Am I truly a writer?

patrick-fore-0gkw_9fy0eQ-unsplash

Photo credit: Patrick Fore

I want to think I’ve been missed. I want to imagine someone has wondered why I haven’t posted to my blog in over a year. I need to believe that someone, anyone, has asked himself or herself where I am.

The truth is, I’ve been held hostage, or more accurately, I’ve held myself hostage. This isn’t the first time this has happened. Readers who follow my blog can attest to the fact that my going AWAL has become rather habitual; that my rants have become fewer and far between.

And that’s because I’ve convinced myself that the only time I can write is when everything is alright, when all my ducks are in a row, when everything has been handled and I can finally set my imagination free.

Yet my time in captivity has taught me that these expectations will never be met. I am never going to have enough time. My ducks are never going to be perfectly aligned, and something will always require my attention.

That’s life. That’s the way things are and sadly, nothing is going to change. So after much pondering, I’ve concluded that if I don’t take action, this blog is going to die. My virtual friends are going to disappear. And if I wait long enough, no one will wonder where I’ve gone.

Some time ago, I remember reading that “a true writer is unable to stop writing,” and that it’s “easier for a writer to stop breathing than to stop writing.” While I agree that there are times writers are unable to stop writing, I disagree that only those capable of doing this can be classified as writers.

Which leads me to ask, am I truly a writer? This question is what has prompted me to determine what direction this blog will take–before it dies, before you forget about me.

Perhaps more than a writer I’m a communicator. After all, it is vital to my state of well being for me to communicate; to share with others that which touches my life. Parting from that premise, perhaps I don’t need to wait for the perfect time to write what I believe to be an exceptional piece. Instead, perhaps I should communicate more.

I truly hope you will come along for the ride. I promise to try and make it an interesting journey.

XOXO,

18 thoughts on “Am I truly a writer?

    1. Hi Lorna! It’s good to be back! I’ve taken a year sabbatical to be silly but it’s time to hunker down and get back to writing! I must catch up with your blog! Thank you for your sweet and kind words!

    1. Hi Martha! So happy to read from you again! I am following your blog and look forward to seeing your new post tomorrow! Blessings to you and your family!

  1. Yes! You have been missed! I am delighted to hear from you and have had similar struggles (I’ve posted a couple of recent blogs, but haven’t been consistent yet). I think there’s a lot of mythology about what a writer is…and sometimes we need to not write. I hope you will keep posting, even when life isn’t perfect. I’ve always found your blogs interesting.

  2. I’m new here, but I hope you’ll share more in the future! I believe that being a writer only requires that you start writing… and that includes taking time out to evolve and grow before writing the next thing.

    1. Hi Darius! Thank you for your feedback! I have discovered that it takes discipline to know when you’ve been gone long enough. After a year, I realized it was time. I’m glad you’re here for the ride!

  3. Ah yes, we “hiatus” bloggers are by far the largest sector in the blog-o-verse. What happens? With me, (remember me?) I just did other creative things, did other useless things, and shot off my inspiration all over the place instead of writing. Got kids? There is that, too.
    Opened my own gallery! So painting has been bumped-up in the hierarchy. But that said, I think it takes time, after the initial eruption of pent-up expression, to learn the management of producing creative content which is NOT dependent on inspiration. It is a grind sometimes, no doubt.
    So I too, having lost most of my hard-earned subscribers, am going to be more consistent. You know some of the best writing seems as if it has no plan, and no goal. I could read descriptions of a small room all day long if the writing is good. I recall someone who, speaking about painting, said “ After all, it is your work (voice): If you don’t make (write) it, who can make (write) it except for you?

    1. Sandra, hello! Congratulations on your new gallery! Like you, I too have invested time in other creative processes but the writer in me knew it was time to come back. I completely agree with the person who made the comment to you about the painting. Whatever medium we use to express ourselves, it’s still a very personal expression of who we are and how we feel. So glad to hear from you again!

    1. I’ve missed you too, Diane! So happy to see you’re still blogging! Excited to put us back on the road to questions without answers and the occasional rant! :)

  4. Oooh, there you are. Long time, no hear from. I saw this post in my email last week and said I need to get to that, which I couldn’t at the time. So, here I am too. I started a blog last year and forgot I even had it. I’m cranking up to and yes, it shall be a hoop hollering journey.

    1. Totsy, happy to hear you’re cranking up your blog! I’m looking forward to catching up with whatever you’ve cooked up! :)

  5. Well rats! My comment did not post! Just wanted to let you know I did comment and totally know you are a writer with beautiful words to share with us, your adoring public!!

  6. I’ve wondered if you were all right… But I tend to disappear from my own blog, too, so I hoped that everything was fine with you. Well, as much as possible during this crazy time.

Talk to me