Who wants to stomp their feet?

Ever since we were young, my sister and I have competed to see who discovers the best music, bands, or singers.

Last night she called me and said, “I’m addicted to a singer you just have to hear.”

Almost as if reverting back to childhood, I replied, “Well, I also have a singer and I’m sure she’s better than yours.”

And then, at the same time, we both said, “Adele.”

Ladies, I’m sure most of you have heard this phenomenal singer but if you haven’t, you have to!

She is fantastic.

I can’t get enough of her music.

Her vocal talent is out of this world.

Her voice is soulful, sultry, and deep.

Her song lyrics captivate you from beginning to end.

Critics have compared her to Amy Winehouse and Duffy.

I disagree.

Adele is like no one I’ve listened to before.

Her current single, “Rolling in the Deep” has a soul/blues vibe that will have you stomping your feet to the pounding of piano chords.

Scorned women will stand up and cheer as Adele verbalizes her plans for revenge against a former lover; warning him that when she’s done, he’ll wish he’d never met her.

Adele wins both our sympathy and empathy as we realize her story has been our own story at some point in our lives.

Furthermore, the song lyrics remind us that there’s no escaping from these feelings after a breakup.

Throughout the song I found myself shouting, “You tell him!” “You go, girl!” “That’s right!” “Absolutely!” as I stomped and danced across the room.

Ladies, this is a song of promise.

The promise of how the wrongful lover will both regret and suffer the consequences of his actions.

Listen for yourself and tell me what you think!

34 thoughts on “Who wants to stomp their feet?

  1. I don’t remember when I first discovered Adele. But, it was WAY before you and your sister! ;D (I love your competition, by the way.) And I still have “Chasing Pavements,” etc. on my website. Great minds… :)

    1. Kenya, haha! I’m certain you beat us to the punch, girl! I love “Chasing Pavements” as well. I’m telling you, I just love this singer!

  2. I LOVE her.

    And comparisons to Duffy make me angry. Whatever. You wish you could be her.

    She is my “listen in the dressing room and tell those jeans they aren’t worthy of clothing my rear end” music.

    I’m pretty sure she’d be best friends with me if we ever met. Just ’cause.

    (Glad you discovered her. I know you don’t like the word awesome, but she is awesome-sauce.)

    1. Ha, Amber! In this case, I will make an exception! There is awesome-sauce to this lady for sure! :) Oh, and I have to bring along my Ipod with her songs to my next dressing room fiasco!

  3. I’m one of the few who prefer her earlier album 19! It helped me so much with my postpartum depression. But I agree that Adele is amazing! both albums are strong and wonderful! Thank God for Adele!

    1. Amen, Louise! :) I’m still listening to all her earlier recordings but I’m having a wonderful time discovering them!

    1. Monica, me thinks we should start a fan club! hee hee! :) And I agree with you, her voice is gutsy!

    1. Muriel, you and I both! There are times that I feel like a dinosaur and other times that I feel like I could go out clubbing with the Son and his friends. I’m just glad that when it comes to music, I want to stay on top of what’s current and what others are listening to. Sadly, there are times when I can’t but feel that they don’t make good music like they used to. So thank goodness for Adele! :)

  4. Adele is awesome, both her albums are in the top ten here. My sister plays Adele to her baby Poppy when she’s being fussy. She tried singing herself, but that just made Poppy cry.

    1. Rhi, I’m so glad that your sister has substituted her singing for Adele! hee hee! I’m certain Poppy is now a happier baby! :)

  5. I am HUGE on English singers, so I love Amy and Duffy, but you’re right. Adele is in a league of her own. She is most totally awesome and her voice gives me goosebumps :)

    1. Laura, I love Duffy too; Amy, not so much. And while I think Duffy has a throaty voice as well, I still like Adele’s singing better. It’s a matter of personal preference. Hey, I just learned something new about you-the fact that you love English singers! :)

    2. Yup. I grew up listening to Brit pop and Australian pop. So, I suppose I’m just nostalgically drawn to them!

  6. I agree, great voice. Her hit song has been out in Italy for a few months now. I just can’t figure out why she’s always sitting though. Some people seem to think it’s because it’s easier to sing that way, but 4 years of choir have told me that sitting just compresses your lungs. Not very singing conducive. Have you heard any explanations?

  7. Bella – First, my sister and my daughter do the same as you and your sister; claim to have found an artist first. Our families might be distantly connected. As for Adele, I think she totally outshines, but Amy and Duffy, but that is my personal opinion. I bought her first CD several years ago. And since, waited and waited for this new one to come out. She writes in response to her broken heart. I included a link to her singing live on NPR. Please feel free to delete the link once you pick it up. The first song, ‘Make You Feel My Love’, brings me to my knees.

    http://www.npr.org/player/v2/mediaPlayer.html?action=1&t=1&islist=false&id=133476795&m=133498747

    1. Lady, our families might indeed be related! You know what they say about there being six degrees of separation between people. Thanks for the link! I think the song is just beautiful!

  8. Heard the song on the radio several times, but never found out who the artist was. I just added it to my music player. Thanks Bella!

    1. You’re welcome, June! I try to stay current with the music scene but seriously, there are times when lack of time even comes between that!

Talk to me