Have you missed me?

diary writing

I want to think that I’ve been missed. I want to suppose someone has wondered why I haven’t posted in a while. I need to believe someone, anyone, has asked himself or herself where I am.

The truth is, I’ve been held hostage. Or more accurately, I’ve held myself hostage. This isn’t the first time I’ve done this. Readers who follow my blog can attest to the fact that my going AWAL has become rather habitual; that my rants have become fewer and far between.

But like I said, I’ve been in self imposed captivity.

How? In thinking the only time I can write is when circumstances are right; when all my ducks are in a row; when everything else has been handled. Only then, can I set my imagination free so as to give birth to creativity.

However, I’ve come to realize that I am never going to have enough time. My ducks are never going to be aligned and something will always have to be handled.

That’s life; the way things are. It is not going to change.

So after much pondering, I’ve concluded that if I don’t take action, this blog is going to die. My virtual friends are going to disappear, and if I wait longer, no one is going to wonder where I’ve gone.

Some time ago, I read the following phrase: “A true writer is unable to stop writing. For a true writer, it is easier to stop breathing than to stop writing.” Don’t ask me where I read that. I’m afraid I don’t remember. Nevertheless, the message stayed with me.

I thought of those words today, and while I agree there are times writers are unable to stop writing, I disagree that only those capable of doing so are true writers.

Which leads me to ask myself, am I truly a writer?

This question is what prompted me to think about what direction this blog should take; before it dies; before you forget about me.

And I’ve decided that more than a writer, I am a communicator. It is vital to my existence for me to communicate; to share with others what touches my life. As such, no longer will I wait for the perfect time to crank out what I believe to be a writing piece worth reading. Instead, I am going to communicate more.

At times, it might only be through a photo of something that caught my eye. Or an anecdote of someone or something that infuriated, impressed, or shocked me. Other times, it might simply be a haiku.

I truly hope you will continue to accompany me on this journey. I promise to try and make it an interesting one.

Who calls shotgun?

XOXO,

47 thoughts on “Have you missed me?

  1. Sweet, Bella,
    You were missed.
    Roxy was missed.
    Your words were missed.
    Your humor was missed.
    All. of. it.
    PS. I despise people defining what a “Writer” is or is not. A writer is somebody who writes, communicates, makes others “FEEL” something. Period.

    XXXX KISSSSSSSSSSSS. Love. Hugs. Lots more.

    1. Kim, your words touch me. Thank you! I have missed your sweet words! I love your definition of what makes a writer. So true, my friend! :)

  2. SHOTGUN!! And what Kim said up there! I missed you so much. You were GREATLY missed. I know I’ve told you that before but I’ll tell you again – I MISSED YOU SO MUCH. You and your words and your wonderful pictures and your inspiration to me, and, of course, Roxy. I’m glad you’re back and going to just be YOU, one who writes and communicates and just, sometimes, posts. Be YOU. It’s enough.

    1. Nan, it is so comforting to read your words. Thank you! Roxy is lapping up all the kind words, as am I. So happy to have you riding shotgun! :)

  3. Dearest Bella, of course we missed you!! I was even thinking about you the other day wondering if you were on your way to Spain. I just read, and I agree, that inspiration is not nearly as important for a writer as actually sitting your derriere down on a chair and keeping it there. xxxxhugs & kisses

    1. Jann, amica, how are you? I have missed your beautiful captures! I’m so behind in my blog reading! My apologies. And now that you mention Spain, I’m leaving next week! Yay! Stay tuned for pictures and posts from our weary travels. Hugs and kisses for you! :)

  4. Great to have you back, Bells! Missed you like the Dickens. Love the quote. I think Kim of My Inner Chick said that, or something to that effect. In any case, I agree. I love writing. I’ve slowed down a bit on my blog because of other commitments, but I’ll never stop writing. Not as long as I have a thought, and trust me. I have many thoughts dancing in this head. ;)

    1. Monica, you are a brilliant writer. It comes of no surprise to me that beautiful thoughts dance in your head! I have missed you, Sir Henry, and Oliver! Roxy too! It’s been a wild year. I pray things settle down. I shall put you up to speed soon! :)

  5. Bella,
    So nice to see you back. I too lost my OOMPH for my blog and writing, but I am OK with that, because it felt like a chore, and why should it? Not that I am advocating your stopping, but don’t be too hard on yourself, we all need to recharge.

    Can’t wait to see what’s next for you and miss Roxy.

    1. Hi Georgia! So happy to see you! I know exactly what you mean about needing to recharge. It surprised me how fast days would pass and I wouldn’t have the time or energy to pen a post. I finally decided it was time. It’s the supportive comments of my readers that inspire me to keep coming back. Thank you! :)

  6. I ran out of gas for blogging a while ago. Truth be told, I’m not really writing fiction anymore, either. I’ll get back to it one day, I think. Meanwhile, I still love following my virtual pals. I may not always comment, but I promise, I’m lurking and waiting for the next post with anticipation. Glad you see you and Roxy in my mailbox again!

