Who’s ready for a little drama?

Concurso hípico, Lisboa, 1928(?)

Anyone who is a regular reader of my blog knows I’m not one to do reviews or product recommendations. The reason for this is that rarely do I come across something worthy of a “five-star rating.”

Family and friends think I’m too critical. I like to think of myself as someone unwilling to waste time on an endeavor whose outcome will more than likely be lacking. Sadly, the times I’ve been betrayed by reviews, trailers, and media hype are too many to count.

That said, today I come to you bearing news of a Netflix program I think is worth every second of your time. There’s a caveat of course–you must be subscribed to Netflix. However, if you’re a lucky subscriber, I highly recommend adding “Las Chicas del Cable,” or the “Cable Girls,” to your playlist. While the narration is in Spanish, English subtitles are available and do not detract from your viewing experience.

The setting? A realistic representation of life in Madrid, Spain in the late 1920’s.

The costumes? Clothes that will make any vintage fashion addict drool. Iconic flapper style comprised of cloche hats, long necklaces, and shift dresses with dropped waistlines in luxurious fabrics. (All of which serves to remind me I was born in the wrong era.)

The plot? The portrayal of the interwoven lives of four women who meet at a telephone company on the day when interviews for the position of telephone operator is being conducted.

Once hired, the women will spend their day answering and connecting calls on a massive switchboard. Their connection (pardon the pun) is not immediate. Yet as the story unravels, it paves the way for the kind of loyalty and solidarity that epitomizes true friendship.

The characters? Four women named Angeles, Carlota, Marga, and Lidia. Their personalities are totally different, yet they share the desire to reinvent themselves. All the way from being a victim of spousal abuse to running from the law, they’re all looking to escape their actual circumstances. Each one is struggling to become independent; to assert herself and fight for the rights of women.

Yes, folks, this gem of a show has a feminist message. The characters remind us how far women have come in the fight for equality as well as the many challenges we still face today. Their search for freedom, independence, a career, and love remind us of the sacrifices we make in a world that continues to be unfairly run by men.

Episode after episode, I find myself cheering on these courageous women. And while the male characters are necessary for story development, it is the representation of the sisterhood that keeps me coming back. I am overjoyed by the message of female empowerment and the reminder that women need to lift each other up instead of tearing each other down. If you’re in search of a show that does more than entertain, you’ll find “Las Chicas del Cable,” will not disappoint.

Have you watched the show?

XOXO,

Disclaimer: #notsponsored

18 thoughts on “Who’s ready for a little drama?

  1. Looks interesting! And it reminded me a little of The Neapolitan Novels by Elena Ferrante (different time, different setting, a lot is different, but it’s a wonderful story about the friendship of two women trying to, basically, be free, and all the difficulties they’re going through).

  2. Bella, I tried to watch it but i think the version I was seeing was dubbed in English and it bugs me when the lips and the dialogue don’t match up. So I never gave it another try. If i could see a subtitled version, then I’d try it again, especially since you’re saying it’s worth it.

    1. Monica, I know my niece mentioned there is a dubbed version, but I’m with you–I could not get in to that! You must search for the Spanish speaking version. I’m certain you will enjoy it! :)

    1. Eve. because you’re a native Spanish speaker, you’ll find the show even more enjoyable. The exchanges between the characters are so delightful and you’re sure to not miss out on the nuances of the language. :)

  3. Hi Bella! great post. I watched an episode and it looks great! Lots of people wont even know what it was like in those days. The switchboard and the way phonecalls were directed. Also the great costumes. I really enjoyed the show and your post!

Talk to me