarf :)

    How’s the knee? Are you getting out a bit?

    1. Sonja, thanks for the giggle! I try to rock pajama pants! hee hee! Sometimes it works, but most times it doesn’t! ha! My wee knee has developed a mind of its own. There are better days and there are bad days. Today’s a better day! :)

  14. I love this post Bella because I feel this way all the time! I always see women from all ages who just look so put together and, to use your word, elegant, and I wonder how did they get so lucky?! And don’t even get me started on scarves! I have watched so many YouTube videos about all the different ways to wear them and tie them and mine never really quite get there! You gave voice to my thoughts in this post, it’s nice to know I’m not alone! Thanks!

    1. Oh, Caryn, I am so happy to know we are kindred spirits! Or perhaps buddies of “misery loves company”! hee hee! No matter what, it’s good to know we’re on the same team! And yes, I have felt the way you feel many times. How do some women do it? It’s mystifying, I tell you! :)

  15. so provocative, bella. I thing elegance may be in the eye of the beholder. I see many pretty people where I live, and most aren’t elegant. I think elegance is part of your soul, the people who exude it, to me, manage contradictions in their very form. They look both lost and found, bent and straight, humble and oddly proud. It’s very difficult to hold the opposite ends of the spectrum in one small frame, one body. I remember a couple elegant people, souls I wanted to know, one was a lady I met in the frozen food section of the grocery story about 10 years ago. I don’t remember what she was wearing, but the elegance was in the way she spoke to me. I’ve always regretted not getting her number, I thought we could be friends. Another was a gal who used to frequent a cafe I worked in, she visited in the dead hours of the day between lunch and dinner, and she came with her boyfriend. The two of them wrote in books and drank coffee, they always smiled kindly when I served them, and lowered their heads a bit when they gave me enormous tips, I felt they could see through me, but were slightly ashamed of this fact. Their apprehension and generosity combined made them heartbreakingly elegant.

    1. Architect, thank you for sharing these wonderful experiences with us! Indeed you have given us a different way of viewing elegance! :)

  16. Bella, how I love this! I’m just not a scarf-person. Never have been. I feel totally awkward tying them and I just know I look worse than a “wrapped burrito” wearing them! And yet…. I’ve seen women wearing them and looking, as you say, fabulous. How they do it is a mystery to me. Maybe I wasn’t in that line when the “elegance gene” was being distributed! Sad to say, I’m not sure it’s something that can be learned, either, haha!

    1. Debbie, your comment confirms it–we were sisters in another life! hee hee! I read your words and think, exactly! And sister, I’m with you 100 percent! Will we ever find out if elegance is something we can learn? We have to really put this theory to the test! Perhaps I shall call out to any “masters of elegance” readers and ask they write a “tips” post! ha! :)

  17. I remember once my mom saying to me, “I don’t know where you got it from, but you have always been so graceful.” I was stunned because I always thought of myself as rather clumsy. I do know that I have always studied grace and how certain women do have that “certain elusive something”. I have always been into beauty products, knowledge and know-how. I do not always succeed in my endeavors to be elegant but I believe it is learned and one has to WANT to learn it. It is also what one has been surrounded by – both good and bad – with the knowledge that one can change themselves any time they wish to. I strive to be that elegant woman – when I get done laughing at myself (and this hysterical post) – I get up and try again!

    1. Hi Nan! You have no idea how much it makes my day to know I’ve made you laugh with this post! I think you’ve touched upon some important points, mainly that someone has to want to learn how to be elegant. For the most part, I wish I could go to bed and wake up early. At this stage in the game, I’m afraid my energy levels are low. I have to conserve whatever energy I have so I can tie that scarf! hee hee! Thanks for your lovely words! :)

  18. Both, Bella! I actually read a novel about this very subject, so it isn’t just you who is fascinated by it. (http://www.amazon.com/Elegance-Kathleen-Tessaro/dp/0060522275). The character in the novel is reading another book about elegance in which the writer says that true natural beauty is a gift given to few women and it fades quickly, but everyone can acquire elegance. You can learn to choose clothes and move in more elegant ways. But the question is whether you want to be bothered. I greatly admire women who have a ‘look’ – like those girls who do the full retro fifties thing every day, down to hair and fingernails. But I feel faint just thinking about the effort involved. Washed face and hair and brushed teeth is about as fancy as I get, most days!