    1. Shary, how wonderful to read your comment! How is Lola? Roxy and I think of her fondly. I’m grateful you’re lurking. Hee hee! Thank you! :)

    1. Daenel, thank goodness we keep up on Instagram. Believe it or not, that app keeps me sane. It’s so much easier to post a picture than to write a post! Hugs to you! :)

  7. Very nice to “see” you again Bella! I always enjoy reading your posts, at whatever frequency they might be posted. I am hoping to reconnect with my love of writing (though I definitely wouldn’t say it’s the same as breathing to me) and reading your post is great inspiration. Look forward to reading more soon — however “soon” is defined for you!

    1. Caryn, I have missed your posts! I think it’s a matter of actually sitting down and telling yourself, let’s do this! This time, my muse came to visit while I was in a coffee shop. Thank goodness I always carry a notebook with me and I was able to write this post whilst drinking my java. Unfortunately, life has been getting in the way too much and this has resulted in my not posting. Thank you for bearing with me, friend! :)

  8. My dearest Bella, of COURSE you were missed!! I, too, have struggled with finding the right amount of time and the perfect surroundings to write (STOP IT, I say! Does a surgeon wait for “inspiration” to heal someone? Does an electrician wait for “inspiration” before hooking up wires? No, No, No!!)

    I think there are FAR too many books proclaiming the how-tos of writing. We clean off our desks, put on the right mood music, whip out a scented candle, turn off our phones…and wait. Wait for “inspiration.” Sadly, the times I’ve done that, I can’t write. Not One Single Word!! Nope, I did far more work when I was “stealing time” while little Domer was at soccer practice, or waiting for him to get out of school, or … well, you get the idea.

    Yep, count me in — I’d LOVE seeing more Bella in this space (and Roxy, too, you know!!) Welcome back!

    1. Debbie, your comment had me smiling from start to finish! So true, my friend, all of it! Indeed, inspiration can’t be birthed by sheer force. In my experience, no amount of aromatherapy will make it appear! hee hee! I’m delighted you are happy to see our return! Hugs! :)

    1. Martha, truer words were never spoken–just go for it! I love it! If only I had read that months ago! hee hee! So happy to read your words! Blessings to you and yours. :)

    1. Nadine, thank you for your beautiful words! It feels wonderful to have such caring virtual friends! You are right–a long break helps one evaluate, and above all, prioritize. I look forward to catching up with your posts! :)

  9. You are very missed. So happy receive communication! That quote about true writers is a crock. Anytime there is the word true, it’s a crock. Truth is relative. Except light. So come back to the light, dear Bella! We are still here and still LOVE you!

    1. Jodi, your words make me feel loved! Thank you so much for always offering your support! I think of your wonderful advise every time I fly! Your tips for calming anxiety are life savers! Hugs! :)

  10. Oh, rats! Someone already called shotgun. But I’ll just hang around here in the back seat! So happy you’re back! I really missed you!

    1. Diane, I have missed you and your wonderful posts! I’m so happy to see your comment on this wee blog. Thank you for your ever support, my friend! :)

  11. Missed your posts Bella. I can very well relate to this post;keep writing. I too wait for the perfect circumstances to write which seldom happens.

    1. Ellen, I’m so sorry for the late reply. I’m in Spain at the moment and the WiFi is so dodgy! I”m delighted at your response! Thank you, sweet friend. Your words are much appreciated. Hugs! :)

  12. Sweet Bella! Don’t every stop writing! I read a quote once that said “if you are a writer, you must write! – same goes with communicating.

    Keep on writing in this space because we love it!!

  13. Yes, little June Bug Bella, I miss you. Glad to see you back! But, you’re not alone. We get busy. We write, but it isn’t blog material. It’s notes on scraps of paper, scenes for the next novel, a great quote. Then we bog ourselves down in edits…yikes! It never ends. But as you say, you keep coming back, so you certainly haven’t stopped writing.

    1. Renee, your words are so uplifting! Thank you, thank you! It’s comforting to know that even when taking a break, your friends are still there to encourage you. I’m ever so grateful! :)

  14. Bella! you’re a TRUE WRITER, the proof is in my reading this post several times because I soooo enjoy your writing……..YES!!!! I Missed YOU lots too!! LOL, keep writing and sharing with us, you’re as real as it gets and your writing is on target with your honesty and NO HOLDS barred!

    1. Eve, amiga, I have missed you! I love that you appreciate honesty in a writer.At times, that causes your readers to disappear but I’m of the school of thought that one must write what one believes to be true. I shall follow your advise and continue to call it like I see it! :)

    1. Eve, I get the backgrounds from different sites on the Internet. I don’t remember where I got this one in particular but be sure to check out a site that’s called, “Cutest blog on the block.” She posts a lot of backgrounds, themes and buttons. :)

  15. Thanks for the background info….you see I’m becoming a stalker follower lol, I want to be just like you, I promise NOT to copy and paste your posts and claim them as my own.

    Keep writing! Daily or monthly or yearly….as long as you write girl, it’s all good!!

    1. Eve, I wish I had more “stalker” followers like you! Such fun! Thank you for the encouragement, chica, it means the world to me! :)

Talk to me

