Living in the now with Snapchat

Colors of Autumn

Last week I received a notification that someone had subscribed to my blog. I was in shock. In shock because it’s been ages since I’ve written a blog post.

Clicking on my site, I was saddened to see it still had the autumn leaf wallpaper from last fall. I felt emotional, mental, and physical pain to realize something I had worked so hard to build had been nary but abandoned.

I cringed at the thought that I had joined the ranks of bloggers who work tirelessly to build a relationship with their readers only to stop cultivating it.

Nevertheless, in spite of my apparent indifference, someone had shown an interest in my earlier work and clicked the subscribe button.

Feeling like a wretched ingrate, I pushed myself to put things right. I updated the theme, changed the wallpaper, added some things, deleted others, and in the end, felt happy with the results.

I wish I could tell you I’ve been lazy, or that I developed writer’s block. Unfortunately, this is not the case. The truth is things have been rough at Casa Bella. In the past year, the Significant Other has had three surgeries, a close family member has ended her marriage after 25 years, and I’ve had to conquer yet another bout of pneumonia.

Yes, once again life has gotten in the way. And this time, I have not been practicing the art of “dolce far niente” for the sheer pleasure of doing so, but because I’ve been forced to do so.

During this process, I’ve given new meaning to living one day at a time. The journey has not been an easy one but we seem to be coming out of the woods. Healing has been set in motion and believe it or not, smartphone photography is one of the things that has kept me sane.

Waiting in hospital emergency rooms and in doctors’ offices lead me to the discovery of apps like Snapchat. For those of you who haven’t heard of Snapchat (something I seriously doubt), it’s an app which allows one to take pictures which once viewed, disappear instantly. That is, unless you choose to add them to your “story” or “memories,” (Snapchat’s equivalent of a cloud). Snapchat followers can view your story as many times as they like for up to 24 hours, and then like magic, it’s gone. It’s important to note they can also replay an individual snap once.

My snaps, quite like the changing seasons, have varied this past year. There have been hospital snaps, surgery snaps, and grieving snaps. There have also been funny snaps, silly snaps, and snaps that don’t seem to make much sense. And while my new “hobby” might seem a worthless pursuit, let me assure you that capturing these moments has lead to many a discovery.

The writer in me has recognized that these snaps or moments, when strung together, allow a story to unfold. This alone has allowed me to focus on the positive and stopped me from worrying about what the future holds.

I’m grateful to my new subscriber for reminding me that unlike my snaps, my writing can last for as long as I want it to. And while I’m not ready to give up snapping, I am eager to resume writing blog posts.

I don’t want to end this post without saying I have missed you, dear readers. I pray you’ve missed me too. Stay tuned for upcoming posts and if you’d like to follow my adventures and finally discover what country I live in, follow me on Snapchat! Not only will this give you a window into my day to day, you’ll also get to see what little Roxy is up to!

If you wish to do so, my Snapchat username is: curvybella. You can also add me by using the snapchat code located on the right hand column of this blog.

Thank you for your patience and loyalty. I am deeply grateful.

XOXO,

26 thoughts on “Living in the now with Snapchat

  1. I did wonder what was going on with you, and then I realized that I, too, have been AWOL from my blog for many months. Nothing so dramatic as a reason, just things coming up in a serial fashion and I suppose other satisfactions. I do hope you follow through and keep up your observations, I always enjoy reading them and the comments that follow. I believe we have a couple of things in common.

    1. I’m honored that you have wondered where I’ve been, my friend. If this sabbatical has taught me anything, it’s that the longer we stay away, the harder it is to get back in the groove. Let’s get back in the game, you and I! :)

    1. Hello Annie! Thank you! I’m working on the healthy part. My knees are giving me hell but I’m doing my best to beat the aches and pains. Glad to see you here again! :)

  2. I have missed you a lot. I think of you always. I know about snapchat, but as for pinterest or instagram I never felt I even have the patience to try and discover how it works.
    I know exactly what you mean feeling sad and guilty about abandoning the blog. I have abandoned mine for a different reason: fear. A huge fear anytime I feel like writing or thinking about it.
    Love you Nikky

    1. Nikki, your blog was doing so well! You must not let fear get in the way of expressing yourself through writing. Your readers will serve to motivate and encourage you and together you’ll conquer whatever dread comes your way. We’re here for you! :)

  3. I’ve missed you both! Tell Roxy hello from Arkansas. Hope the S.O. is up and around, doing better and better. I know it has been a rough time for you since his accident! I think a lot of us have slowed down our blogging but not given up totally. I’m so glad you’re back! You really were greatly missed but I had hope that one day you’d be back in my in box.

    1. Oh, Nan, I have missed you! After the accident, things just continued to go down hill. The skin cancer, the tumor, it’s just been mayhem. I’m relieved we seem to be seeing the light, even if it’s still dim. A visit to your blog and inbox is well overdue. I’ll see you there soon! Kisses from Roxy and I! :)

    1. Martha, I have missed your sweet comments! So happy to see you visiting my blog again! I will drop by your place of writing ASAP! :)

  4. Bella, you’ll never know how much I’ve missed you … and how glad I am to hear you’re coming back! I’ve taken off from blogging here and there, but I can’t quit altogether. Writing is a part of me, and nothing else fulfills the way it does. Nice redesign here. I’m sorry to hear of the dark cloud that’s descended on you recently and I pray that soon, things will be bright and sunny again. Give Roxy a big hug for me!!

    1. Debbie, your message is so uplifting! Thank you for your kind words. They mean the world to me! Roxy and I send you and Dallas hugs! So happy to see you’re still blogging! :)

  5. It’s great to see you’re back! I’ve missed you! I kept checking out your blog, even though I’ve neglected mine.

    I’ve added you on Snapchat and Instagram (if you see ivana.angel011, it’s just me, not a psycho stalker).

    I wish the best to you and your family!

    1. Hello Ivana! I added you on both Instagram and Snapchat! Thank you so much for following! I stopped by your blog but it seems you’re missing in action as well! Time to get writing, my friend! :)

  6. I’ve missed you, Sweets,
    but I know life happens.
    I like how you describe Snap Chat!
    For me, this is what my blog is, as well.
    Moments in time. That’s all.
    Love from MN….
    Kiss for you and Rox! xxxxx

    1. Sweet Kim, Roxy and I have missed your adorable messages! I’m so happy you haven’t forgotten us! You would love Snapchat! You love taking pictures as well and did I mention it allows you to add text as well as chat with followers? Hugs to you!

  7. It’s always good to hear from you, Bella. I’ve been absent as well, but thinking about a return. I’m so sorry to hear about the less-than-pleasant aspects of your life…but glad you took the time to reach out and say hello. Take care of yourself. I hope you don’t stay away so long the next time, but I totally get it. Love and hugs.

    1. Nadine, I’m so happy to read your words! I hope you will return to blogging. It’s a common thread that holds all of us together. I’ve missed dropping in on blogs and leaving comments. It’s great to read supportive comments. They serve to encourage and motivate us. Thank you! Hugs! :)

Talk to me