    Having said all that about learning, though, I do think some women have a natural flair. My Dad did national service in the army and he said that, although they all got the same uniform and the same conditions, while most of the boys just looked ordinary, some were messy, no matter what they did and a few managed somehow to look at though they’d just stepped out of the tailor’s, no matter what they’d been doing.

    There are many forms of charm. Elegance is one, but it is not the only one. At least, I hope not! ;)

    1. Imelda, I have got to check that book out! I am intrigued. And sister, I hear you. Most days, I’m happy to brush my teeth. Oh dear. When you get older, anything provides a sense of accomplishment! hee hee! Your dad sounds very much like my father. Daddy was in the United States Army for 30 years and there wasn’t a day when he would dress in the shiniest boots and assume the best posture I have yet to see in a man. Sigh. They don’t make men like that anymore! And here’s to other forms of charm! :)

  19. I love scarves and I’ve started wearing them more often now that my hair is short. They do keep my neck warmer and although I think I ususally look frumpy, a scarf makes me feel just a little stylish. I like to imagine that I could go to some sort of charm school and learn elegance, but that seems like an old-fashioned notion.

    1. Shary, when I was little, the girl next door assisted classes at a “refinement” school. I remember my mom laughing when I told her I wanted to go. hee hee! I think you must look fabulous in a scarf! Nothing frumpy about you, lady! :)

  20. I do think elegance is learned, Bella. I am anything but elegant, but have watched some women who do the most mundane of tasks with such grace and elegance! I watch the cookery shows and they seem to make cooking such an art – the women and their food scream elegance. My point is as look as we get the job done who cares how we look doing it. A case of sour grapes, perhaps? ;)

    1. No, Corinne, no sour grapes for you–just plain logic! I love your take on how getting things done is all that matters! And yes, some women do have a sense of ease and style. I’m starting to think that we all look graceful doing something. We just have to find out what that something is! hee hee! :)

  21. I love love love this post, sweet Bella.

    I understand. I know women like this. We’ve talked about this in conversation….You know, about those sort of women who can breeze by in their flowing, silk scarves with dark red lipstick—smelling of expenisive perfume with such effortless style.

    I’m not sure what it is, but I’ve observed several women from Europe like this.

    I’ve tried. I couldn’t do it. The scarf didn’t fall properly!

    But there are other things I CAN DO.

    Just like you!!!

    For example, NOBODY can write as magically and uniquely as you.

    GREAT Post. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx LOVE to you and Rox.

    1. Kim, your comment has made my day! Thank you for your kind and loving words. Yes, indeed, we have had this conversation we have commiserated on the fact that we wish we could pull off such a look. Ahh, these European women—how do they do it! I’m still hoping some of that elegance will rub off on me! hee hee! Love to you from Roxy and me! :)

  22. Great post, Bella, and a great question you put out there. I don’t know the answer, either. I know for me it depends on my mood. Sometimes I feel elegant, but most of the time I think I may look like one of those Wal-Martians!

    1. Hi Nina! I have missed you! I want you to know that the term “Wal-Martians” had me in stitches! Oh my, isn’t that a feeling I am well acquainted with! Thank you for making me laugh, friend! :)

  23. What a well written article! Now to answer your question, I think elegance is a mixture of both. I think you can be born with it and that it can be seen in our creative gene. In this regard, a person will likely be creative in other areas of their lives as well (artwork, jewelry making, etc.) But then it can be learned too, by enhancing this skill (word of mouth, youtube videos, etc.) Interestingly enough, you utilized scarves to convey this. My mother is a scarf fanatic and I honestly think she knows how to tie one in every way known to man. At first, she began by experimenting and she noticed that she would frequently get positive feedback (innate). When it became expected of her to know how to handle a scarf, she began asking others for the way that they did theirs, if and when she desired someone else’s approach (learned). I think you would have a hard time learning it, without it being innate, and I think that if it were innate, it could be more enhanced by learning it. Therefore, I think they are necessarily created together. Thanks for getting me thinking!

    1. Lady, I am delighted at how this post got you thinking! And I believe you have solved the mystery for us! Your words convey what many have suspected all along–elegance is both innate and learned. It wasn’t until I read your words that the meaning of this became clear. Thank you! I wish I lived close to your mother. I could benefit from taking some scarf-tying lessons! :)

  24. Bella, I think some people have it, and some need help. Take me. I don’t have it. But I have a personal stylist I use at Nordstrom’s and in the two years that she’s been dressing me, my style IQ has increased tenfold. Now, I’m only a schlep on the weekends when I don’t go out and stay home writing all day. During the week when I head to the office, I have several wonderful outfits to choose from. It can get pricey at times, but feeling better about the way I look has been worth it. :)

    1. Those outfits may be pricey, Mon, but you’re worth it, baby! How wonderful to have a personal stylist! Now I want one! hee hee! My sister serves as my fashion consultant when we visit Spain in the summer. She actually brings me clothes from my favorite stores and for the time I am there and under her tutelage, I feel like a diva! It’s only when I return home that I begin to dress like a “schlep” (love that word)! hee hee! :)

  25. I often feel elegant until I walk out the door and start galumphing through life. I find it amazing that my perfectly put-together look falls apart within fifteen minutes into a rumpled mess, no matter what I do.

    I keep trying to figure out what it is about me that causes this, but I still can’t figure it out. Or how to solve it. I want to be elegant and graceful… maybe in my next life

    1. You and I both, sister! Oh my goodness, and here I thought I was the only one this happened to! I swear that this is exactly how I feel most of the time I walk out the door. I think I look great before leaving the house and then an hour later, I catch a glimpse of my reflection in a store window and I realize I look like something the cat dragged in! hee hee! Argh, this oily skin of mine! Yep, maybe in another life! ha! :)

  26. Isn’t it true? Some people can just look good in a feed sack, others can’t carry off an Armani. But you strike me as the elegant type, so I’m betting you can work anything you choose.

  27. Sigh. I know exactly what you are talking about. I went through a stage where I wanted to have natural elegance – think Audrey Hepburn, but no matter what I did I never managed an effortless style. I did discover I look and feel better when I stick to the classics and one thing I know for sure I am not a scarf person. Scarves tend to overwhelm my petite frame and no matter what I do I can’t get them tied to look presentable.

    1. Saavy, I feel your pain. I too am petite but only in stature. For the rest, there is plenty of me so as to not overwhelm my frame! hee hee! I love scarves–I have since I was a child. My mother used to wear them on her hair and neck, along with a large pair of “Jackie O.” sunglasses and she looked like a diva! The fascination continues today. :)

  28. This is a great post Bella.

    How do we perceive elegance? Is it something intrinsically part of the other person or an aspect of our own minds? If it has something to do with ourselves and the belief and thought structure we build on top of that, what do we need to do to shift our perspective?

    Cheers

    Shakti

    1. Shakti, hello and welcome! You’ve raised some excellent points, and made me think! Perhaps a shift in perception would allow me to feel like like a schlep and more like a goddess, right? :)

  29. I would think it’s something a person is born with or without. At least the essence is. I know I don’t have much elegance or glamour or sexy essence in me. (But it’s okay, I have others! Um … Mmmm … will figure them out when I have more time to think about this.) We could probably ‘pick up’ some elegance, though it might take years for elegance to diffuse from our spirit.

    1. Oh, Claudine, and really, do we have patience to wait for elegance to diffuse from our spirit? hee hee! How I wish we could snap our fingers or blink our eyes like “I dream of Jeannie” and suddenly turn ourselves into rock stars! ha! :)

  30. I’ve always thought it was, and I don’t have it When I met the mom of my first real love, I froze. To me she had walk right off the cover of a magazine. She was dressed from head to toe in white linen, her make-up was flawless, and she glided across the room. Worse, there wasn’t a wrinkle anywhere on her body. I was wrinkled just looking at her..:-)

    1. Brenda, how this comment made me giggle! An flawlessly dressed woman is a formidable force, tis true! And intimidating, for sure! hee hee! No worries, my friend–I’m certain you looked lovely! :)

  31. Lovely read! Elegance like style is different to some people, i.e., To me having elegance regarding to one’s style is a characteristic that happens in the attitude of someone. It’s learnt and apart of the person’s style stride, but never forced. It may be a mannerism of dress or the way a person puts diverse elements together, resulting in sophistication, etc, Sure, I believe it can be a trait that is also somewhat influenced by a family member. I think there can be layers of elegance, because to me my Nan has such elegance that sometimes I feel it’s just in her blood, she just cannot help it … I’m hardly striving for that one, lol. I’ll just keep doing what’s comfortably me!! /Madison

    1. Madison, you have made an interesting point–elegance can’t be forced. When I asked all of you wonderful readers to help me define elegance, I knew you’d have the answers! I’m beginning to think that the women of yesteryear were born with elegance. Your Nan and my nana are testament to that. I remember looking at my grandmother, perfectly coiffed, in her low black heels, with her leather purse and thinking, wow! Just wow! If I could only be so lucky! You, on the other hand, have nothing to worry about. Lady, you ooze elegance! :)

  32. Bella you always make me laugh ! I almost spill my coffee this morning. Elegance is learned and I am sure of it. It also depends on your upbringing , I remember as a young girl I used to sit for hours in my mother’s closet and admire out her latest finds. I thought she was so elegant from her long beautiful hair to the smell of her parfum to the way she walked. Growing up with her image I just wanted to be like her. I surely don’t see myself as elegant but someone who loves to take care of herself.

    1. Ciaa, darlin’, I see you both as someone who is elegant AND who loves to take care of herself! We should all look as lovely as you do in your beautiful, fashionable outfits! Thank you for your insight! :)

  33. Hi Bella,

    Like anything else, anyone can learn how to be more elegant, but that will only take a person part of the way there. Nice clothes and accessories can bring one closer to achieving that look, but I’m afraid that there’s still a distance to be bridged.

    I think that the truly elegant — those who possess the stop you in your tracks to gaze type of elegance — didn’t learn how to be that way. They seem to effortlessly exude poise, confidence, and style in every situation; wearing any garb. I married such a person. Watching her in action never gets old.

    1. Aw, Ray, your wife is lucky to have you! Such chivalry! I love it! I’m afraid that if true elegance is innate, then I’m doomed. hee hee! A part of me continues to hope that some day I too shall exude poise whatever I’m wearing! :)

  34. dear bella, I believe elegance has to be hard to learn, specially when it seems to be natural and unaffected!, but I also think that there’re some elegance goddesses between us, walking and living and wearing scarfs without looking like a wrapped burrito. And we’re just common mortals and we can just admire that rare talent!
    And I would love to have more time to read and comment, but I’m still reading your posts, laughing with your funny anecdotes, and wishing you get well soon!
    besos, querida Bella!

    1. Querida Mrs. Allnut, how I knew that you would add to our definition of elegance! I’m starting to see a general consensus of how “true” elegance cannot be learned. Perhaps we can conclude that appearing elegant is something we can learn and that exuding elegance effortlessly is a gift from the gods. hee hee! Either way, I think you are blessed with both! Thank you for your well wishes! I’m so happy you dropped by and provided your insight! Muchas gracias! Besos, amiga mia! :)

  35. Bella, I dream of elegance, but I’m afraid I’m such a klutz that I may never learn how to be elegant. :) I just sure hope it isn’t natural because one day– one day I WILL be elegant! Even if it takes me 50 years to learn! And thanks so much, dear Bella, for your sweetest of sweet comments! My husband told me the same thing you said about regretting not doing what you’ve always wanted to do, and that sealed it for me, basically. I definitely think, though, that it’s never too late to pursue your dreams, and I believe you should go on ahead and just go for yours! You’re such an amazing writer with such great humor and wit. I feel as if I’ve known you for as long as I’ve been reading your blog!

  36. I found a smile lingering and then it grew broader and broader with each successive line until it burst out into a full blown guffaw at the wrapped up burrito review! Oh Bella! I love you!!! Only you could have tackled the topic of elegance with such dazzling wit that I seriously suspect you’ve elegance wrapped around your finger all right. In the meantime, your seriously sophisticated friend who guffaws bid you the best kind of day where Pashmina flows like angel wings draped over your shoulders. Hugs always, Sharon

    1. Sharon, this is such a beautiful comment! I just loved it and had to share it with the Son and the Significant Other. Truly, you and the rest of my readers are what inspire me to keep writing. I am delighted to have made you laugh and take to heart your loving wishes of a Pashmina with wings! What a beautiful sight that must be! Hugs to you! :)

Talk to me

